We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very dog friendly”

Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse
Ranked #2 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Set in a stunning location near Gylen Castle on the Isle of Kerrera, the Tea Garden and Bunkhouse is the perfect place to enjoy a nice cup of tea! We are now open 7 days a week from April to September and the menu includes delicious homemade cakes, soups, chutnies and breads with daily specials. Regular ferries depart from Gallanach Road, 1.5M south of Oban. Once on the island, you have a great opportunity to explore the natural, unspoilt beauty of Kerrera. The walk to us takes about 45mins if you choose the route on the left, about 2hrs on the western route, with fabulous views out to Mull and Lismore. Should you wish to stay longer (and we believe you will!), The Bunkhouse has beds for 7 people. During the summer, we are delighted to offer our lovely new 4m Bell Tent for hire, complete with woodburning stove and double bed, perfect for couples. Our cosy Byre is also available for evening hire, with comfy sofas and large dining table, great for group getaways. Martin and Aideen Shields, will be delighted to welcome you to their wee slice of paradise! Please don't hesitate to get in touch with any enquiries. It's much appreciated if large groups (7 or more) visiting the Tea Garden call in advance to ensure we bake plenty of cake, bread and scones, thanks!
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“very dog friendly”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Lovely place to stop for a refuel as we walked around the island. Picture perfect, great service and must recommend in particular the lemon drizzle cake. Friendly and very welcoming to both us and the dogs.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank morag36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We're happy to hear you had a good experience here on Kerrera- thanks so much for your review!
All the best,
Aideen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    27
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“awesome home baked cakes!!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Awesome home baked cakes, just like I always dream of finding in scotland. Very attentive, and unhurried service perfect when sitting enjoying the sun. Table was dried off for us when we arrived and then the sun came out. Will recommend to people, and definitely visit again. Next time though have sussed it out and the key is lunch when you first arrive, and then coffee and cake after the short walk down to explore the castle!! ( We had brought a packed lunch to the island, epic error!!) The lunches passing us on the way out of the kitchen looked great and smelled amazing. Excellent place, a real hidden gem. We'll be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbglasgow1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Manager at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks so much for your great review! (Especially the cake comments- I thrive on them!)
I hope everyone takes your advice- come for lunch AND tea and cake, it's all good!

We hope to welcome you back sometime.
Thanks again,
Aideen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely garden and great food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stopped for a sandwich after cycling round the island then stayed for coffee and cakes. Everything was very tasty and the setting is wonderfully quaint. There are several interesting books that you can have a flick through whilst sitting back too. Highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sean_O_Shetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! You should see the garden now- it's properly come into bloom!
We hope to see you here again.
Best regards,
Aideen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great pitstop on Kerrera”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Lovely little café on the Gylen Castle circuit walk. Tasty food and treats, and excellant service from very friendly staff!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Millymeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks for your kind words! Makes us very happy!
All the best,
Aideen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great wee refueling stop! (Celiac friendly)”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The tea garden is situated about one third of the way around our walk. It's so quaint - it looks freshly painted the garden is full of tables and benches.. it has a lovely buzzing atmosphere and the garden is well kept and interesting looking.

Being a celiac, I emailed ahead to check there was something I could eat so I didn't need to take a packed lunch to Kererra (I was surprised and delighted to hear back that I would be able to eat there!). When I arrived they remembered my email and we had stovies with a massive and delicious salad instead of bread. (Being a bit of a salad snob I was delighted to see it was full of olives and colour and taste and crunch - none of this boring wilting leaves malarky!)

The staff were fast to serve, the food arrived promptly and the drinks were lovely and cold as it was a scorching hot day. The staff also filled our water bottles for us with no quibbles at all. Our stop was really relaxing and hit the spot.. thank you!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SophieNam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review- we were happy to be able to cater for you! We always do our best to help our customers. We hope to welcome you back someday!
All the best,
Aideen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing