We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome from Morven and Keith”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kathmore Guest House
Ranked #10 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed four nights here, it's clean, comfortable and very friendly. Appreciated dressing gowns and hairdrier there so we didn't have to pack ours! The guest lounge was a bonus so we could relax with a drink in the evening, and the breakfasts were superb and plenty to last the day on. Parking was great and we could leave the car there and walk easily to the harbour and town centre. We will return.

Room Tip: Room 8 where we were was at the back, quiet and comfortable and warm.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 66margaret2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Hi Both,
Thank you so much for writing this lovely review and so soon after your stay. We enjoyed having you and meeting you both. It would be lovely to have you back again.
Take care
Morven & Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Kathmore Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed for two separate nights on our way to and from Mull and Kathmore will now definitely be our B&B of choice for our future visits to Oban either on the way to Mull or for a longer stay. The bedrooms were furnished to an excellent standard with good sized en suite facilities and the breakfast was more than enough and very well cooked. If you use the lounge it can mean a walk to it outside the house if your room is in the other part of the building. We did use the lounge but it was not a problem to walk the short distance to it outside the house as the weather was dry.

Room Tip: If you intend to use the lounge facilities ask for rooms in the same part of the house as the lounge...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AlanP222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Hello Folks,
Really chuffed with your lovely review, thank you. I really do hope you come back again. Always lovely to see guest returning.
All the best to you.
Morven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a great stay at Kathmore guest house when visiting Oban. It's situated in a good location close to the town centre and the rooms were clean and comfortable, with thoughtful touches like dressing gowns. We had a delicious breakfast and were well looked after. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenmoore1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Oh thank you so much for your fantastic review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the little things I do. Like my guests to be comfortable and rlaxed.
Take care
Morven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife & I stayed 2 nights. Room & bathroom (with seperate shower) immaculate and comfortable. Very good breakfasts. Ample off-road parking.
Only slightly odd thing is that this turned out to be 2 adjacent B&B's with 2 breakfast rooms but only one lounge. The lounge was in the other part necessitating a walk outside to get to it. As it happened this wasn't a problem as we didn't use it anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Hello Folks,
Thank you so much for your lovely review, I really do appreciate you took the time for me. History about Kathmore. The side you were in is 150 years old, the other side was originally supposed to be an extension. Old Mary MacIntyre who owned this house in 1969 had been given a grant to build the extension. Her idea was to run a private old folks home. Everything had been done, even knocking through the 2 1/2 feet thick walls for access up stairs and down stairs. Then her husband was caught steeling a crate of whisky from the Cash & Carry warehouse and went to jail for it. Due to him having a record the council told Mary that she could not get the grant and run the home unless she divorced him. She then bricked up the walls and made it two separate house, she moved into the new one and sold the old house to my parents in 1971. Both were run as guest houses. When my parents died in 1984 I took over Kathmore myself. In these days en suite did not exist in a guest house but as the years went by it became popular. So I thought right get this wall down that is going no-where and put en suite in these rooms, which we did. When we bought the extension part 11 years ago it would have cost us £30,000 to knock them into one due to access paths now being en suite rooms- having to make the dining room a letting room to make up for the one you have lost- moving the kitchen across- knocking down the laundry room next door to make the dining room big enough for 8 rooms. So we decided not to, we had 2 dining rooms- 2 kitchen but one lounge. So that is how it all came about. Also we have options as we are getting older now.
That was the longest reply I have ever done.
Take care you two
Morven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Kathmore House in Oban was our first stop on our Scotland vacation. We were later in the day getting in, but wew were welcomed, shown to our room and given great advise and directions to town. Good room, great value and a mighty fine breakfast.
We would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 98366Jim483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a smashing review. Happy I made you feel welcome when you arrived and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Kathmore.
Come back and see us again one day.
All the best
Morven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very nice B&B a few minutes walking away from Oban city center. En suite, with working wi-fi and coffee facilities. Good cooked breakfast in the morning.
Kathmore Guest House is a very good accomodation!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank here_is_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Hello Folks,
Just wanted say a BIG THANK YOU for your lovely review. It is important to Keith and me that our guests enjoy their stay.
Al the best
Morven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and as I was catching a early morning ferry I asked for a packed breakfast which I ate on the ferry .
Room was very good , as was breakfast , off street parking and ferry port in walking distance (3/4 of a mile).
Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JOHN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hi John,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for me. I really do appreciate it when our guests actually do,
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,793 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
985 reviews
0.9 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
1.2 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmore Guest House

Address: Kathmore Soroba Road | Argyll, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £48 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kathmore Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathmore Guest House is recommended by The Lonely Planet Guide Book. Morven & Keith have been running Kathmore for 31 years and still loving it. Easy 10 min walk ( NO HILLS) to town centre bus, train and ferry terminals. Rooms comprise of 7 en suite and 1 Double standard. All tastefully furnished with t.v's, hair dryers,dressing gowns, toiletries, tea/coffee trays. Spacious parking to rear for all our Guests. Choice breakfast offered to cater for everyones appetite, vegetarian & gluteen-free catered for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kathmore Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing