We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kathmore Guest House
Ranked #12 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I booked a last minute stay at Kathmore House. We had originally booked a double occupancy room but when we turned up the elderly couple who had spent the past few days in our reserved room decided to spend an extra night. My husband and I ended up in a twin room instead. We're pretty easy going so we didn't mind and the owner was more than happy to help us find another place to stay if we wanted but we decided to use the twin room instead. The rooms were tidy and clean, the bathroom had a luxury bathtub which was nice and breakfast the following morning was hearty and filling. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park, and was amenable to a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi both,
I know I was embarrassed with this. Normally I would have changed them into another room and honoured your booking but they were old and he was full of arthritis, could not do stairs. The room you booked is the only ground floor room I have. That is why I kept the only room I had left room 7 twin en suite with corner bath / shower. If you were not happy I would have got you somewhere else no problem. You were very understanding and saved yourself £5. Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review and being lovely people. Hope you come back to Kathmore.
All the best
Morven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    92
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
71
163
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We visited Kathmore for the second time in early October before getting the very choppy ferry to Lochboisdale. Morven gave us a warm welcome and once again we had a wonderful stay; definitely our place to stay in Oban. Thank you Morven!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squibbets M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi Colin & Kate,
Thank you for your lovely review I was not expecting it. It was lovely to see you both again. Oh, was it a bit wild going over, poor you. Hope you got some of this great weather we have been having this past week while on holiday. The sunsets have been amazing. Look forward to seeing you both again.
Cheers
Morven. xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Friendly lady staff, the triple room was comfortable and clean. Towel sets were in 3 different colors so guest avoid mixed ups. Very thoughtful I felt. There was a common lounge room for relaxation, dining and drinking. 10-15 mins walk into town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Hi Folks,
Thank you for your great review. Guests reviews really do help, so thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay at wee Kathmore. Come back and see us one day.
All the best
Morven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

we had a great stay we should stayed 3 nights but because of the bad weather we could not get the boat to Mull.and had to cancel 1 night. We offered to pay for all 3 she only charged for 2.I know a lot B&B who would have taken it all.We enjoyed our stay breakfasts were wonderful lots of choice our only concern was that we found the bed a little soft, but over all I can recommend this what is a lovely small hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank emrys p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. Really appreciate you taking the time to do this for me.
All the best
Morven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Morvan was a great hostess, she could not do enough for us...she was full of information about things to do, places to see and where to eat. We parked the car and walked everywhere! It is the ideal location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joanie155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Hi Foks,
So glad you loved Kathmore and enjoyed your stay. I enjoyed having you here. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this for me. Hope you return one day, always nice to see my guests coming back again.
All the best
Morven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

For our three days in Oban the two os us endured constant rain. Thank heavens for Kathmore Guest House as it was the perfect place to escape the weather. A large, comfortable room, a brand new separate private bathroom, a large lounge area, and off-street parking. Morven welcomed us as if we were old friends and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was all you could expect served promptly and cheerfully. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, really appreciate it. Happy you enjoyed Kathmore and it was lovely meeting and talking to you.
All the best
Morven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Kathmore would have made it easy for us to stay longer in Oban if we could. The location was great for walking to city cneter and city attractions. We stayed 2 nights in order to catch the ferry to Iona. Parking was easy (something that is not always easy). Morva was great hostess, assisting us with our phone troubles, most cheerful. Breakfast was excellent. Recommendations for restaurants were exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pastorsam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wkathmore, Owner at Kathmore Guest House, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Hi Folks,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us . This important to me. It was nice meeting you and it would be lovely to see you return .
All the best
Morven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
802 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.9 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#17 of 93 in Oban
408 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmore Guest House

Property: Kathmore Guest House
Address: Kathmore Soroba Road | Argyll, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kathmore Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathmore Guest House is recommended by The Lonely Planet Guide Book. Morven & Keith have been running Kathmore for 31 years and still loving it. Easy 10 min walk ( NO HILLS) to town centre bus, train and ferry terminals. Rooms comprise of 7 en suite and 1 Double standard. All tastefully furnished with t.v's, hair dryers,dressing gowns, toiletries, tea/coffee trays. Spacious parking to rear for all our Guests. Choice breakfast offered to cater for everyones appetite, vegetarian & gluteen-free catered for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kathmore Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing