We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommending remarkable Raniven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raniven Guest House
Ranked #34 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2013

There are an awful lot (and possibly a lot of awful) places to stay in Oban- it's a holiday town, and a very important transit point for visitors to Mull and other islands on the West Coast of Scotland. Thankfully,we found one of the very best, and it is one of the best because of the 2 people running it. The rooms are reasonably spacious;not huge for what was meant to be a 14 night stay, but drawer divans in the beds increased the storage space enough to accommodate all the clobber you need to cope with the vagaries of the Scottish weather! If everybody turns up to breakfast at the same time, it can get a little like musical chairs when moving round the dining room.But no;these good folk showed their best sides when we were given news from home of a family illness which meant we had to cut from 14 nights to 7. They took lots of phone messages, reassured us and generally did everything they could to help us cope with the sad situation.
Moyra and Stuart, you're lovely and we want to thank you very much for all you did,and assure you that we will be back with you as soon as we get back to Oban.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slimtimBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Raniven Guest House is close to the centre of Oban with off road parking for guests. The rooms are a fair size with a small en-suite and the prices are good value. We all slept well in comfortable beds and enjoyed a good buffet breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek_and_Judith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We only spent one night in Oban and found Raniven to be a functional and comfortable stopover for the night. We had the good sized room with a double and a single room at the top of the stairs. The beds were very comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean. The en-suite was minute but had all we needed and the water was hot and plentiful - when we worked out with Moyra how to turn the dials!.
Breakfast was a generous buffet with several sweet and savoury choices which set us up for the day.
Location was convenient and there was free off street parking.
Our hostess was warm and friendly and this always makes a stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzziePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stuart and Moyra were wonderful hosts. They lend a very personal touch and were very helpful with information on getting around and nice places to hike. Our room was very comfortable though not huge. But then we didn't go all the way to Scotland to sit in a room. The breakfast was a wonderful buffet of hot and cold including some very nice Scottish selections. Raniven is in a nice location. We walked everywhere in town, including getting there from the train station. If we're ever in Oban again, we'd certainly stay at Raniven Guest House.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hosts were friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable. Can't remember the room number, but it was top floor street facing. The city center was within easy walking distance. This guest house has guest laundry available. There is only one pay washer and dryer available. Make sure that you have 1 pound coins available. The wash is reasonable, buy drying is expensive. That is due to the source whether it was electric or gas. I think we did two small loads and spent close to 15 pounds overall. Dry on high instead of permanent press (like we did) if you can. We did laundry again in Edinburgh and cost was comparable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Raniven Guest House is centrally located with just a 5 minute walk to town and the ferry terminal. The proprietors are a friendly young couple. The rooms are average size and the furnishings are functional but there are no wall decorations. The bathroom is small with a telephone booth size shower. The breakfast is buffet style, mostly cold dishes and a couple of heated selections. The rooms on the upper floor have slanted ceilings so watch your head.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John98020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Very well situated near the town center and all the restaurants (5 mn walk) free parking much appreciated. We had to take a ferry in the morning and were at about 5 mn by car from the ferry terminal. The family room was well equipped with en-suite bathroom. Breakfast was hot buffet and the breakfast room too small to welcome everyone but it's a good value guest house.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Briarbank Guest House
0.0 mi away
Sandvilla Guest House
0.0 mi away
Gramarvin Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
4.2 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lagnakeil Highland Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raniven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raniven Guest House

Address: No1 Strathaven Terrace | Breadalbane Street, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £53 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Raniven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raniven Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing