We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to try the restaurant”

George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop
Ranked #9 of 95 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Restaurant serving a range of fresh Scottish seafood, steaks and fine wines. Fish & Chip Shop situated next-door, providing traditional takeaway fish and chips and old favourites.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“You have to try the restaurant”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We called in here as what we had was only £2.50 more than if we had bought in the takeaway next door. We were greeted as we walked in and shown to a table.we ordered 2 fish, chips, mushy peas, bread & butter and cup of tea for £9.50 each.a bowl of fresh tartare sauce was put on the table which was delicious.the food arrived quite quickly as it was cooked next door. I am not a lover of batter but my fish was delicious. The batter wasn't greasy like most places.the place filled up very fast which was a good sign.the only issue I would raise is the specials board wasn't very clear and the scallops were written above the bar which we hadn't seen.i would recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    148
    37
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good quality fish and chips”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great fish and chips. Nice selection of wines to choose from too. Good atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scienceladyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent soup & salmon”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Ate there 3 times in one week. We could have gone there every day and been happy. Our favorites were the grilled salmon and soup of the day.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkOregon608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mwanza Region, Tanzania
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“What else to say - excellent fish”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

A lovely little place with jolly atmosphere and very friendly staff. All the seafood dishes were excellent and cooked just right. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Shedheadabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fish & Chips in a bistro surrounding”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We found this restaurant on a wet day in Oban and could not resist the temptation of fish and chips. Next door is the 'chippy' which has the most glorious display of fried food. The restaurant is modern and brasserie style with a more extensive menu which is not just fried fish. We did opt for the cod & chips and it was amazing. One of the best fish & chip suppers as the Scots call it, I've ever had. Definitely visit this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FionaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing