We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little getaway in beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cologin Country Chalets and Lodges
Ranked #7 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

These chalets are in a beautiful setting. Ideal place to stay if you have a dog, lovely walks on your doorstep. Our dog especially loved swimming in the loch. Such a peaceful area and safe for children. Kitchen is well equipped so you can eat in every evening, or the Barn restaurant is on site to provide lovely home cooked meals (see separate review). Our chalet was simply furnished and a little tired in some areas (e.g. the bathroom), but spacious and all we needed for a family break. The only negative I would say is that it was freezing! We visited at the end of June so I would not like to visit in winter. We arrived early evening and the windows were still open, so our first night was extremely cold. It is nice to air the chalets between visitors but I wish they would close the windows before guests arrive, especially when it's raining. There are electric heaters in every room but remember that you have to pay extra for the electricity you use.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GillG767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at Cologin for a week and enjoyed every minute. Excellent walking opportunities from the chalets or nearby. Chalets are comfortable with pleasant furnishings with all you need inside.
However they are well situated to provide outdoor seating with views or if you prefer you can move into the Barn where there is good food and sociability .
The owners are on hand to advise on local attractions and were helpful and accommodating when ever required.
The combination of good value accommodation and an excellent bar/restaurant off the road in lovely countryside is hard to find and difficult to beat.
Also our dog had a great time too!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eleanor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just back from what was to be a week long stay at Cologin. We were so relaxed and 'in the zone' we stayed on an extra 3 nights and would have stayed longer if we could!! We stayed in Chalet 11 where from the window we were lucky enough to witness, on a daily basis, a beautiful deer who seemed quite unperturbed by our presence and on our last day brought out her young fawn. My husband so delighted by this, headed into town and did no more than buy himself a pair of binoculars!! He wouldn't have it that he was a week too late!
We travelled with our dogs and so local walks are an absolute must before setting off to explore further afield and Cologin has plenty of these!! Head up behind the chalets on the Forestry Commission land and you come to a fabulous little Loch, now I am not sure swimming is allowed or indeed encouraged but we certainly had a little dip each day which blew away the cobwebs from the previous evening spent by the log burner at the Barn Bar with its vast selection of whiskey! The site is incredibly dog friendly (yet no ..ehem..'traces' of them at all in the gardens); one of the owners dogs, a gorgeous brown lab by the name of Benji accompanied us to the Loch each day and seemed to know where he was going so we just let him lead and found another walk over the back with great views of the Glen.
Ate at the Barn Bar a couple of times - the pate is absolutely delicious and the service really welcoming. The manager and the girls behind the bar were so friendly- yet not in our face. A real warm and kind Scottish welcome.
We were lucky because in 10 days we only had 2 days of rain in part and temperatures reached mid 20's apparently this isn't normal so dress appropriately...take clothes for all weathers and you wont get caught out! Likewise with the chalets & Wi-Fi; they aren't the Ritz and its not Broadband HQ so don't expect such and you will have a wonderful time in this little Highland Haven. Isn't that what getting away from it all is about.

Room Tip: Chalets at the bottom of the site are more tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samjay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Cologin is a magical place, with endless Highland walks, the Barn Bar for some of the best food in Oban…and weekly live music by local musicians, and a very cozy stay. The owners are relaxed and extremely accommodating, and children and pets are treated with respect. We stayed during the winter when it rained and blew gales nearly every day, but the chalet was warm and comfortable. I can only imagine what the hillside is like in spring and summer.

Well worth the visit, with Oban town so near, and we will surely return. Travellers should not expect a spotless chalet (this is a country stay after all), nor for the owners to be on your door-step looking over you. Enjoy the relaxed pace, comfortable accommodations, and friendly folk. A magical place indeed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had trouble booking Cologin for a last minute deal in Oban and found the owner Linda to be very abrupt and rude. However, we booked anyway for £150 for 3 nights and stayed in the 1 bedroom chalet. When we arrived at 7pm we went straight to the Barn for a meal which was average. Back at the chalet all the windows were open, the chalet was dark and smelled damp, there were cobwebs everywhere, the sitting area was dirty, no bulbs in the lamps, blind not working. We went to bed and decided to deal with things in the morning. Before we left in the morning, we found a notice of warning from environmental health at Argyll and Bute Council stating not to use the water as it was contaminated and to use other water for washing/cleaning teeth etc. We were so shocked no-one had told us this before booking or even when we checked in as we continued to use the water that evening and morning. No-one was around in the morning and our dirty dishes were still left lying on the table outside for the night before at the Barn. We decided to make the most of our day and when we came back, asked to speak to the owner. Jim, Lindas husband, came over. I explained the situation that we weren't happy with the chalet and more importantly the water. I can only describe him as condescending and arrogant. He laughed in our face and said we would be fine, he's sure we have had worse. He told us we were making excuses for the chalet with the water and if we wanted to leave we could be his guest but we wouldn't be getting a penny back saying we got it cheap as chips anyway and what would we expect. He said he couldn't see anyone else complaining and we would have to deal with it then he walked off. We were shocked. And also, the other chalets hardly looked occupied, we think they make them look booked on the website to appear busy. To top it off they make you pay for wifi after 30 mins and charge you for electricity. I do not know who has put up any good reviews, clearly local friends, but we advise not to book. Check out some pictures.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Suzanne77770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed in an inner he bride an lodge from Friday to Monday. The lodge was clean on arrival and staff in the barn were very helpful. We normally stay in a hotel or b and b when in oban but we're pleasantly surprised at the accommodation and location. If like us you want to venture into oban town for a drink in the evening, taxis cost approx £10. The barn staff will call a taxi for you as there is no mobile network reception.

All in all a fantastic, idyllic location with helpful friendly staff who will accommodate any requests. We will definitely be returning, thanks for a wonderful weekend at lodge 16.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marknlorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stay in the Oban area frequently and in all types of accommodation. In this case we were invited to do a review on another review website 'Upfront 'and did so. The reply from the owner said that we were being unfair.
We stayed for four nights in a Pet Free Inner Hebridean Lodge.
One of our party had stayed previously when the lodges were new. We had also visited the pub many times for meals when our child was small and we liked the fact that there was a playground for the children and there were ducks around. The setting is very pretty.
When we arrived the TV was on and we thought there was someone else in the lodge. The interior of the lodge was very clean and modern. The seating area was black leather Ikea furniture and there were two small cushions which we thought was a bit sparse. The kitchen was probably Ikea too. The utensils did look a bit sparse as well. Having already ran a self catering establishment we know what basics should be supplied but we thought that was unlikely in this case but could not say for sure without counting everything. Anyway we weren't there to cook or count the utensils. We always take our own washing up gear so did not use their supplied washing up liquid and we took our rubbish away with us to recycle.
The outside of the lodge was grubby. There was a dirty barbecue with a dirty fork, a plastic pen top and cigarette end on the area with the seating and table with parasol, not beside the bin that the owner said in his reply. When asked if we could have these items removed we felt as if we were making a fuss over nothing. A quick brush round about wouldn't have gone amiss.

Later on we wanted to watch a programme on TV BBC 1 Scotland but despite our efforts we could not get BBC at all. We asked at the pub and were told that we had to switch on and off etc. and after that didn't work we were told it was the weather. So we gave up. The owner states that we were 'rude and adamant' that we wanted 'a channel that they could not provide'. So much for BBC 1. He states that 'we provide Freeview only'. I would suggest they get Freesat costs nothing and has all the basic TV channels. Sky Television wasn't the reason we went there.

After that we did not bother going to ask for assistance with the light bulb that did not work in the twin bedroom or the bathroom door lock that did not work. Nor why there was a plastic bag tied round the shower. There was a feeling that we were being a nuisance to them. So that's why the owner said he had no idea about the light not working and he didn't see the plastic bag.

On the final night Friday 30th May the water went off. Not as the owner says at 1am. but around 10 pm. As we were leaving the next day we were concerned about how to flush the one toilet between four of us. When approached in the pub we were told that the owner would be down but as he did not appear we tried again and were told the whole site was off. We were advised that the hot water was not affected as it was on a different system. So we had to flush the toilet with a basin filled from the bath hot water tap. Fortunately the water did come on by the morning just like he said.
Up to that night the site had been quiet and peaceful but that night in the two next lodges we had an all male group who were quite loud and partying. We think they were workers as they all left in two cars the next morning. One of the cars had logos for a fencing company.

We did not eat in the Barn this time. It was very busy.

The lodges can be owned if you want to buy them and they will let them out for you. The wood on the outside of the lodges is getting rough so some would appear to be being re-clad and getting fitted with new windows.

The electricity is metered and you pay 10p a unit. Because we were out most of the time we hardly used any in fact only 8 units. On the morning of our departure we went to pay up and were met by a gentleman who now appears to have been the owner. He looked at our chit with the 8 units and said that will be £8 please. We asked him to look again and he revised his sum to 80p.
In his reply to our review the owner states ' in fact I took your money the following morning which came to 80 pence again I apologise if you think 80 pence is unreasonable.'
The review website states that you should avoid the use of sarcasm.
In the same parting conversation we commented that at least the water was on to which the reply was 'well that's what happens if you live in the country'
We townsfolk are so soft. Sorry should not be sarcastic. But if you had a medical problem it could be tricky to not have a flushing loo.

When asked if we recommend this to others we said No. But don't let that put you off you might have a wonderful holiday like many of the other reviewers. Oban can be lovely in the weather and the surrounding area with islands and the highlands are lovely.That's why we go there a lot.
Incidentally we had already booked another lodge in the Oban area for the rest of our stay same price but superior as everything worked with no extras.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 208Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
2.9 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,806 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
6.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
155 reviews
2.9 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
1.9 mi away
Clan Cottages
Clan Cottages
#1 of 1 in Kilmore
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cologin Country Chalets and Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cologin Country Chalets and Lodges

Address: Lerags Glen | Kilbride, Oban PA34 4SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Oban
Price Range: £60 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cologin Country Chalets and Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One bedroom 'Outer Hebridean' chalets, two bedroom 'Inner Hebridean' lodges, Cologin Farmhouse and Cruachan Cottage are all nestled around the old farmstead at Cologin and the Barn Bar rustic bar and restaurant. Less than 3 miles from Oban with free fishing, way marked forest walks, play park and duck pond, this family owned and run self catering complex has been welcoming guests for over 35 years with many families having enjoyed holidays here for several generations. Pets are welcome and kids can be kids with plenty of space to explore and play. The lodges and chalets are all well equipped for 3 star standard, the farmhouse and Cruachan are 4 star and all properties are well maintained and decorated annually! We are not offering luxury - we are not that sort of place and never will be. You may find duck poo outside your chalet door and we don't have street lighting (great views of starry skies!) or Tarmac roads so don't come and stay if you want city style. What we do offer is good value, family friendly accommodation in a great location with easy access to Oban and a great pub and restaurant on site. You will sleep well (we are quiet and tranquil) and you will return home relaxed and refreshed. We look forward to welcoming you to Cologin. We don't feature regularly on review sites because most of our customers are return guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cologin Country Chalets and Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cologin Country Chalets And Lodges Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing