We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fish and chips of the trip - and we had alot!”

Oban Fish and Chip Shop
Ranked #5 of 94 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: SEAFOOD RESTAURANT AND TAKE-AWAY OFFERING A WIDE VARIETY OF LOCAL SUSTAINABLE FISH AND SHELLFISH AS WELL AS TRADITIONAL MEALS.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips of the trip - and we had alot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

One of the group had done some research into places to eat in Oban and we all fancied a chippy so glad that he did.

It's a small-ish place, with a few tables inside and it's a chippy! However, the staff were great and the portions good. The fish and chips were fab and the mushy peas to kill for!!!

Not expensive either... overall a good call for a meal

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank si_j_peacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    937
    282
    62
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as the Magpie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We wanted a simple place to eat and this fitted the bill. Good quality, simple fish and chips - delicious.
Rick Stein says it's the best fish and chips but also says the same of the Magpie in Whitby. We think that the Magpie does just beat it though.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richardxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We can't wait to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

This was an unexpected discovery. Living in Italy we were missing fish and chips, but this restaurant is so much more. We had a wonderful platter of really fresh seafood and perfect seafood chowder, and went back the next day. The staff were helpul and friendly, and we are looking forward to going back as soon as possible

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glvRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I want the batter recipe!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

My mate and I ate in this chippy last week. We had been travelling round Scotland and had eaten in a lot of fine restaurants; The Three Chimneys, Kinloch Lodge on Skye, and wanted somewhere cheap and cheerful and unfussy.
We "googled" fish and chip shops in Oban, as, although the requirement was basic, we still wanted basic very well done.
Top of the crop according to Google, was the Oban fish and chip shop, so we tried it.
On arrival service was relaxed yet friendly. I wanted simple battered haddock, chips and mushy peas, (in a box as it tastes better than on a plate), which they were happy to provide.
I was the best fish supper i have eaten. The fish was moist, juicy and flaky and the batter was to die for. I don't know how they do it, but it stays crispy from beginning to end. It was almost tempura-like it was so light.
Everything that accompanied the fish was excellent too. Tasty potatoes for the chips, excellently seasoned mushy peas, perfect with a touch of vinegar, and a great cup of tea.
Just what we needed. Funnily enough it must have a magic ingredient as we both ended up out til the wee small hours that night...!
If you're not seeking "sophistication", but know good cooking, then visit here. Because a fish supper is so simple and relies on the quality of the produce used it can go terribly wrong! Oban fish and chip shop does it better than anyone else I know... And i'm Scottish, so have eaten plenty chippies in my time.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingFoodie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Extraordinary food in an ordinary setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We went here based on the claim by Ricki Stein that it was the best fish and chips he'd ever eaten. I have to agree, they even beat the famous Magpie in Whitby and Harry Ramsdens. A wide selection of locally caught fish with the option to have it baked, breaded or battered. The batter is very light and not at all greasy. The chips are great and they dont give you an overwhelming portion. Try the homemade tartar sauce. The restaurant inside is very basic, but very clean and no problems.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldenBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oban Fish and Chip Shop also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Oban Fish and Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing