We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walking distance into Oban”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Raniven Guest House
Ranked #32 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“walking distance into Oban”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We easily found this guest house and it was easy walk into town center. Room was in the attin, so it seemed, and was small. The bed was not comfortable, no wi-fi but Stewart gave me the code to their willing neighbours which was nice. Hosts were friendlier on way out moreso on check-in but maybe that is just the way they handle guests, giving guests freedom. Breakfast was a nice change for us away from eggs to cheese, fruit toast etc. We enjoyed it and they allowed us to leave car in lot for an extra hour after checkout and they were very helpful with directions. I give it 3.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoobie049, Owner at Raniven Guest House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hi Elizabeth thanks for your comments, and our Wi-Fi is now up and running again , cheers stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    46
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
75
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was definately the best b&b we stayed at while touring around in Scotland. The hosts are very friendly and helpful...rooms immaculate and nicely furnished. Breakfast exceptional and parking off the road is definately an asset. It's a pity that we spent only one night. I hope we will revisit soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoobie049, Owner at Raniven Guest House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hi thanks for your comments they were very kind, and it was nice to meet you , moyra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at Raniven Guest House in August. We were warmly welcomed and enjoyed our time. Great breakfast and off street parking!! You can ditch the car and walk to the town center. Great start to a great holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is about 6 months late, but we had a fantastic stay at Raniven Guest house this winter just gone. We are a young Aussie couple travelling the world and the lovely couple made our stay in Oban memorable. They were so helpful and we loved chatting to them and hearing their stories about Scotland. (We would have a few more experiences to tell you about now haha we are off to Tanzania in two weeks to work in an orphanage) If we are ever on that side of the world again we would love to visit and stay in the homely B&B :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahlia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed this BnB. The room was comfortable with ample hot water. It was within easy walking distance of the town centre, where many attractions, and all the transport options are situated, (the ferry to Mull accessed). Easy off street parking. Sustaining breakfast. The local one way street system takes a little to understand. Really - All Good!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank obione980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Host were more than helpful rooms were good size 5 mins from centre of town very quite. Breakfast help your self.would stay again. Could not ask for more excellent rates.
Very relaxing very clean. Very central host were a perfect couple who could not do enough for you, and good advise on local amenities .

Room Tip: Front room very large over looking street. Very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterPolly45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

we spent 2 nights in oban, staying at the raniven. we had a good sized bedroom and it was spotless. the breakfast had everything a continental should have. I have never tasted fresh fruit like it. Mouthwatering. hubby would have preferred a cooked breakfast. we will definitely be back, but for longer. 8/10

Room Tip: it is a very quiet street. hard to believe that you are so close to town.Breakfast is do it yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank silversurfer1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,059 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanglin B&B
Tanglin B&B
#77 of 94 in Oban
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandvilla Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thornloe Guest House
Thornloe Guest House
#24 of 94 in Oban
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 94 in Oban
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dana Villa
Dana Villa
#59 of 94 in Oban
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raniven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raniven Guest House

Property: Raniven Guest House
Address: No1 Strathaven Terrace | Breadalbane Street, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Raniven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raniven Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing