We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable”

Sgeir Mhaol Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sgeir Mhaol Guest House
Ranked #82 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

The owners were friendy and helpful, the room clean, and the bed comfortable if a little small for our liking. The washbasin wasin the room rather than in the ensuite shower room, which proved a little akward. The ample breakfast was freshly cooked and served hot.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vixen22_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Hello from sunny Oban.
Thankyou so much for your comments on Sgeirmhaol.
We do understand that some of our guests do not like that our wash-hand basins are in the rooms and not in our en-suite.Unfortunately when we bought Sgeirmhaol the sink were as they are.
We have thought of putting the sinks into the rooms but they would be rather small so for tat reason we have left them as they are.
So happy you enjoyed your stay with us and especially our breakfasts, a good hearty start to your day.It would be lovely to see you here again,
kind regards,
Ishbell and Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    16
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
13
23
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Oban is nice enough but our stay at Sgeir Mhaol was marred by the owner's comments when asked to recommend sights in Oban's (she said there was nothing and we should head out) , eating out places (she said it was not worth even trying as she "guaranteed" they would all be booked & full) , a glass of water after we had checked out (she gave me a bottle of water but said we were trespassing - this was when we were standing at the reception counter trying to catch her eye!). The Castle and seaside promenade in Oban is delightful, seafood great and most restaurants go out of their way to make room for last minute orders.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seemag167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

Benalla, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

On arrival, although the hostess was busy she was a bit snappy. The room was small and the bathroom smelt of urine. Nice breakfast was provided, but table was set with a second hand serviette. Ample parking, but due to it being on a busy road it was a bit of a challenge getting in and out.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Very enjoyable stay at the Sgeir Mhaol, nice friendly owners. Our room was a little small but, spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good which had to be chosen the night before, so might not be everybody's cup of tea.. We only stayed here one night. Ideal location to visit Mull we went on a brilliant tour which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thankyou so much for taking the time to let me ,and everyone else, know how much you enjoyed your stay at Sgeirmhaol.
Its been a long and very busy season for me and ,having no help with running Sgeirmhaol, reading these wonderful reviews makes it all worth while,again thankyou so much,
Ishbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

We selected Sgeir Mhaol Guest House based on two criteria; an ensuite, private car parking and walking distance to the ferry terminal, but we got much more!
The double ensuite room was clean and comfortable, but not overly large, but you don't need a dance floor! The sink was in the main room and the toilet and shower located in a small water closet. The room had a double bed and two side tables in addition to a wardrobe and a TV mounted high on the wall.
But what made the real difference was the availability of a guest lounge! A comfy, cozy sitting room with a large screen TV and two leather sofas. It was the best location in the house to access the free wifi so I spent some time here. It was great when on the second night my husband wanted to go to bed early, so I made myself at home in the lounge. In two weeks of travel in Scotland we never again had this much "room".
We also had no concerns in leaving our car unattended all day in the private car park while we toured Mull and Iona.
Hot breakfast was made to order (pre-ordered the night before) and was good and served in a comfortable and friendly dining room.
And the owners are always asking if they can do anything for you? What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Not all rooms are ensuite - must check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeONsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a lovely review about Sgeirmhaol.
The lounge is a very popular area for guests to enjoy pre dinner drinks,after dinner drinks,wifi or just to relax and have a blether after their day out around Oban.
Our aim is to have the home from home feel and Im delighted you found that here,
again thankyou,
Ishbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinlochleven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Arrived in Oban for the evening and stayed at this guest house. Nothing was too much bother for the owners.. Lovely big lounge which unforrunately we didnt have enough time to appreciate. Bedroom was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Breakfast was excellen twith plenty of choice,.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magswilsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obaniteOban, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest House, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
hello,
thanks for your very kind review,glad you enjoyed your stay with us,
see you soon,Ishbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

The family room in which we spent one night was NOT a family room but a double room in which was stuffed a bunk bed. Considering that Oban is usually a short stop during an itinerant trip of Scotland, you need also to arrange your (massive) baggage, and this was very difficult because the space was extremely limited!
Few bath towels ...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
4.7 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lagnakeil Highland Lodges
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
2.2 mi away
Clan Cottages
Clan Cottages
#1 of 1 in Kilmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sgeir Mhaol Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

Property: Sgeir Mhaol Guest House
Address: Soroba Road, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sgeir Mhaol Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing