We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find in Central Oban”
Review of The Woodside Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Woodside Hotel
Ranked #72 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good find in Central Oban”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Just of the Main Street this was a good find with a snug bar, a spacious lounge/restaurant and a good outdoor area. Bar staff were really friendly and they have a good menu with an incredible 2 steaks and a bottle of wine for £20 deal each week night till 9 pm. This is a cracking deal and the best we found in Oban. Steak was cooked to perfection too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithaChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    20
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
12
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The welcome was warm and the staff is very friendly. The room is big enough but old decorated. The bed was old and creaking. There is a pub and lounge also managed by the owners. I ate both evenings in the lounge and it was really very good. Unfortunately, when I tried to make tea, there was still water there is certainly a long time in the kettle and cup had dust. Still, I recommend this hotel if you are looking functional and inexpensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I was not to sure about hotel when I arrived but looks are deceiving found staff very friendly and owners where very helpful had a meal on the Friday night in the lounge bar attached to hotel excellent service and food was great breakfast in the morning was fresh room was clean and tidy would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is quite a well-kept secret and, as it is off the beaten track, it doesn’t get many passers by. Those passing by would probably not give this place a second glance. For those who know about it is in fact very close to the heart of Oban, probably less than 100yards from Oban Bay.
I go here whenever I am in Oban for a pint of real ale. It is very well kept and includes great English Bitters such as Old Speckled Hen or Abbot’s Ale.
The hotel has the Creel Bar which is comparatively large and overlooks a suntrap courtyard (one of the few places you can sit outside with a pint) and a much smaller public bar which is much preferred by the locals.
The beer is excellent, prices reasonable and the crack excellent (if there is no sport on the telly).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Niall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my sister when we had a night out in Oban. They gave us a family room instead of a twin at no extra cost. The place isn't perfect but it was ideal for our needs. Clean enough, warm, close to all amenities and the lady working there was pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitburn
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

i was staying here on business and found the family run hotel very comfortable and the food fantastic the servings are plenty at the attached creel restaurant.
The location is good, well away from the main road but close enough to the town center and only a short walk from the ferry terminal.
i was here on business and needed to be out before the breakfast serving times May who is one of the owners got up and made me a fab cooked breakfast with an abundance of fresh ground coffee and cereal which i was very grateful for as kept me going well into the afternoon.
if you needed anything they are more than happy to help.
The rooms were comfortable and warm with en-suite and a very powerful and warm shower.
The windows are old wooden sash ones and let in a bit of outside noise but with the age of the building it is to be expected, the family have been running the hotel for just a year and they are making changes to it bit by bit but i found it quite homely and comfy.
I had room 1 a single room above the bar which meant i heard a chatter from the bar "not to loud though".
the rooms consist of 2 floors.

Floor 1 - Room 1(single), Room 2 (double)
Floor 2 - Room 5(single), Room 6 (double/single bed), Room 7 (family room double bed and bunk beds).

The hotel/bar staff were very helpful and friendly.

i would certainly use it again. :) thanks may and family for taking care of me.

Room Tip: if you don't like noise from bar area ask for rooms 5,6,7 or 8. Rooms 5 and 8 are singles Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Jura, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Arrived in Oban by motorbike for a quick overnight stay as I live in the islands. Made very welcome from the start and offered secure overnight storage for the bike. Great food, friendly staff and regulars in the bar. Slept very well with no loud music or traffic noise. Lovely hot shower and great breakfast. What more do you want!? Would definitely return - genuine west coast hospitality. Phil Kitching

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 92PhilipK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kings Arms Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#82 of 93 in Oban
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#66 of 93 in Oban
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodside Hotel

Property: The Woodside Hotel
Address: 3 Tweeddale Street, Oban PA34 5DD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Hotel Class:2 star — The Woodside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Woodside Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing