We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“linda your the best *******”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Great Western Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 21 July 2012

just returned from a weeks coach holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay , okay the hotel is a little frayed around the edges so what , the staff in the dining room could not have done more for you - absolutely brilliant bar staff superb and linda on reception what more can i say ! food is plain but well presented and plentiful no complaints. we were in room 306 brilliant views . we would certainly stay here again. the wee thai waiter om is superb .

Room Tip: get a sea view room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanHughes, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

The staff have seen your review and they are over the moon with your comments. Thank you very much for giving them a special mention.
Regards, Sean Hughes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
There are newer reviews for Bay Great Western Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

It is true that this hotel needs refurbishing regarding the exterior and lounge and dining room.However, there are some real positives for the hotel where we stayed this week for 7 nights. The staff were extremely helpful and positive in every way.The breakfasts and packed lunches were great and evening meals could be variable depending on what you chose.Salads were always good.Entertainments were enjoyable as singers and the Scottish piper were amusing and aimed to give people a good time.The hotel has a superb position overlooking the harbour and is ideal for strolling along the promenade and for shopping in Oban itself and for catching the ferries to the islands which is a must.I did not hear many complaints from the coachloads of travellers other than the dated decor and one or two meals. We would visit again as the staff were so helpful even to the point of bringing us a salad and cheese and biscuits when we returned from Staffa too late for the evening meal.If you can get a seaview room so much the better as our rear facing room was rather dark.Plenty of hot water though for a full bath after along day out in the open.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms make the most of the superb position on the harbour.Enjoy the entertainments in the e...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanHughes, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

It's great that you had a good time at the hotel and a special thank you for mentioning how helpful the staff are as all they want to do is please. I'm glad that you were looked after when you returned late. We would love to have a little money spent on our public areas as this would be more comfortable for the guest who did not want to venture out. Yes, you are right about the superb position overlooking the harbour and the Entertainment team appreciate your kind comments.
Regards, Sean Hughes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

First impression of the hotel was not good as the front door was needing a coat of paint but it got worse, unrepaired water damage on walls and ceilings throughout the hotel. We had arrived at lunchtime and were told that the room would not be ready until 3 pm – fair enough. We went for lunch and came back about 2 pm and enquired if the room was ready yet and told no, wait in the lounge until 3pm. At 3pm the lounge was filled with people waiting on their rooms and suddenly all the rooms were available. Most hotels give out rooms early if they are ready.
The room had squeaky floorboards and ancient 1950s furniture and no main light in the room. On the 2nd day of our 3 night stay our room had still not been cleaned by 3pm and when the maid did come she said ' Do you want you room cleaned'. There were no table covers on the dining room tables and the food was in keeping with the rest of the hotel – terrible.
We have been to most of the Shearings Self Drive hotels in Scotland and are usually quite happy with them but this one is the worst one we have been to.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Marco288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

arrived at reception, paid in advance with cash, no reciept or imfo re breakfast or where bar/lounge were, tatty room harking back to the 70s, smoke detector cable clipped to wall, must be a danger? windows filthy and needing a paint, decor and room furniture old, hot water was just warm water, shower connected to taos and couldnt find temperature, i didnt even bother with breakfast as i didntt like the hotel one bit and def wont be back, wish id booked somewhere else as there were cheaper and dearer, not a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 159joiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

A Shearings Bay group Hotel. We paid for a sea front view and must say the view was excellent - looked out towards the harbour and across the sea to the near-by islands.. Bedroom in good, clean condition, with comfortable beds, tea and coffee making and TV. Bathroom also very clean. Everything in working order.

No complaints except when the people next door accidentally thought our room was theirs and tried to unlock it - their key worked in our lock and when they told us,we tried and our key unlocked their door also. Reported it Wednesday - nothing happened Thursday - we were promised it would be looked at when we had both checked out on Friday. Hope it was! Good job we felt we could trust our neighbours.

We were on half board and the food was was very good, with several choices and the waiting staff were up to standard. The dining room walls could do with a re-decorate though. They have two or three public lounges with TV, and one of the rooms with a bar plus a concert room with bar downstairs for evening entertainment.

Parking was a bit difficult. We were told that 14 were pre-booked and paid for when the rooms were booked.. We tried to book parking advance but all those spaces were already reserved. They have another 14 or so on a first-come-first-served basis, for which there is no charge and there is a public car park a couple of minutes away where you pay by day but not between 6pm and 9am. We got a space in the hotel car park when we arrived and then went everywhere by foot - no hardship as it was only a short walk both to the harbour area and to the main shopping area.

All in all, a very pleasant stay and excellent value for what we paid.

Room Tip: Sea View worth paying extra for.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanHughes, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

It's great that you enjoyed the fantasic views on offer and that you found your room clean. Yes we did change the locks to the rooms after. Im also pleased that you enjoyed the food and that you felt you had value for money.

Regards, Sean Hughes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The people who work here are lovely and make you feel welcome but the building is very tired. If you are just looking for a bed then this place is functional but it feels like nothing has really changed here since the early eighties. The breakfast was disappointing by comparison to other places we had stayed on our trip. It's a big place and the food is obviously mass produced but like other people have mentioned the orange juice was very watery.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanHughes, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for your constructive review. The staff are very happy that you have mentioned that they made you feel welcome. Yes we do prepare alot of food for the 140 guests we accommodate and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the breakfast and we are looking at the orange juice we buy.

Regards, Sean Hughes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is our third year of enjoying great value weekend breaks at the great western. Friendly staff always helpfull. I would advise paying the small charge for a seaview room, they are bright and airy with a fabulous view, always clean with fresh towels daily if needed. The dining room is large and well laid out, with a varied menu, excellent meals and service. needless to say we will be back later in the year

Room Tip: top floor as floorboards are a bit creaky
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

I wanted to say thank you for your kind words. I am very happy you have enjoyed your stay and even more happy to hear that it is not your first time staying with us, and hopefully not the last.
I shall pass your kind comments to our staff.
And hope to see you soon again in our Great Western Hotel.
Regards,
Sean Hughes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
985 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Great Western Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £88 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a prime location, right in the centre of the curving esplanade, just a pleasant walk from the shops and harbour, stands Oban's Great Western; a hotel proud of offering space and comfort, as well as magnificent views of the bay (remember to look out for those memorable sunsets!). Ideal for a relaxing holiday, the activity on the bay can simply be watched from the welcoming lounge and cocktail bar, while it's also an ideal touring centre. With Glencoe, serene lochs and the Western Isles on the doorstep, there's a myriad of sightseeing opportunities. And with coast and country walks, angling, sailing, diving, bird-watching and a whole host of other leisure pursuits at hand, you should never be at a loss for something to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Oban
Great Western Hotel Oban
Hotel Great Western
Bay Great Western Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing