We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty poor!”
Review of Kings Knoll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Knoll Hotel
Ranked #44 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The room was grubby and dusty. The menu was fried or fried food. The communal areas were clean enough but overall it was very over priced for the standard offered. Yes they accept dogs but that is no excuse.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foodies55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsknoll, Owner at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts.
I'm sure you would have been asked ,during your stay ,if everything was satisfactory, if you had issues the time to raise then is surely when on site.?
This review seems almost at a polar opposite with all the recent reviews here and elsewhere.
Personally I have never fried a curry yet, nor has anyone else ,to the best of my knowledge neither is the pasta , nacho's or Panini's deep fried,
If you had wanted something cheaper that Is available in town, I notice from other reviews contributed that over 50% are negative ,this is the first luke warm review out of the last 13 mmmm.
Again had you raised any issues during your stay ,they would have been remedied promptly, however some prefer to leave and drip poison from a far , hiding behind an akias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband on the first leg of our first tour of Scotland. By the end of the tour Kings Knoll was top of our hotel list for everything! Location excellent, only a few minutes walk to the town and promenade. Room was lovely, spacious and clean, with a fantastic view over the bay. Staff were nice and friendly. Breakfast excellent. If we visit Oban again Kings Knoll will definitely be our 1st choice for an excellent value, comfortable, friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed at the kings knoll hotel with a young lady i was supporting. Staff were very friendly and always interested in how our day had been. Rooms were clean and had everything you would need. The hotel is a short walk away from the centre which is great because its nice and quiet at night. For breakfast there is lots on offer and again staff are keen to accomodate. Would deffinately reccomend this hotel!!.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louimartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Easy to find but on a hill so parking is a bit awkward. The staff were friendly and helpful. A big thank you to Kat who looked after us so well. She pointed us in the direction of somewhere for lunch but as the Scottish Cup (major football event) was on, everywhere was packed so it was a quick bite to eat then back to the peace and quiet of the hotel. Our room was basic and overlooked most of the town. Whoever cleans the rooms needs more training; they forgot the wardrobe. It had a full set of mens clothes left behind... including the undies! Argh!!! Not a surprise you want to find. The bathroom was hilarious and not in a good way. You could almost do yourself an injury trying to turn around in it. A bit grungy around the edges but nothing we hadn't got used to by then from a lot of the B&B's we'd stayed at. The meals were average but filling. Ok for an overnight stop. Try not to be scared of carpets, wallpaper and bedspreads that have been there since the 70s or done by a designer with no colour experience. The same problem was in a lot of places we stayed at. At 60+ pounds a night, they all need to pull their proverbial socks up.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Excellent staff, great location, superb value for money, breakfast included in the very reasonable price. Easy to find, walking distance from all Oban amenities, would definitely stay here again. Perhaps not for the night owl, as the bar closes quite early, but with comfy rooms and impeccable cleanliness, an early night before exploring the area is perhaps not a bad thing.

Room Tip: If you're stuck in Oban without a room, call into any of the better looking B&b's, even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrewcrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend in the summer. It was our first holiday together so we were both hoping that the trip would run smoothly. The staff were lovely especially Kevin the manager. We were spoilt for choice with food at breakfast and the whole atmosphere was very relaxed and chilled out. Our room was small but nice enough and always spotless. The location of the hotel itself is good as its a 5/10 minute walk into Oban. The only downside is that as the hotel is on a hill, parking is a little tricky. i thought it was slightly too expensive However many hotels in Oban go up in price during the summer season. But I would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Friendly and efficient staff. Pleasant room overlooking some nice neighbor gardens. Food was satisfactory. Parking a bit congested. Room was nice, bed was comfortable, bathroom had nice shelves but shower stall appeared badly mildewed around top of shower pan.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank ShirleyAR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
Rowantree Hotel
Rowantree Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,077 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strathnaver Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Knoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Knoll Hotel

Address: Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £92 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Knoll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All bedrooms are en-suite with open panoramic views of either the town, or Oban bay, Offering a subtle blend of both traditional and modern comfort, large bedrooms are available with, king size beds. Big comfortable chairs and all the nice useful extras expected from this type of hotel. Kings Knoll is among a few establishments that have their own , off street , private parking. Locally brewed ales, west coast malt whisky, and bar meals are served in our traditional bar.Splendid multi-choice, breakfasts are available, something for everyone. Superior and high quality standard rooms are all on offer-prices to suit every body's budget. We use local suppliers and produce as much as possible, understanding the, growing interest in eating locally grown produceEarly and, late season deals available. Wi- Fi service installed. Large free private, off street ,parking for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kings Knoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Knoll Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing