We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice venue - good food.”
Review of Coast Restaurant

Coast Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 95 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice venue - good food.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very friendly staff. Nice atmosphere. Very good food indeed. Early evening menu looked excellent value - though we opted for the a la carte menu. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal and evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    173
    35
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good start to holiday”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

A good start to our holiday was eating at Coast. Good quality food and reasonably priced wine. Service genuinely friendly. No children after 8 pm. Would gladly return.

Helpful?
1 Thank RowntreeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connel, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slightly late Christmas review- still relevant”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Our works do was held last Christmas at Coast and I am sad to say I did not follow up with a review- we had the most amazing turkey dinner combined with a dazzling variety of aromatic additions to a traditional format served in a diverse and appetising presentation. The choices were balanced and you didnt feel you had eaten huge lunch before heading off for drinks. The taste was the all importnat factor and savouring the salad dressing, the mincepies and the fresh vegetable was just wonderful- Including drinks we averaged £30 per head which was amazing considering all we had. Will definitely get my team vote to return for Christmas next and obviously before hand.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tenboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant in Oban”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We were pleased to secure reservations so late in the day. The mussel appetizer was one of the best we've eaten anywhere in the world; the salad was a mix of perfectly cooked and raw vegetables with a delicate dressing that complimented the mix beautifully. My husband had fish and chips - unlike any you'd get in San Francisco or Haut Bay or Boston....so delicious. I chose the sole with peas and tiny, slightly crisp gnocchi -- sublime. Wine selection is excellent and reasonably priced. It was a lovely way to end a beautiful day of driving through the Scottish Highlands!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank josjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My partner and I went to coast for a meal and the food was unbelievable! The meat was cooked to absolute perfection. We were very impressed and will 100% be going back! The staff were friendly and helpful and it was a great value for money. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mairi2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coast Restaurant also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Coast Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing