We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”
Review of Kings Knoll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Knoll Hotel
Ranked #43 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2012

A wonderful stay, large bay window over the bay. It was our 50th wedding aniversay, we spent our honeymoon in Oban, so we came all the way back from Australia to share again the wonderful area. Breakfast great bacon and eggs tastes so good in UK. Clean and crisp nothing to complain. Good to walk down to the town.

Room Tip: Over looking the bay, see the sun set and ferries returning from the islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 360Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsknoll, Owner at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay,we are happy you had a good time.
Hopefully you willl return ti Oban some ady.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed one night in no22 big open bay window which looks down onto Oban bay, great view. Clean and warm room with a nice sized bathroom also clean. Had breakfast in the hotel again in a nice room with good views. Breakfast was really tasty and plenty of it. Staff friendly and helpful. Would definately stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for 22 the view is really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milly1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Kings knoll is an journey between elegance and the 1970.
The Robins are in the main building and an Anex built in to the main building.
My Rooney was an odyssé in to Capet.
Thick and red. That makes à problem when the sink is outside the shower and the capet allwys sunk wet.
Nice bed, i like when the bed is made all in sheets.
Breakfast à kittel poor on extras but you have the chanse to order egg and bacon plate. With the chanse for the hungry to order the full scottish.
Overall: nice wiev, easy to finde just next to the main road from Glasgow.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FWStaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Me and my friends spend one night in Kings Knoll Hotel in oban. The weather that night was terrible,we go out for a supper,and returned to the hotel very late,although the location of it is a little bit far from the citycentre or the seaside,but the facilities and furnishing in it was fantastic,very comfortable and delicate. Give me a feeling like home.I have a great sleep there and a remarkble breakfast,may be I will go there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yujia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom h, Owner at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay.
However it is a bit odd that the previous reviewer ,had such a different opinion of exactly the same room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently for 1 night and were extremely disappointed. We had paid extra and booked a Deluxe room but on arrival found ourselves looking directly into the hotel's car park! Not at all what was advertised on the hotel's web siite where it states that "All rooms are en suite, with views of Oban Bay, or long panoramic views of town, with comprehensive facilities". On querying the category of our room we were told that the hotel had only recently been reviewed and that the room was a 'deluxe' category - there was not even a shelf in the bathroom to place your toiletries on nor cups to use when brushing your teeth!
When we asked to speak to the manager and asked if we could change rooms we were told that "...if we didn't like it we could leave..."!
The hotel rate was exclusive of breakfast and given this is rather expensive, we opted to leave in the morning and breakfast elsewhere.
We have never received such poor service and will definitely not be returning nor recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulmaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom h, Owner at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

A s demonstarted to the client clearly, the room that was allocated was the one which had been booked,a twin deluxe,the double deluxe rooms have the views over Oban bay ,and part of the view from teh twin room also has trees,and Victorain villas.
In common with other hotels in the town not all rooms have sea views,
No request was made to speak to the manager,and this is the first occasion where I felt the need to intervene on behalf of the receptiuonist due to the rude manner in which she was being spoken to,and this was why an offer was made to find alternative accomodation.
Fair critiscism will be listened to and remedied where possible,a rude and abusive ,manner will not.
Had a clear requesty for a move to a sea view room been made then an effort would have been made to accomoadte this,instead a long and never ending series of petty compalints with no substance at all to them , were made over a period of several hours,which served no purpose other than to deny service to the other satisfied customesr that evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

After leaving Edinburgh, the first stop on our tour was Oban. We found Kings Knoll to be just acceptable. The room was clean, but not particularly nicely appointed. The bed was extremely lumpy. The breakfast was fine, but nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regnadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

i stayed at this lovely place for 3nights from the 27th till 30th july, the lady who cheched us in was always smiling , even though we were early , she booked us in , very fast booking in time , very friendly, oh and i apologise, im not great with names haha, room was as described, plenty space, had a wonderful sleep, and was kept clean every day, the owner was also very friendly and if any problems arise , then he would deal with them if asked , my other halk could not get the tv to work, but when we told this to the member of staff it was fixed on our return, the other half couldnt work it properly, so dont think it was tv at fault, location great, less than a 5min stroll into town , i was totally happy with my stay and will return again when i visit oban, many thanks to all the staff at the kings knoll.

Room Tip: theres a room to suit all tastes and budgets, book early to get exactly what you want,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.4 mi away
Rowantree Hotel
Rowantree Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
998 reviews
0.8 mi away
High Cliff Guest House
0.2 mi away
Strathnaver Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Knoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Knoll Hotel

Address: Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £93 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Knoll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All bedrooms are en-suite with open panoramic views of either the town, or Oban bay, Offering a subtle blend of both traditional and modern comfort, large bedrooms are available with, king size beds. Big comfortable chairs and all the nice useful extras expected from this type of hotel. Kings Knoll is among a few establishments that have their own , off street , private parking. Locally brewed ales, west coast malt whisky, and bar meals are served in our traditional bar.Splendid multi-choice, breakfasts are available, something for everyone. Superior and high quality standard rooms are all on offer-prices to suit every body's budget. We use local suppliers and produce as much as possible, understanding the, growing interest in eating locally grown produceEarly and, late season deals available. Wi- Fi service installed. Large free private, off street ,parking for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kings Knoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Knoll Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing