We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable night”

Sgeir Mhaol Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sgeir Mhaol Guest House
Ranked #82 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Kinlochleven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Arrived in Oban for the evening and stayed at this guest house. Nothing was too much bother for the owners.. Lovely big lounge which unforrunately we didnt have enough time to appreciate. Bedroom was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Breakfast was excellen twith plenty of choice,.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magswilsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
hello,
thanks for your very kind review,glad you enjoyed your stay with us,
see you soon,Ishbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    16
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
13
23
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

The family room in which we spent one night was NOT a family room but a double room in which was stuffed a bunk bed. Considering that Oban is usually a short stop during an itinerant trip of Scotland, you need also to arrange your (massive) baggage, and this was very difficult because the space was extremely limited!
Few bath towels ...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here on 11th August and loved it. Both Ishbell & James are genuinely lovely hosts and Molly the dog is gorgeous.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, Ishbell apologised for the water pressure but it really wasn't a problem and we slept like logs, and for a chronically poor sleeper that's an achievement!

Very well located, nice and central. We would absolutely stay again.
Julie & Allan

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dopey2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kesteren, Gelderland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

During out road trip through scotland we came across this B&B in Oban. We were very lucky to find it, as everything else was full! Lovely room, en-suite with a fairly spacious toilet and shower. Cozy lounge and a good breakfast room. Breakfast itself was very good, freshly good and a wide range of choice.
Very close to the city centre, only a few minutes by food. Supermarket around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I have stayed here on more than one occasion, and it is the only place I'll stay in Oban. The owner is so helpful and friendly and she does the best breakfast. The rooms are extremely comfortable with everything you need in them. Even the twin shared bathroom is clean & suitable for all needs. Id recommend this B n B to anyone visiting Oban. Thanks Ishbell for being such a great host.

Room Tip: No 4 is my fave room <3
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed at Sgeirmhoal for almost 2 weeks whilst on a nursing placement and was treated like a long lost family member !
Ishbell and James couldn't have been kinder or more accommodating, attending to my every whim......! I switched about rooms a wee bit as I was back at my own home in Paisley each weekend, but I had the opportunity to sample a variety of rooms. Each and every one was lovely, fresh and all smelt lovely ! The decor and furnishings were modern, contemporary and cosy with jubbly comfy beds.
Breakfast in the bright sunny dining room was a joy in the morning.
If you want clean, comfy, great friendly service Sgeirmhoal is THE place to stay !!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally comfy and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillylova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thankyou so much for your overwhelmingly kind review of Sgiermhaol.
What you have said is what we want all of our guest to experience when staying with us whether its on holiday or business.
I want all our guest to have enjoyed their stay,
Again thankyou for your review Alison I very much appreciate your kindess, as I did your chocolates!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

It was a nice stay, Ishbell was very kind. Altough our bedroom was small for two people and the lugagge, but the rest was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thanks for you lovely review,always appreciated by myself and Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
4.7 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lagnakeil Highland Lodges
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
2.2 mi away
Clan Cottages
Clan Cottages
#1 of 1 in Kilmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sgeir Mhaol Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

Property: Sgeir Mhaol Guest House
Address: Soroba Road, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sgeir Mhaol Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing