We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raniven Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
87
47
15
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
47
15
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoff street parkingguest housecontinental breakfastb btwo nightslovely ownersroom was very clean and comfortableminute walkplenty choicebeautiful townenjoyed our staystuarthostsscotlandfryharbourguesthouse
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our family stayed here for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday) We had 2 rooms, #1 and #3. Both were very comfortable, clean and bright and rooms looked fresh and new. Room #1 wasn't as large as room #3 but had a larger bathroom with tub/shower combo and a skylight. Room #3 was a large room with a sofa and a nice street view. The bathroom wasn't as big but had a nice size shower and no tub. Also had extra lighting in the bathroom. The windows opened in both rooms. Parking on site and free Wi-fi. Breakfast was very nice, food was laid out buffet style and you helped yourself. Fruit, eggs, deli meats, cheeses, cereals, yogourt, breads, juice, milk, coffee, tea. Very easy walk to downtown Oban. Had a great stay here and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Maclor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was our second stay at the Raniven guest house which says it all, great situation with a 5 min walk into Oban and has its own off street parking which I would imagine in high season is a great bonus. The guest house its self is lovely and fresh with spacious rooms and comfy beds which does for me. Breakfast was a self service set up with plenty to choose from.
Will be back.

Room Tip: Both times I have had different rooms and found them to be very quiet with very little street noise.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fraseradams27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend break from everyday life. The friendly owner met us on arrival and made us feel very welcomed without being coming across as 'trying too hard' - they are just genuinely nice people. The first thing that strikes you about the room is cleanliness, it smells clean and it is very clean. Everything was fresh and just what we would have expected with thoughtful touches everywhere, comfortable too. The location is perfect for visiting Oban with a super local Pub just a few minutes walk away and the town centre only another few more minutes from there. We parked in free the Raniven car park on the Friday and the car stayed there all weekend. We will definitely be back in Oban and will definitely stay in the Raniven again. Thank you very much Raniven, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, at the back of the building on the 1st floor. Never heard a single noise from outside or inside.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoobie049, Owner at Raniven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hi Thanks for your kind comments , glad you had a nice time in oban thanks stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This B&B is a good value compared to the more pricey hotels in Oban. Owners are extremely personable and gave great local advice. Very comfortable queen bed (room 3) with sitting area and light-blocking window treatments. Individual toiletries, packaged cookies, bottled water, hair dryer in room. Quiet. Shower only. Had recently changed services and had problem with wifi-connection. Was able to use neighbor's password outside. Hosts offered their computer to check email. Washcloths not available. Continental breakfast was self-serve including scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, large selection. Credit cards accepted for an increased price so paid cash. Great location, can walk to anything in town. Shower only. Car parking on property. Flat screen tv.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WImom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hostess at Raniven handed us our keys upon check-in and disappeared. She didn't show us to our room, didn't tell us the internet wasn't working, didn't give us direction into town. Not one word. The room was a bit worn. The handle was not completely attached to the bathroom door. In comparison to other B&B's on our 16 day trip to the UK, this lack of attention from the hosts was in stark contrast to the welcome we received from others. The property was adequately clean and parking better than most.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cadelap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews