We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kelvin Hotel
Ranked #69 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel needs a bit of decorating and new carpets but for the price was good. Warm fairly well equipped and spacious room, fantastic shower, clean. Good breakfast and a cosy and welcoming bar, plus friendly and helpful staff. And a convenient location too ! Would stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mikeub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at the Kelvin for 2 nights.....warm welcome, clean airy room, with plenty of tea/coffee available.....comfy bed....plenty of clean towels.....and loads of hot water. Very convenient for the train and ferry terminals and a short walk to town centre. Both bar and hotel staff very friendly....enjoyed our stay.....as others say carpet a bit worn and a lick of paint to spruce the place up.....but really good value for money and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriMid28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Had to stay in Oban for work purposes found the kelvin hotel online great bargain
Friendly staff nice bar good value great breakfast
Brilliant value for money couldn't fault it would stay again this time I might bring the wife

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Great little hotel well run by efficient staff. Room was great with a new bathroom attached. Sure the stair carpet is well worn but it is clean and you are not paying five star prices. Location is first clas with a five minute stroll to the city, ferries and railway. Nice little bar with plenty of games for that wet da,y also stays open late for guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trustascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This delightful gem of a hotel is situated in the centre of Oban near all amenities. Warm welcome - quiet room - lots of hot water and towels - duvet and cotton sheets - freeview tele and wifi with password provided at no charge. Lots of tea and coffee. A beautiful cooked breakfast to order and limitless toast and drinks. Luggage can be left at no charge. The staff were enthusiastic and competent and I have no hesitation in recommending The Kelvin.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hebrideanparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My first hotel on my tour of West Coast of Scotland.Staff friendly and efficient.The building fabric in poor state of repair - bathroom floor tiles broken and loose.Unable to open bathroom window.Corridor and stair carpet tread bear.Bedroom reasonable with good tea & coffee making facility.Bed clean,towels renewed daily.Had to boil kettle for hot water in w.h.b. Unable to have scrambled eggs for breakfast. Cost of £45.00/night poor value.Would be unwilling to recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seamus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Paying only $80 for a 3 bed family room we were really surprised to find the room a reasonable size with a clean modern bathroom. Sure the hotel is a bit tired but it is clean comfortable bed and a excellent cooked breakfast. The bar has a variety of games if the weather is poor and stays open until 11.30 each evening. We were with friends from Australia and they were more than impressed, Staff were friendly and for good budget accommadation we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Being on a quite street all rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 82mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
831 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 94 in Oban
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Address: Shore Street, Oban PA34 4LQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £47 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Kelvin Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Oban, ideal for Argyll and the Islands, this small Scottish hotel is one of the town's oldest buildings, with a lounge, small bar and views of the waterfront. A Grade B listed building, Kelvin Hotel has wonderful views over the water towards Mull and beyond. The hotel offers free parking at weekends, and is within easy reach of excellent transport links. The ferry terminal and the bus/train stations are all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing