We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dungallan Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dungallan Country House
Ranked #45 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magnificent Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here in July and was allocated a room on the second floor with a wonderful picture window overlooking the bay and Island of Mull. I think of all the hotels that we have stayed in this one has to have the most wonderful views. Three sides of the hotel have views of the sea or harbour. Lovely lounge with well stocked bar (especially if you like malt whisky).
The hotel is spotless and the hosts and staff very obliging. The decor is a little dated but this can be forgiven because the hotel certainly has style.

Room Tip: Second floor room has wonderful views, but so do most others I would guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuttleworth_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    20
    12
    12
    5
See reviews for
15
98
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

On the way back from the Islands stopped here for an overnight stay and a visit to the local distillery. Had every luxury could imagine. I note the other reviews on the site seem to date from 2007 and comment on great food. They didn't do food when we were there, but directed us to a very close by restaurant which was suitably delicious. After our meal out we couldn't resist stopping in the bar, and the owner was super friendly helping my husband to choose a whisky to enjoy. We were quite out of season and seemed to be the only people there.

Its a pretty steep walk up the hill if you are coming from the station or the boats. Then again, I think we are a quite unusual 'back packers'.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MopsyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

I've been to over 40 countries and rate this as a superb place: a delightful combination of a country house and military museum with stunning views and outstanding food, wine and service due to a labour of love by owners Marion & Mike, who couldn't do enough for us!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalRover365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

The ever gracious and generous hosts, Mike and Marion, set the the tone of this beautiful country House. Serene views, quality fixtures and fittings and the attention to detail well deserve the five star rating awarded to this establishment. Mike may well imbue you with a love of Scotch if you are so inclined. One slight quibble: be beware of the ferocious temperatue control for the shower located in the "newlyweds room".

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gretagarbo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

I and Several International Business Colleagues enjoyed the outstanding hospitality of Michael and Marion. The Dungallan Country House is comfortable and quite functional for the business traveler, recently installed wifi throughout with high speed internet and so picturesque. I travel the world and have not enjoyed hospitality, comfort and efficiency such as this. Made all of our daily business meetings so much more effective. Thank you Michael and Marion. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3sidney3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Wonderful welcome,lovely views,luxurious surroundings--what more could anyone want?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

Dungallen has a great location with terrific views over Oban Bay and the island of Kerrara. Rooms are comfortable and a lot of effort has obviously been put into creating very pleasant public rooms. There is a lovely little bar with a good stock of malt whiskies and we found Mike to be very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was good. This is billed a 5 star guest house and the rates are not cheap but this is really . But Dungallen is really a smalland pleasant hotel which would be ahppy to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwfr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
6.1 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
1.9 mi away
Alltavona Guest House
5.5 mi away
Ards House
Ards House
#4 of 9 in Connel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dungallan Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dungallan Country House

Property: Dungallan Country House
Address: Gallanach Road, Oban PA34 4PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dungallan Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dungallan Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dungallan Country House Hotel Oban
Dungallan Country House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing