We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenavon Homestay
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oyster Inn(Connel)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corran House(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
0
0
2
0
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
0
2
0
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I don't like submitting a poor review of a family-run business.
To the Palace Hotel to collect the keys. It smelt stale. A guest (or so I take him to be) in the bar called the owner. We then had real problems identifying the (unlit) house. I was very reluctant to leave my car on the road...it would have been a long way away... and (what I was told was) the owner's broken down car made it almost impossible to get up the drive. A notice in the house solicited a £6 charge "for charity" for off-road parking, a new first in a place like this for me.
We found no instructions for the TV. We heard the next room's occupants all too easily. The bedroom door exposed the bed, so we had to plan opening it. We found no TV instructions and there was poor a choice of channel (including not BBC Scotland but BBC London! Why?) when I worked through the two remotes.
The bathroom was quite good but there was no soap in the shower.
This for a quite ludicrous £80 for the two of us, without breakfast.
The next night we had a warm welcome, a much nicer room, conviviality and an excellent breakfast for £55 elsewhere. We actually thought that undercharging. Unfortunately I would not willingly go back to Glenavon. It needs a minor but serious and detailed rethink.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawkeye4472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenavonoban, Family at Glenavon Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review however there are several points I would like to raise.

The price of £80 is for 3 people (2 adults and a child) in the room unfortunately no other rooms were available that night during the bank holiday weekend.
The tv includes a standard sky box and has bbc london and bbc scotland along with over 100 other channels.
Not only was there soap in the bathroom but also shower gel and body lotion - there were also toiletries provided in the room.
There is lighting at the front door and I would not have thought that it would be very dark between 3pm and 6pm which is our standard check in times. It is the only detached house on the street with a garage and has the name above the door in big letters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Having stayed at the hotel for two nights we found the owner to be very friendly and helpful with local information.The room we occupied was comfortable and clean with a large TV and tea making facilites .We enjoyed the privacy of having our breakfast in our room and both agreed good value.The shared bathroom appears to have has been refurbished to a high standard and posed no great problem for us.The B&B is a perfect place to stay whilst exploring the local area with a tranquil setting off the main road but still within walking distance of the town center.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Myself and my partner arrived in Oban and desided that as it was a major highland event that weekend that we would stay so we booked a last minute room at this B&B when we first entered the room there was an overwhelming smell of air freshener and i commented to my partner saying that this smelt like it was to cover up dampness but the room windows and doors where all open at 1st i presumed this was because of how hot it was outside but i was wrong once we had shut the window i unplugged the air freshner as i was feeling sick because of its strength to only find out that within and hour the room was reeking of dampness and the room decor was very old and degraded, the room was also very mish mash and not at all clean , we paid for B&B but in the morning the one male who seemed to be the only person there was no where to be seen so we where not given breakfast i also asked for the use of an iron and the man looked at me as though i had asked to kill a young child, i would say that this is definatly not worth the money and isnt a B&B due to the lack of the 2nd "B" = Breakfast !

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huneyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenavonoban, Family at Glenavon Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2010

Glenavon is not a bed and breakfast but a family home. A small number of rooms are available for visitors however these rooms are provided without breakfast. Self service continental style breakfast is available at cost price and was available for all guests that had booked it. There were several of us staying upstairs in the house who could have offered assistance if required. A bell being located on the ground floor to gain our attention. Should there be no one available there is also a telephone with contact numbers in the hallway. All rooms have matching furniture and bedding most of which is in almost new condition as we regularly donate anything that is older to charity. Some of the rooms are due to be painted however they are cleaned on a daily basis. I can only presume that any smell came from the drains as everything seemed fine when cleaning or we would have offered an alternative room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The Glenavon could be a really nice b&b with a bit of tlc and attention to detail both of which its currently lacking. Myself and my friend had two rooms booked so this review will cover both of them. My room was the bigger double room - it was a good size and clean. However it seemed a bit disorganised - bedside lights not plugged in, wires everywhere beside tv and just a general feeling that it had been thrown together. My collegues room was very small- but this was stated on booking.com when we booked so this was expected. Neither of the rooms were worth the price which was higher than normal for a bed and breakfast (but with no breakfast).

The staff I encountered were friendly and helpful, however we rarely saw them and got the impression the place was often unmanned - "email to confirm time of arrival to ensure someone is there otherwise you will have to wait or goto palace hotel" on the booking confirmation should set off alarm bells. On checking in communication and explanation of things could have been a bit better - mainly down to English not being evening porters first language. The place is run more like an anex of the palace hotel rather than a b&b - despite claiming to be a "family home" --- something it certainly didn't feel like - despite the faded 1970s family photos in the bigger bedroom.

One thing I was not impressed with was coming back from work in the afternoon to find my bedroom door not just unlocked after the housekeeping had been in but left wide open. My first thought was there had been a mix up and my stuff (including laptop) had been moved out of the room or worse. On entertaining the room I then noticed my stuff in the corner. I stay away all the time in hotels, b&bs etc and have never seen anywhere else do this. Fair enough from a security aspect the front door was locked but given apparent absence of staff who knows who could be coming and going. Even ignoring the security aspect it doesnt create a nice feeling to have guests wonder if their stuff is still there as on first glance from the hall thats what I thought.

Overall there was nothing badly wrong with this accommodation as we both had a comfortable sleep and its in a good location - but for the money it should be alot better. It could do with alot more attention to the organisation of it, staffing and the general feeling given.

Also one to avoid if you are expecting a proper b&b and the hospitality, personality that entails, its basically a room in a house with shared bathroom nothing more. Not something that bothers me as I travel for work but I'd imagine some people on holiday would be disappointed.

Also parking is free on street not £5 as advised when booking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenavonoban, Family at Glenavon Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

Glenavon has been home to three generations of the same family since being built by my grandfather John Donn approximately half a century ago.

The wires leading from the television are to provide a choice between terrestrial tv, freesat and freesat HD. Coax, scart and HD cable.

The bedside light was likely to have been unplugged for the vacuum cleaner and can be easily plugged back in.

I live upstairs in the house and work in the Palace Hotel which my parents own that is why the hotel is given as contact details. The staff that you describe were actually my friends who were visiting for the summer and living upstairs in the room next to my room. We try to keep the best rooms for visitors while using the other rooms for ourselves.

As no arrival time was given I was unable to check you in and you spoke with one of them instead, where ever possible I try to be there in person especially if an estimated arrival time is given.

My brother was not born until 1984 so the picture of him will be from a later date possibly 1990? And the photo of my parents is from the 1960s.

I can only apologise for the late cleaning of your room and your door being left open but hope that you do not feel that your possessions were put at risk as the only guests at the time with front door keys would have been yourself and your friend in addition to this it is likely that either myself or one of my friends would have been in the house during this time.

On street parking is free however all money raised from parking in our car park goes to orphanages in Bulgaria. We regularly replace items which enables us to support the orphanages by donating our old linen towels, tvs and kettles which I personally transported to ensure that they reached their intended destination.

With the quality of linen, furniture, etc. along with heating and hot water available 24 hours it would not be viable for us to accept visitors for less but do accept that there are cheaper places to stay.

Glenavon is not and does not claim to be a bed and breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: In diesem Objekt nirgends!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenavonoban, Manager at Glenavon Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews