We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average chippy”

George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop
Ranked #9 of 94 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Scottish, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant serving a range of fresh Scottish seafood, steaks and fine wines. Fish & Chip Shop situated next-door, providing traditional takeaway fish and chips and old favourites.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not your average chippy”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Second night in Oban, we decided on a change of direction for dinner. We stumbled across this fish and chip shop and where glad we did. So fresh, not greasy. If your time is limited and you want an enjoyable bit to eat, head in its direction, if you enjoy it as much as we did. You won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    131
    35
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“You have to try the restaurant”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We called in here as what we had was only £2.50 more than if we had bought in the takeaway next door. We were greeted as we walked in and shown to a table.we ordered 2 fish, chips, mushy peas, bread & butter and cup of tea for £9.50 each.a bowl of fresh tartare sauce was put on the table which was delicious.the food arrived quite quickly as it was cooked next door. I am not a lover of batter but my fish was delicious. The batter wasn't greasy like most places.the place filled up very fast which was a good sign.the only issue I would raise is the specials board wasn't very clear and the scallops were written above the bar which we hadn't seen.i would recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good quality fish and chips”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great fish and chips. Nice selection of wines to choose from too. Good atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scienceladyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent soup & salmon”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Ate there 3 times in one week. We could have gone there every day and been happy. Our favorites were the grilled salmon and soup of the day.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkOregon608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mwanza Region, Tanzania
Level Contributor
200 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“What else to say - excellent fish”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

A lovely little place with jolly atmosphere and very friendly staff. All the seafood dishes were excellent and cooked just right. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Shedheadabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop also viewed

 

Been to George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing