We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome. Great views and great staff”
Review of Kings Knoll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Knoll Hotel
Ranked #43 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Impressive location on a hill overlooking Oban harbour. A good 5 minute walk into town and an easy 10 minute walk back, but use the back roads. We stayed there for 5 nights and loved every minute. While the hotel could use some updating the rooms we had were bright and clean with great views. The staff too were very helpful and responded quickly to your requests. If you enjoy a hearty Scottish breakfast then you wont be disappointed here! Wi-Fi may not be available in some of the rooms but coverage was good in the lounge. A good value for money hotel and In our view Kings Knoll is "the place to be seen".

Room Tip: Book early and request the "harbour view room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We went to Oban for one night on the spur of the moment and this was one of the few hotels with rooms on a Saturday night.
It is in a reasonable location but on a hill - only 10 minutes walk to the town though so not too bad.
The room was very small but clean.
The bar area was nice although we didn't use it.
The breakfast was not good, the fried food appeared to have been deep fried and was swimming in fat. Luckily I had poached eggs which were fine.
All in all an ok hotel for one night but wouldn't stay for a longer period unless I had a bigger room.

Room Tip: I don't know about the rooms in the main part but in the extension they appear to be small. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MrsBrightside23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A major accident on the road to Oban stopped all traffic in and out of town for 7 1/2 hours. Being stuck on the road just two miles from the hotel was frustrating. We had made reservations at one of Oban's fine seafood restaurants, but when it was apparent that we were not going to make it for dinner, we asked Tom, the proprietor of King's Knoll Hotel, to call the restaurant and explain why we would not be there, which he did. We finally arrived at the hotel late at night, weary and hungry. Another couple who had also been held up in traffic arrived right after us. Although the kitchen had been closed, Tom offered to open it up specifically for us and prepared a most welcome supper for us. His help and graciousness were deeply appreciated by both couples. We were staying for just one night as we were catching an early ferry the next day. While our room was a bit worn, it provided all we needed, and in truth, being a bit worn was part of the charm of this hotel. Breakfast the next morning was first-rate served by a very friendly staff. But it was Tom, himself, who was the real hero of our stay.

Room Tip: The parking lot is small and spaces are tight. Arrive early to claim your space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Kings Knoll is about halfway up the hill on the road out of town. It was a bit too far for me and my wife to walk into town, but if you were in a reasonable state of fitness it would be no problem. A hint on parking in Oban: the ferry terminal is right next to the train station, where you may park for GBP3 all day, or part thereof. There is no better place to park in Oban, especially if you are doing the three-islands tour. You must do the three islands tour, by the way, it is worth way more than GBP60.

Back to the Kings Knoll - its position on the side of a hill leading out on Oban gave our room, 22, a superb vista across the bay of Oban, taking in the ferry terminal, the sweep of the bay and the hills behind it, together with the older part of the town below. I sat in our bay window in the evening, watching the colours change as the sun crept slowly to the horizon. Beautiful.

The room itself was very good, a large comfortable bed, a spacious room, a clean and well-appointed bathroom. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but the cooked breakfasts were very good, keeping us going to well after 3pm, which is about when you get to Iona on the three islands tour and can have a decent lunch.

Room Tip: room 22 faces west on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewCheevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights midweek. The welcome was warm and friendly but not overpowering. We had room 7 which was small with a very small bathroom, but it was adequate. The room and bathroom were very dated and could do with some TLC, ( a new shower curtain would be good) but it was clean with hot water and tea and coffee tray. The wi if did not work in the room, only in the bar which was not a very strong signal. I liked the fact the bar area was a comfortable place to sit during the day to read. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were very pleasant. I would stay here again but ask for a more modern room. I have knocked one star off for the shower curtain and the toilet seat that wouldn't stay up!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DaphneYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived early evening following a 6 hour motorcycle ride in torrential rain. The owner welcomed us and suggested we might like to get comfortable before completing the check in. This was an excellent idea as were all longing for a hot shower. The food was good and good value. The hotel has a great location on the main road into town and has fantastic views across the bay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here with my small dog for 4 nights and we had a nice time. The location is great - just up the road from the seafront but not too close to the noisy restaurants and bars. The room was a good size & was comfortable. Personally, I wouldn't recommend the food but this didn't matter too much as there are plenty of places to eat nearby. Tom was very welcoming and the staff were all very friendly to my dog - he even received a sausage for breakfast each morning! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alinandempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
Rowantree Hotel
Rowantree Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,078 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strathnaver Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Knoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Knoll Hotel

Address: Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £93 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Knoll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All bedrooms are en-suite with open panoramic views of either the town, or Oban bay, Offering a subtle blend of both traditional and modern comfort, large bedrooms are available with, king size beds. Big comfortable chairs and all the nice useful extras expected from this type of hotel. Kings Knoll is among a few establishments that have their own , off street , private parking. Locally brewed ales, west coast malt whisky, and bar meals are served in our traditional bar.Splendid multi-choice, breakfasts are available, something for everyone. Superior and high quality standard rooms are all on offer-prices to suit every body's budget. We use local suppliers and produce as much as possible, understanding the, growing interest in eating locally grown produceEarly and, late season deals available. Wi- Fi service installed. Large free private, off street ,parking for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kings Knoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Knoll Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing