We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location for lunch”

Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse
Ranked #2 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Set in a stunning location near Gylen Castle on the Isle of Kerrera, the Tea Garden and Bunkhouse is the perfect place to enjoy a nice cup of tea! We are now open 7 days a week from April to September and the menu includes delicious homemade cakes, soups, chutnies and breads with daily specials. Regular ferries depart from Gallanach Road, 1.5M south of Oban. Once on the island, you have a great opportunity to explore the natural, unspoilt beauty of Kerrera. The walk to us takes about 45mins if you choose the route on the left, about 2hrs on the western route, with fabulous views out to Mull and Lismore. Should you wish to stay longer (and we believe you will!), The Bunkhouse has beds for 7 people. During the summer, we are delighted to offer our lovely new 4m Bell Tent for hire, complete with woodburning stove and double bed, perfect for couples. Our cosy Byre is also available for evening hire, with comfy sofas and large dining table, great for group getaways. Martin and Aideen Shields, will be delighted to welcome you to their wee slice of paradise! Please don't hesitate to get in touch with any enquiries. It's much appreciated if large groups (7 or more) visiting the Tea Garden call in advance to ensure we bake plenty of cake, bread and scones, thanks!
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We were very happy to stop in the heavy rain and to be welcomed in to the dry byre with wonderful views. The fresh wild flowers, mush mash of seating and china, was all lovely. The food was wholesome, well presented and delicious. All in all delightful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CatielouM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Your review is also delightful! Thanks for your kind words!
Hopefully the sun is out for you the next time :)
All the best,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

After walking round the beautiful island I was well ready for a nice drink and cake. The cakes all homemade were great. I loved the lemon drizzle. It was nice to suit outside and yes it is dog friendly

Thank leedsutdskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thanks for your kind review!
Hope to see you again sometime.
All the best,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Lovely place to stop for a refuel as we walked around the island. Picture perfect, great service and must recommend in particular the lemon drizzle cake. Friendly and very welcoming to both us and the dogs.

Thank morag36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We're happy to hear you had a good experience here on Kerrera- thanks so much for your review!
All the best,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Awesome home baked cakes, just like I always dream of finding in scotland. Very attentive, and unhurried service perfect when sitting enjoying the sun. Table was dried off for us when we arrived and then the sun came out. Will recommend to people, and definitely visit again. Next time though have sussed it out and the key is lunch when you first arrive, and then coffee and cake after the short walk down to explore the castle!! ( We had brought a packed lunch to the island, epic error!!) The lunches passing us on the way out of the kitchen looked great and smelled amazing. Excellent place, a real hidden gem. We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mbglasgow1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Manager at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thanks so much for your great review! (Especially the cake comments- I thrive on them!)
I hope everyone takes your advice- come for lunch AND tea and cake, it's all good!

We hope to welcome you back sometime.
Thanks again,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stopped for a sandwich after cycling round the island then stayed for coffee and cakes. Everything was very tasty and the setting is wonderfully quaint. There are several interesting books that you can have a flick through whilst sitting back too. Highly recommended!

Thank Sean_O_Shetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! You should see the garden now- it's properly come into bloom!
We hope to see you here again.
Best regards,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing