We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why not”

Skipinnish Ceilidh House
Ranked #1 of 2 Concerts & Shows in Oban
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Skipinnish Ceilidh House in Oban not only offers live Scottish music shows throughout the summer, but is also a club night venue on Saturday nights and throughout the winter for locals and visitors to the area. Visit our Facebook page to see the up-to-date listings of what is on - Skipinnish Ceilidh House.
Reviewed 31 October 2011

It is a touristy type of setting but the kids who put on the show are talented. It would be better in a real pub setting.

Thank Fallschirmjager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipinnish C, Social Media Assistant at Skipinnish Ceilidh House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Thank you for your recent review of the Skipinnish Ceilidh House, Oban. We do our best to ensure we have some of the best up and coming musicians performing in our shows and are glad to hear that you enjoyed the effort our team went to this summer to ensure our audience had a great time. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

If you want a taste of traditional Scottish dancing, music and folk song then this is the place to come. My 7 year old daughter and I had great fun taking to the floor for "The Flying Scotsman". The music, with Bagpipers, and floor show with Sword Dance and other traditional dances was just the right length of time for the children to enjoy and the evening entertainment was just right for foriegn tourists and families to enjoy. Drinks were priced very reasonably, the atmosphere was as it should be for a show like this, the staff were friendly and they gave a discount on the entrance fee which meant our 4 year old son got in for free. He loved it too.

The only disappointment was that they don't do food which meant we had to eat beforehand at the restaurant below the venue. A slightly rushed meal, but this was the only downside.

As I say, if you want a taster of what traditional Scottish entertainment is, this is where to come, and as a folk and country dance goer myself, it is genuinely as authentic as you would find anywhere. I was impressed.

Thank teddybearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipinnish C, Social Media Assistant at Skipinnish Ceilidh House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Thank you for your review of Skipinnish Ceilidh House and it is great to hear that your enjoyed your Skipinnish experience. We have a good relationship with many of the local restaurants nearby and are glad to hear that they were able to accommodate you and your family. Thank you again for your lovely review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Energetic young very good piper, dancer, fiddler, squeeze boxers, key board players. Two hour performance headed by a very good female vocalist singing in Gaelic occasionally as well as English. Rare to find such great traditional music in towns. Fringe Festival in Edinburgh has some wonderful performers. Entrance is modest, drinks are available at decent prices. The audience joined in several dances with enthusiasm. Go and enjoy the evening.

Thank HEC140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipinnish C, Social Media Assistant at Skipinnish Ceilidh House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you for your complimentary review of Skipinnish Ceilidh House, Oban. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our performance, not just the performers but the Skipinnish experience. We hope to see you back in Scotland in the future and hopefully you will stop by and visit us. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Never have I been in such a shabby and run down establishment, What a complete let down and embarrassment for Oban.

From the outset I should have known it was going to be bad. Had to walk past two very unhappy and rude security staff, already shouting at people on the street who had clearly done nothing wrong. £5 door fee to get in.. are you having a laugh?!? If anything the public should be payed to attend.

The entry fee is a farse, the drinks are ridiculously overpriced, all the staff are in dire need of customer service training. No ventilation lets the premises get VERY hot, much hotter than any other bars or clubs I have ever visited.

After talking to some locals it appears that it has been the same since it opened and the only reason it survives is because there is no alternative.

I stayed in Oban for a week and have to say this was the only let down of my whole trip.

2  Thank bigalmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipinnish C, Social Media Assistant at Skipinnish Ceilidh House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you for your review of our Skipinnish Ceilidh House, Oban. We take all comments, positive or negative on board, and ensure they are dealt with accordingly. We strive to ensure our customers have an enjoyable experience however we acknowledge that you have not on this occasion. We are constantly trying to improve our offerings, customer service and overall Skipinnish experience and we hope you will come back in the future to see how this has developed. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

When visiting Oban, one is often left with little do do in the evening beyond drinking. Skipinnish is perfect. It displays the talents of young Scottish musicians, many of them specialists in their instruments at local music colleges.

Most nights of the week during the summer season they have a show. It features pipers, singers, dancers, fiddlers and many other aspects of traditional cultural arts. It will be appreciated by natives and visitors alike. For the locals there is some good ceilidh dancing for you to join in with which is great fun, where as many a timid english visitor might just watch.

There is a bar, so you can try some of the local brews and malts in good company.

6  Thank alias_Ned_Flanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skipinnish Ceilidh House also viewed

 

Been to Skipinnish Ceilidh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing