We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare treat”

Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse
Ranked #2 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Set in a stunning location near Gylen Castle on the Isle of Kerrera, the Tea Garden and Bunkhouse is the perfect place to enjoy a nice cup of tea! We are now open 7 days a week from April to September and the menu includes delicious homemade cakes, soups, chutnies and breads with daily specials. Regular ferries depart from Gallanach Road, 1.5M south of Oban. Once on the island, you have a great opportunity to explore the natural, unspoilt beauty of Kerrera. The walk to us takes about 45mins if you choose the route on the left, about 2hrs on the western route, with fabulous views out to Mull and Lismore. Should you wish to stay longer (and we believe you will!), The Bunkhouse has beds for 7 people. During the summer, we are delighted to offer our lovely new 4m Bell Tent for hire, complete with woodburning stove and double bed, perfect for couples. Our cosy Byre is also available for evening hire, with comfy sofas and large dining table, great for group getaways. Martin and Aideen Shields, will be delighted to welcome you to their wee slice of paradise! Please don't hesitate to get in touch with any enquiries. It's much appreciated if large groups (7 or more) visiting the Tea Garden call in advance to ensure we bake plenty of cake, bread and scones, thanks!
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A wonderful and unusual little cafe, about as far off the beaten track as it gets!
We have visited about 4 or 5 times over the years and it never fails to delight; the garden is lovely, the byre is cosy (on the rare occasion that the sun doesn't shine!), the folk are friendly and the food is delicious. Don't go expecting an extensive menu or fancy fine dining - the fare is good and simple, fresh and tasty and you have the perfect excuse to eat lots of their lovely homemade cake after walking all that way!
The Tea Garden is a rare treat at the end of a walk around a beautiful and interesting island - this is the sort of place that you want to tell everyone about, but also want to keep secret.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LadyUkulele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Great to hear that you keep coming back! We're delighted that you think the cafe is "wonderful" and I hope you continue to visit over the coming years.

Thanks so much for your kinds words, we really appreciate it.
All the best,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

What a lovely little place, perfect stop after walking around the lovely island. Quaint and cute, and the home made cakes are delicious! Friendly welcoming staff, great service. We loved it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 71sapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

thanks a million for your kind words- we're delighted you loved it here!
Please come back again soon!
All the best,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

6 weeks work on a small Scottish island may sound like some peoples idea of hell, however myself and 3 other Geology students geared up and settled on Kerrera as our location of study and immediately booked into the Bunkhouse for our whole stay.
This proved to be the best decision we could have possibly made. The bunkhouse itself was perfect; no other way to describe it. It had everything we needed and nothing wasn't thought of. When the days were wet the bunkhouse was warm and toasty and when the sun came out the doors were open and we spent much of the time in the Tea Garden or on the outside benches lapping up the sun.
Martin and Aideen were incredibly hospitable and we couldn't of asked for anything better; their staff were also just as kind and polite. They were always a pleasure to chat to and Martin made a great driver helping us with our bags from the ferry or if we had made a big trip into Oban to restock the fridge and cupboards. As students being away from everything is always hard (especially as it was during the football world cup) but as there was Wifi access in the Tea Garden we found this not to be a problem and Martin even brought out the TV into the garden for the final which was one of the most surreal evenings; Being in one of the most remote beautiful locations tuning-in to catch the football.
Our 6 weeks spent on Kerrera was fantastic. The weather was perfect, the island was perfect and the Bunkhouse was well...perfect. We couldn't of asked for anything more; and we managed to get all our work done as well which was the cherry on the cake.
We all could not recommend visiting Kerrera highly enough and staying at the Bunkhouse is a must; its location is unrivalled and you are a stones throw from some of the most stunning views we have seen, and being geology students we have seen a lot!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Jh4rty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Well- it was a pleasure to have you guys here! Thanks SO much for your excellent review, we really appreciate it. Im so glad that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay! Also good to know that with your trained geology eyes, you think this place is as stunning as we do :)

Thanks again and the very best of luck with the rest of your studies!
Take care,
Aideen and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After a hot and unplanned ill prepared walk around the Isle (dont ask!) we got to this Oasis.

The food and drinks are exquisite. The apple, lime and mint drink would refresh the driest of mouths and is delicious.

The food is plentiful, well presented and delicious in every way.

Check out the cakes!!!!

Everything is home made and the owners are very friendly and offer great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hi Keith,

Thanks so much for your lovely review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience here and are thrilled that you thought the" food is plentiful, well presented and delicious in every way". That's music to our ears!

We really appreciate your comments and hope you come back to visit again someday.
Thanks again!
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We came across Kerrera Tea Garden whilst walking the Southern route of Kerrera Island and what a little gem it is too. We thoroughly enjoyed the cheese platter, whilst keeping dry and warm in the cosy byre. Great, friendly service. We couldn't recommend it more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Featherstone2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aideen G, Owner at Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thanks a million for your kind words! It's a pleasure for us to hear that you appreciated the service and enjoyed your visit- I hope you can come back to see us again sometime.
Best regards,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing