We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Guest House in Oban!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gramarvin Guest House
Ranked #25 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Guest House in Oban!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at Gramarvin in Oban early in April of 2013. We only wish that we had booked a few more days here…not only because of the guest house, but because Oban was such a pretty little town. But to focus on Gramarvin…it was a lovely stay. Mary and Joe were gracious hosts and the room was beautiful. It was a good size and had everything we needed. The breakfast in the morning was tasty…and when finding out we had to catch an early bus on the day we checked out, Mary left us a take-away breakfast in the entry foyer to eat on the bus, full of goodies that helped chase the hungers away. It was quiet, comfortable and only a very short walk to the ferry…the train station…and the bus kiosks. I would highly recommend Gramarvin for a stay in Oban!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyHoltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakwood, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

My friend & I stayed at Gramarvin Guesthouse for 2 nights after travelling by bus from Ullapool, where we had travelled for a wedding. After our long day of travel it was nice to arrive at such a clean, comfortable place to stay. Our twin room was spacious, lots of closet space, a nice bathroom with shower & super cosy comforters on the beds. We were on the top floor so there was a lot of stairs. The owner Joe did carry our heavy bags upstairs for us. The entire place was very clean & had nice decorating touches. As in a B&B you place your breakfast order the night before. The breakfast room is bright & cheerful. Mary serves a great breakfast.The location is great as it is easy walking, to shops, restaurants, the waterfront & the pier. Also in walking distance is the ferry, bus & train stations, which we used. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Thre is no common room/lounge area as there was in the previous guest house we were in. It depends i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed two nights at Gramarvin Guest House. It is located just a few blocks from the town center, the harbor, and the Oban Distillery. Our room was clean and updated. The breakfast was substantial. Mary was an excellent host and very helpful. Parking was available in the back of the guest house.

The wifi was a little quirky sometimes. I would establish a connection in the lobby and then go up to our room where it worked just fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh/Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We were in Oban for a single night stay and Gramarvin had been recommended to us by a friend. The house was so clean it could have been mistaken for a show-home! Rooms were a good size and very comfortable. We wouldn't hesitate to book again if we were coming to Oban.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Mary and Joe are 2 of the nicest people we have ever met, a warm friendly welcome and nothing too much trouble.
The guest house itself is immaculate and exceptionally clean but very comfortable at the same time. The breakfast is to die for and off road private parking as well!!!
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Gramarvin to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was excellent but all the rooms are of the same exceptional standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanWaldram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I will second the comments concerning Gramarvin's convenience to everything in Oban and that the owner keeps the property spotlessly clean. It is also a fine value.

I wish that I had known that the owner will not accept a credit card for payment, a policy that was never communicated in the email correspondence or on their web page. Perhaps this is a common policy but it came as an unwelcome surprise to me and caused some anxiety and wasted time. Lesson learned.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 501Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Fantastic host, cosy comfy modern rooms, super location for town and it's many restaurants and shops. Breakfast was great lots of choice and veggie options. I would not hesitate to recommend this BnB.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truckstopblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Sandvilla Guest House
0.0 mi away
Raniven Guest House
Raniven Guest House
#30 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Manse Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hawthornbank Guest House
0.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramarvin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramarvin Guest House

Property: Gramarvin Guest House
Address: Breadalbane Street, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gramarvin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gramarvin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gramarvin Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing