We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis at the end”

Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse
Ranked #10 of 96 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Set in a stunning location near Gylen Castle on the Isle of Kerrera, the Tea Garden and Bunkhouse is the perfect place to enjoy a nice cup of tea! We are now open 7 days a week from April to September and the menu includes delicious homemade cakes, soups, chutnies and breads with daily specials. Regular ferries depart from Gallanach Road, 1.5M south of Oban. Once on the island, you have a great opportunity to explore the natural, unspoilt beauty of Kerrera. The walk to us takes about 45mins if you choose the route on the left, about 2hrs on the western route, with fabulous views out to Mull and Lismore. Should you wish to stay longer (and we believe you will!), The Bunkhouse has beds for 7 people. During the summer, we are delighted to offer our lovely new 4m Bell Tent for hire, complete with woodburning stove and double bed, perfect for couples. Our cosy Byre is also available for evening hire, with comfy sofas and large dining table, great for group getaways. Martin and Aideen Shields, will be delighted to welcome you to their wee slice of paradise! Please don't hesitate to get in touch with any enquiries. It's much appreciated if large groups (7 or more) visiting the Tea Garden call in advance to ensure we bake plenty of cake, bread and scones, thanks!
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After a hot and unplanned ill prepared walk around the Isle (dont ask!) we got to this Oasis.

The food and drinks are exquisite. The apple, lime and mint drink would refresh the driest of mouths and is delicious.

The food is plentiful, well presented and delicious in every way.

Check out the cakes!!!!

Everything is home made and the owners are very friendly and offer great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hi Keith,

Thanks so much for your lovely review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience here and are thrilled that you thought the" food is plentiful, well presented and delicious in every way". That's music to our ears!

We really appreciate your comments and hope you come back to visit again someday.
Thanks again!
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We came across Kerrera Tea Garden whilst walking the Southern route of Kerrera Island and what a little gem it is too. We thoroughly enjoyed the cheese platter, whilst keeping dry and warm in the cosy byre. Great, friendly service. We couldn't recommend it more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Featherstone2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thanks a million for your kind words! It's a pleasure for us to hear that you appreciated the service and enjoyed your visit- I hope you can come back to see us again sometime.
Best regards,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a wonderful old fashioned tea room serving a good range of home made sandwiches, cakes, and hot and cold drinks. The carrot cake and apple refresher are definitely to be recommended.

Thank MarquisJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thanks a million for your lovely review! Especially mentioning the carrot cake which is my own recipe :)
We really appreciate your kind words and recommendation. I hope you can come back soon!
All the best,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a delightful tearoom, in a beautiful, peaceful spot. Our sandwiches were delicious, coming with an excellent 'wee' salad (pretty substantial). Friendly service. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Many thanks for your kind review! We're delighted that you thought the sandwiches were delicious- we take pride in our homemade bread and indeed our 'wee' salads! We appreciate your recommendation.
Hope you can stop by again soon!
All the best,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very quaint, excellent customer service. A welcome cup of tea after a 3 mile walk. Unusual rest room facilities. In a remote location on the Isle of Kerrera. Fabulous views. Nice little tea rooms. Good choice of refreshments.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jacquie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I have to agree most people when they find us are ready for refreshment! We're delighted that you enjoyed yours and appreciate your comment about our customer service.
Hope you can come back again sometime!
All the best,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing