We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic guest house”

Sgeir Mhaol Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sgeir Mhaol Guest House
Ranked #76 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic guest house”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Not the first time my Husband & i have stayed at this guest house. Stayed friday 25th May & the place was spotless as always. Lovely breakfast & the owners are always very accommodating. Dont understand where the previous review comment comes from as never in all the times we have stayed there have we found it being dirty anywhere especially the toilets & shower area. Whenever we have to stay a night in Oban we always stay here because of the warm welcome we receive from the owner Ishbell & the cleaniness of the rooms & have recommended it to all our friends.
Susan Glasgow.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thanyou for you wonderful review,
it is very much appreciated,
kind regards,
Ishbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    16
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
13
23
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I can not give 4 or five stars to this B&B because I found the toilet and the washbasin quite dirty and full of hairs, that never happened to me before in a B&B, but I have to admit that the rest of the facilities were great, the dining room, the living room and the bed (really comfortable).
The owners were very friendly as well.
I expected more but it's ok for the money you pay

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank metalkris79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We are a family of 4 + Grandmother and Sgeir Mhaol Guest House was one of the last places we have stayed during our 10 day journey through Scotland. We were pleasantly surprised all around. Ishbell was fabulous and made us feel very welcome, and surprised us with an excellent breakfast, definitely made with love. We had a tradional Scotish breakfast, but we were also able to have cheeses as well. This has been the only place were I didn't had to choose between continental or Scotish breakfast and the fresh strawberries were the best. My kids mostly loved the fresh hash browns. The rooms were nice and tidy. We had a family room for 4 and a room with 2 twin beds. The lounge room has also been very nice and relaxing. Also we liked the location, very much in walking distance to the town center. We also were able to leave our car at the guest house after checkout, so we could enjoy the old town a little more.
This guest house has been one of the nicest and definitely most reasonably priced ones we have stayed at. Thank you soo much Ishbell!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menice2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thanyou for you wonderful review,
it is very much appreciated,
kind regards,
Ishbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

thanks we had a lovely one nite stay with you last week we travelled over from inverness in the rain and cold and couldnt see much so we deciced to stay in oban for the nite we knocked at your door and received a warm welcome. The room we stayed in was clean warm and had all the facillities that you require for a short stay with choice of breakfast in the morning very clean and tidy. hope you have a good season. sandra and roberto blackpool.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandracampbell-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I chose Sgeir Mhaol Guest House for its proximity to the centre of Oban. It is very easy to find and has excellent parking facilities.
I was warmly welcomed by Ishbel and shown to a very nice double room, with small but perfectly adequate en-suite facilities, tea and coffee making facilities and TV.
When travelling alone it is very difficult to find B & B where the single traveller is not asked to pay a supplement.
Consequently Sgeir Mhaol will be first on my list of contacts when I need accommodation in Oban again.
Overall, very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ednabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Hi,thanks so much for your kind review.
Many guest houses will not take single guests and will add a supplement for under occupancy,
as you know this is not our policy and at Sgeirmhaol we welcome people who wish to travel alone.Delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a safe ,if not long, journey home,
kind regards,
ishbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This is a lovely and well kept guest house. It is in a quieter neighborhood but convenient to the town center and all attractions. The room was very nice with ample space and a very up to date en suite bath. The hostess was very charming and helpful and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
how lovely of you take time to write such a complimentary review on Sgeirmhaol guest house.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you had a pleasant return trip home,can I wish you and your family a vary merry christmas and a good 2102,
kindest regards,
Ishbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Travel between the islands & Edinburgh with my job. Wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else its like my second home! fantastic hospitality. Love it that much, have stayed here with my family & friends on my holidays. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thankyou so much for your kind review of Sgeirmhaol,I am always pleased to receive any feedback from our guests,again thanks so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
4.7 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
2.4 mi away
Lagnakeil Highland Lodges
0.9 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#18 of 93 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sgeir Mhaol Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

Property: Sgeir Mhaol Guest House
Address: Soroba Road, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sgeir Mhaol Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing