We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dungallan Country House
Ranked #58 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Excellent hotel with stunning sea views. Within easy walking distance of the town we found some top class restaurants recommended by our hosts. The room was well appointed with a really comfortable bed and window seat with panoramic views. There was an extensive choice at breakfast which was plentiful and freshly prepared. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners who made us feel most welcome. The price is at the top end of the scale but you get what you pay for and the Dungallan experience is definitely worth the money! Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are accessed by steep stairs so it would be sensible to let the owners know if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Called in for a drink with friends for the second time in 12 months, views are exceptional. Owners appear to be completely bonkers!!!!! Difficult to understand a bar with just bottled Spitfire as the only beer and Miller "cold or room temp" as the alternative. Very strange. Glad to get outside and look at the view, and didn't bother with another drink as the potential for engaging with the owners was too much. Save yourself the trouble and go to the Manor House at the bottom of the hill.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
12  Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Set high on a hill with a panoramic view of the Sound of Kerrera & Oban Harbour stands the beautiful and tastefully designed 5 Star Dungallan Country House. The ground floor rooms are beautifully furnished, the bedrooms are comfortable & spacious, we had stunning views from two bedroom windows. There's ample parking, and the house is surrounded by immaculate manicured lawns, and gardens, which also have fabulous views of Kerra, the bay & Oban, there isn't a better viewing point and you won't want to leave. Great place, excellent hosts & first rate breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If you think you want a really nice treat then I thoroughly recommend you take yourself off to this Guest House! We have been to Oban many times over the last 30 odd years, always choosing a hotel in the main drag. This was a last minute decision and all the usual suspects were full due to a conference. I came across their website, which looked stunning. To be honest price was a bit at the high end to what we would normally pay.... but we decided to book, and using an online offer site got a good deal.
On arrival the steep hill the hotel came into view. A stunning Victoria imposing building. The car park opened up to a wonderful panoramic view of Oban Bay and the far of isles....wonderful. We stood wand watched for a while as yachts & ferries busied themselves.

We entered the imposing building to enter a wonderful & tastefully decorated hall way. We were warmly greeted by the lady of the house, and shown our room.... again a room with an even more stunning view!!!! Lovely big bath.... big bed and views. All you want from a room. On arriving back from a curry in town later that night we settled down to the cosy 'whiskey' lounge!
A great night sleep, a lovely bright day and a tasty full breakfast!
All in all a really nice night and stay! Do 'treat' yourself!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had room 8!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Lovely hotel, very clean and tastefully decorated. Im assuming the 5 stars is as a result of the decor, antiques, crystal glassware and silver cutlery which is all lovely, however our room was freezing even with the radiator up full and the shower cubicle was extremely small and the water pressure poor. View from the hotel across the bay is stunning. I felt it was a bit overpriced.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Beaches118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

From the moment we checked in the owners (who are very hands on) couldn't do enough for us (and not just ourselves - they were equally helpful with all guests). Really excellent hosting.

There is a very nice bar/lounge that is open pretty much all day for drinks and they have a gargantuan range of whisky's. Free wifi available.

Rooms are really akin to what you'd find in a decent 4* hotel and the view is stunning; looking directly out to sea.

Brekkie was top quality with the added treat of haggis being served - we really couldn't fault this place.

The hotel is a 10 minute stroll into town. Plenty of parking available.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if there are any sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ITTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night, which was a shame as this was just fabulous. We were cheerfully greeted by Marion on arrival and shown to our room, which had a magnificent view over the bay. Although a little small, it was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Marion was able to recommend a local fish restaurant for dinner - she even made the reservation and booked the taxi for us. We decided on a drink in the bar before we left for dinner and again when we got back and Mike proved to be the perfect host in a most wonderful room. In the morning, breakfast was served in a lovely room, which was beautifully laid out. The food was amble and cooked well. Although a little pricey, Dungallon is a wonderful place to stay and nothing was too much trouble for Mike and Marion. We would most definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LutonHatter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
High Cliff Guest House
0.8 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dungallan Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dungallan Country House

Address: Gallanach Road, Oban PA34 4PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £77 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dungallan Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dungallan Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dungallan Country House Hotel Oban
Dungallan Country House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing