We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very Bad”

St. Anne's Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Anne's Guest House
Ranked #86 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Very Bad”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

On arrival we looked for somewhere just to pull up outside and there was nowhere, i had my Girlfriend, 2 kids and all my stuff in the car and i was forced to leave it well down the road to walk back to this place. On entering i shouted, rang the bell and no one came, the place was deserted. I had to ring a mobile number to tell them i had arrived, i haeard the phone ring upstairs (mobile remember) and the person who answerd said they wernt there and that some one from another b&b would come to help up check in. Then i was told that there was no cooked meal for breakfast, something we expressly asked for and were promised. we were told we could have toast or cerial or leave it. As it was so short notice and my family were waiting outside i reluctantly agreed to stay evan though on viewing the room it was up a mountain of stairs and old and tacky and crampt. The bathroom was outside our room on the hall landing and constantly are locking your room and going in and out just to use the bathroom, very inconvenient. A hairdryer in a draw was smashed with cables hanging out and dangerous. The worst thing though is the parking, it is so bad. All the spaces in the street go & youve no chance of parking outside, so the only other option then is a pay and display car park down the end off the street, we had great fun walking back from the car park in pooring rain trying to carry a baby and our things all the way down the street on a busy road with a small pavement on only one side. When you drive down the street and you find no spaces because its one way your forced to drive back around the town centre to get back to a pay and display car park.Night time was noisy with TVs and shouting, this caused our youngest child to repetedly wake on the first night up to around 4am when it finally went quiet. We couldnt wait to leave and go to our next b&b but please dont let me put you off the Town of Oban which is an amazing place with wonderful kind people. I wouldnt stay here again if they paid me, evan the toast and cerial (No cooked breakfast which was promised) wasnt cleared away from the eating area till around 4pm ish. On the seccond day there was another family who had arrived and were stood around waithing for someone we felt sorry for them.

Room Tip: Walk out and find another B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this review, 17 February 2015
Dear Guest,
We are surprised at your comments. You stayed with us for a few days and said you were happy with the room at the time. You were given a discount on the room because you were staying for more than 2 days, you were also given the choice of a larger room at a slightly higher price. You opted for the smaller room. Our room prices do not include a cooked breakfast, and you opted to have a light continental instead. All options were discussed at time of booking.
There is ample parking available, both in the street beside the house and in the car park a few metres away. All parking is free overnight. There is also plenty of space to park beside the house while passengers get out of the car. It might have been a good idea to drop your passenger and children outside while you went to park the car, rather than making them walk back in the rain.
At the end of the day, we are running a Guest House, not a car park, although we do our best to show guests where they can park.
St Annes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    10
    12
    26
See reviews for
17
20
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stated here as a family of 5 , lucky enough to get last minute accomodation. Oban is relatively expensive when it comes to places to stay. Friendly staff member on arrival. Rooms are very small , we didn't realise the bathroom was in hallway at booking this place and I locked myself out in the night! Oops something to remember when stating here! Cleanliness was average. It's in a great location and we got parking just across the road.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Robs014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this review, 19 February 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a positive review.
We are glad you were happy with the location, parking and the price :)
Regards
St Annes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

A party of us stayed at St Annes for New Year. We really could not have had a
better time! For a fraction of the price to stay in a hotel, we had all the
facilities you could want. Warm and comfortable rooms. Tea and coffee in the
rooms.Free wifi. I have stayed in places much more expensive with less facilities, which were not as comfortable or as friendly. Breakfast was well cooked and plentiful, and served
late at our request. Nothing was too much trouble. As guests of St Annes we were
invited to the Hogmanay party in Paparazzi Bar till the wee small hours. We
welcomed in the New Year with a traditional dram of Oban whisky. It was a great
night with a mixture of traditional Scottish reels and club music. Oban is a
good destination for the New Year celebration. The town is very pretty with
chrismas lights, fireworks at midnight, and everything is within walking
distance. None of the stress of trying to find a taxi that you get in the big
cities. We all enjoyed it and will be back next year. You are doing a great job
St Annes - well done! "

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

when I telephoned to book a room, I enquired if there were any double rooms available, the woman then asked what type of room I wanted lol that was a sign of things to come. This place should be condemned, the electrical sockets and switches are seriously bad bordering on the ridiculous. also there was no central heating and when I enquired about this I was told the heating was only switched on at certain times, never heard so much nonsense in all my life. Anyway me and my girlfriend lay freezing all night. got out of there a.s.a.p and I would tell anyone to avoid this place. Bad mannered owner, overpriced, dodgy just about sums it up, I could go on but I don't want to waste anymore time talking about this place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdcarroll1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
St Annes Guest House Oban
Thank you for posting a review. I am surprised that it appeared on Trip Advisor so promptly given that you only stayed with us 2 days ago. Guest who stayed with us at New Year posted at least 2 separate positive reviews about their stay which have not been published yet. But then Trip Advisor seems to love a bad review, and are suspicious of good reviews. However, as to your stay, I can assure you that the electrical switches and sockets all meet current safety requirements. The central heating comes on at 4pm in winter and 5pm in summer, and switches off at 1am. It also comes back on at 6am till 10am. These timings are to conserve power, and timed for guests arriving, spending time in their rooms, and getting up in the morning. I think this is fairly standard proceedure in most homes. There is a backup electric heater also in the room should our guests require it. I believe you may have missed the period when the heating was switched on as you went out for the night. I did my best to explain over the phone at 2am when you had returned from the pub, how to to turn the switch on the electric heater, but you appeared to have dificulty understanding. Our check out times are 10am to 10.30 am. I believe you left at 11.30, so perhaps the room warmed up after all.
Best Regards,
St. Annes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We arrived in Oban after a terrible journey! It was snowing and our car ran off the road. We called ahead to explain why we would be late for checking in. To our relief it was no problem and Lenny made us feel very welcome when we arrived after midnight. We felt we had arrived at a warm and safe place after the storm outside. We had a sleep in the next morning to recover from our journey. Coffee was provided in the room, and when we ventured out Oban looked very pretty in the fresh snow. We stayed for 2 days and liked St Annes very much. The house is lovely and comfortable. Very good location and close to the town. Wifi was free. Parking was in the street and no charge over night. We were happy with our stay and the price was very reasonable for all that was on offer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Araceliemre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
St. Annes Guest House.
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review. It is always so nice when our efforts are appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our facilities and felt we offered value for money. Oban is an all year round destination, and looks just as lovely in the winter as it does in the summer, even if the weather can be a bit challenging! St Annes management and staff always try to be welcoming and make our guests feel comfortable. We hope you will stay with us again.
Kind regards, St Annes Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuengirola, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed twice in St Annes on our travels to the islands of Scotland. Its very convenient for the ferry port, and very central. Everything is within easy walking distance. Our ferry was delayed by bad weather on our second visit and we didnt get in until after midnight! We phoned ahead to explain, and Elaine very kindly made sure that she was on hand to make sure we could check in at that late hour. We thought the rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable and very reasonable. Oban can be very expensive. Breakfast was well cooked both mornings, we had a late one after our late arrival, which was appreciated. I would definately recommend St. Annes, and will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
St Annes Guest House
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to say kind things! We are very happy when our efforts are appreciated by our guests. Both myself, and the staff do try to make our guests feel welcome, and make sure the rooms are clean and comfortable. Thank you for saying our prices were reasonable. Again, we are trying to offer value for money, and are very happy when our guests recognise this.
Thank you for your recommendation.
Best Regards, St Annes Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alva,clacks,scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

we stayed at st annes 1 night ,room booked through Visit Scotland tourist information office in Oban,the girl in the office spoke to the landlady over the phone ,they only did continental breakfast which we accepted,On arrival a neighbour let us into the house and asked for payment,the chip and pin was not working so she she said we could pay the landlady later. When we returned to our room later in the evening there was a note under the door saying that since WE HAD NOT BOOKED BREAKFAST AND SINCE NONE OF THE OTHER GUESTS WERE HAVING IT A CAFE UP THE ROAD WAS RECOMMENDED!!A young barman from a local pub was there in the morning to take our money,he had to go the pub for change.At this stage we had already booked into another b and b(great-Dana Villa-would recommend it)AT no time did we see the landlady, also the room was small, no wash-basin in the toilet, no soap etc, tv not working,(we had initially booked into another bnb owned by the same person but could not find it and had dificulty hearing the owner over the phone,we had then went to the booking office. We would not recommend this b and b-the whole experience was awful and quite upsetting.PS -THE LOCATION IS EXCELLENT .

Room Tip: look at reviews first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbour G, Owner at St. Anne's Guest House, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest, I am sorry you had a problem with your booking which was arranged through Visit Scotland. The reason we removed our business from VS is because of a series bookings like yours which were poorly arranged. We did not realise at the time that they were changing their booking systems, which caused all sorts of problems. Guests were not being advised of check in times or breakfast arrangements. Our check in time is 4pm till 9pm, or by pre arrangement. Unfortunately you arrived at 12 noon when the rooms were not prepared, and reception staff were not on duty. You had not booked or paid for breakfast, and this was clearly stated on your booking form which VS gave you and e mailed us a copy. The check in times were also printed on your form. Our policy is to take payment for your stay and breakfast bookings at check in, then guests are free to leave in the morning without the bother of having to check out. As you went out shortly after your arrival, and still had not returned by midnight, I was unable to check you in or discuss your breakfast requirements( but suspected that you would not be willing to pay extra for it as you were adamant with the staff that it was included) As there were no other breakfasts booked for the morning, I took the decision not to prepare for breakfasts, and left you a note accordingly. I had also left several messages on your phone over the course of the evening advising you that you had not booked breakfast, but I did not receive a reply. To avoid dissapointment, it is essential to read the terms and conditions of your booking which should always be provided if you book online or through an agent.
Best Regards, St Annes Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Glengorm Guest House
Glengorm Guest House
#83 of 93 in Oban
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#17 of 93 in Oban
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanglin B&B
Tanglin B&B
#76 of 93 in Oban
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Glenview Guest House
Glenview Guest House
#51 of 93 in Oban
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cameron Guesthouse
Cameron Guesthouse
#53 of 93 in Oban
59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dungallan Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Anne's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Anne's Guest House

Property: St. Anne's Guest House
Address: St. Annes 6 Victoria Place Dunollie Road | Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Anne's Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Annes Guest House accommodation in Oban offers high quality accommodation at a reasonable price. Each year we enjoy welcoming visitors from around the world who come to experience for themselves the magical, dramatic beauty of Oban and the Argyll coast, the ancient seat of the Kings of Scotland which is not only steeped in history, beautiful scenery and great culinary delights, but has leisure pursuits and entertainment to suit all tastes. St Annes is a Victorian Town House built in 1880 and has large airy rooms which retain many of the original Victorian features. St Annes is very close to the Town Centre and many local amenities are close by. The Atlantis Leisure Centre, The Corran Halls,Tennis Courts, McCaigs Tower, the Cathedral and local Cinema are all within easy walking distance. We are also conveniently situated for buses,trains and ferries. Parking is available in the street, and the pay and display car park at the end of the road which is free between 6pm and 9am. The Guest House has seven letting rooms, all comfortably furnished, with colour T.V. And complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St. Anne's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Anne's Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing