We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raniven Guest House
Ranked #33 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our family stayed here for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday) We had 2 rooms, #1 and #3. Both were very comfortable, clean and bright and rooms looked fresh and new. Room #1 wasn't as large as room #3 but had a larger bathroom with tub/shower combo and a skylight. Room #3 was a large room with a sofa and a nice street view. The bathroom wasn't as big but had a nice size shower and no tub. Also had extra lighting in the bathroom. The windows opened in both rooms. Parking on site and free Wi-fi. Breakfast was very nice, food was laid out buffet style and you helped yourself. Fruit, eggs, deli meats, cheeses, cereals, yogourt, breads, juice, milk, coffee, tea. Very easy walk to downtown Oban. Had a great stay here and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Maclor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was our second stay at the Raniven guest house which says it all, great situation with a 5 min walk into Oban and has its own off street parking which I would imagine in high season is a great bonus. The guest house its self is lovely and fresh with spacious rooms and comfy beds which does for me. Breakfast was a self service set up with plenty to choose from.
Will be back.

Room Tip: Both times I have had different rooms and found them to be very quiet with very little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fraseradams27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend break from everyday life. The friendly owner met us on arrival and made us feel very welcomed without being coming across as 'trying too hard' - they are just genuinely nice people. The first thing that strikes you about the room is cleanliness, it smells clean and it is very clean. Everything was fresh and just what we would have expected with thoughtful touches everywhere, comfortable too. The location is perfect for visiting Oban with a super local Pub just a few minutes walk away and the town centre only another few more minutes from there. We parked in free the Raniven car park on the Friday and the car stayed there all weekend. We will definitely be back in Oban and will definitely stay in the Raniven again. Thank you very much Raniven, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, at the back of the building on the 1st floor. Never heard a single noise from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoobie049, Owner at Raniven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hi Thanks for your kind comments , glad you had a nice time in oban thanks stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This B&B is a good value compared to the more pricey hotels in Oban. Owners are extremely personable and gave great local advice. Very comfortable queen bed (room 3) with sitting area and light-blocking window treatments. Individual toiletries, packaged cookies, bottled water, hair dryer in room. Quiet. Shower only. Had recently changed services and had problem with wifi-connection. Was able to use neighbor's password outside. Hosts offered their computer to check email. Washcloths not available. Continental breakfast was self-serve including scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, large selection. Credit cards accepted for an increased price so paid cash. Great location, can walk to anything in town. Shower only. Car parking on property. Flat screen tv.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WImom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hostess at Raniven handed us our keys upon check-in and disappeared. She didn't show us to our room, didn't tell us the internet wasn't working, didn't give us direction into town. Not one word. The room was a bit worn. The handle was not completely attached to the bathroom door. In comparison to other B&B's on our 16 day trip to the UK, this lack of attention from the hosts was in stark contrast to the welcome we received from others. The property was adequately clean and parking better than most.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cadelap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent 6 days here in oban at this guest house and it all been perfect, the owners are the kindest people you can imagine, the guest house is a 5 min walk from the bus station, it is downtown oban, the rooms are clean and well decorated , bathroom is a bit small but functional, breakfast in the morning is amazing, a very rich breakfast. So look no further you found the best accommodation in oban !!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francesca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We easily found this guest house and it was easy walk into town center. Room was in the attin, so it seemed, and was small. The bed was not comfortable, no wi-fi but Stewart gave me the code to their willing neighbours which was nice. Hosts were friendlier on way out moreso on check-in but maybe that is just the way they handle guests, giving guests freedom. Breakfast was a nice change for us away from eggs to cheese, fruit toast etc. We enjoyed it and they allowed us to leave car in lot for an extra hour after checkout and they were very helpful with directions. I give it 3.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoobie049, Owner at Raniven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Hi Elizabeth thanks for your comments, and our Wi-Fi is now up and running again , cheers stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Strathnaver Guest House
0.5 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
0 mi away
Sandvilla Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Gramarvin Guest House
0.3 mi away
Kilchrenan House
Kilchrenan House
#11 of 94 in Oban
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greystones
Greystones
#8 of 94 in Oban
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raniven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raniven Guest House

Address: No1 Strathaven Terrace | Breadalbane Street, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £49 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Raniven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raniven Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing