We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dungallan Country House
Ranked #57 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Michael and Marion made the start of our Sctland trip a joy. They assisted with helpful tips. Suggested great dining venues and produced wonderful breakfasts. The rooms were just lovely with attention to detail. It was also worth having a room with a view over the water. The sunsets were magnificent.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank kyamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

I've never written a review on TA before but feel compelled to do so after a wonderful stay at Dungallen. Michael and Marion completely made our stay. Friendly, accomodating and wonderful company in the bar on our two nights there. It felt like a home away from home. Nothing was too much trouble, the rooms and views were stunning and the breakfast fantastic. They even asked the Chef to come in half an hour early for us on one morning as we had to be in Fort William very early to catch the Jacobite Steam Railway. I am constantly agrrieved by the lacklustre customer service I recieve in hotels, resturant and shops, delivered by surly and apathetic staff: Dungallen should be studied as an example of how it should be done.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Unfortunatley our favourite hotel in Oban, The Monor House had a fire the day before we were due to stay, so instead we tried the Dungallon. There is clearly no comparison with the Manor House which is in a class of its own but Dungallon certainly served our needs. The room was far smaller than our usual at Manor House, but the views were amazing. The bathroom appears to have been "carved" out of an original much larger room and had only a bath. The food was very good at breakfast although the tables were very close to each other. The price is fairly steep for a B & B but this had clearly previously been a hotel so had far more public rooms than comventional B & Bs.
The room we had was a corner room with views in 2 directions but it was small but as we had the last availble room it was probably not their best. We needed to stay only 2 nights but on a longer stay draw and wardrobe space would have been a problem as it was fairly limited.

Room Tip: corner room with views - aim for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Beautifully located on the edge of Oban with stunning views over the sea from both our room and the garden. Our room was large with a sitting area and bathroom and separate shower. . Tea, coffee, water and biscuits are supplied. The standard of comfort and cleanliness was extremely high and everything supplied was of excellent quality. The house is beautiful with quiet room and breakfast room. Oban is a ten minute walk through the ferry terminal but you need to be reasonably fit on your return as there is a steep but short climb up to the house, worth it just for the views. Breakfast is superb, cooked to order and with plenty of choice. It's at the top end of the B&B price range but it is no ordinary B&B, and I felt it was good value. Highly recommended for a peaceful and comfortable break. Mike and Marion could not have been more helpful. Nothing too much trouble. We will be back soon

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHeriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Beautifully located on the edge of Oban with stunning views over the sea from both our room and the garden. Our room was large with lovely sash windows, sitting area and bathroom. Tea coffee and biscuits are supplied. The bed was supremely comfortable and everything supplied was of excellent quality. The house is beautiful with an honesty bar, quiet room and breakfast room. Oban is a ten minute walk through the ferry terminal but you need to be reasonably fit on your return as there is a steepish but short climb up to the house. Breakfast is superb, cooked to order and with plenty of choice. It's at the top end of the B&B price range but it is no ordinary B&B, more like a hotel that has given up its restaurant, and I felt it was good value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bencarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This old grant house is just outside Oban city center and has a stunning view over the bay of Oban. The room was tiny, the bathroom very basic and the (hot) water more drizzling then running.
Wifi did only work in the bar area. They have a pretty garden, but that is not the mean reason I stay in hotels / B&B. Breakfast was just average. On a whole for about 190 GBP it is to expensive and you will probably find better places for less in Oban. Owners are very friendly and helpful and there is ample parking place on the premises.
You need a car to go to Oban center to find a restaurant or have dinner in one of the two restaurants close by.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a nice sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mareku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We came here on our honeymoon as a base for Mull and the other islands but fell in love with Oban and Dungallan too. It was just so peaceful and relaxing. We were given a great room with its own window seat, seating area and an amazing view, the breakfast kept us going all day and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly owners. The accomodation was superb in an old fashioned Scottish guest house way and couldn't be faulted for comfort, character and cleanliness. Mike even ran us down to the station in his own car when we checked out. It was a struggle to leave and our stay at Dungallan made this special holiday even more special. It's a short walk to the ferry and the town but far enough away to be very quiet. Highly recommended for a peaceful and comfortable break in this lovely town. Planning a return trip as soon as we can! Kate & Mike

Room Tip: We had Room 11 at the top of the house - views to die for, decorated in a shabby chic style (could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bay Great Western Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alltavona Guest House
0.7 mi away
Strathnaver Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dungallan Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dungallan Country House

Address: Gallanach Road, Oban PA34 4PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £77 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dungallan Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Dungallan Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dungallan Country House Hotel Oban
Dungallan Country House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing