We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Great Western Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$321
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$209
US$181
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ranald Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$203
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Muthu Alexandra Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$273
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
200
332
140
50
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
332
140
50
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational holidaysshearings holidaysea viewpremier roomself driveentertainment every nightthe dining room staffcoach triphalf boardgreat holidaybar pricesplenty of hot watereach eveningsea frontlong journeyan upgradebuffet breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
634 - 639 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

ONLY on the basis that they had space and we wanted to extend what was a wonderful holiday, taking in Mull, Iona, Staffa and elsewhere.
Surely it had improved greatly, after a few years of criticism from so many people?
Erm, try NO!

Sadly the manager is the same person, which straight away is bad news for prospective stayers.
The lift is no better, the rooms no better and the value for money is still appalling.
Food was average, not bad, but if anything, the staff to customer ratio is even worse than it was last time.

If this hotel was not owned by a coach firm it would have closed years ago, in bankruptcy.

Location is scenic, if noisy, but as for the rest...FORGET IT!

Do not take my word for it, read all the reviews with 1 and 2 stars for yourself.
Shearings should get their backsides in gear with this hotel and replace the manager as a starting point.
SO unhelpful as to me astonishing.

LIKED----THE SEA VIEW---FOOD QUITE NICE

DISLIKED---VALUE FOR MONEY---STAFF---MANAGER---ROOMS---LIFT---CUSTOMER SERVICE---ATTITUDE---PRICES---FOOD WAITING TIMES

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Traveller3333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We have just returned from a 7 night stay traveling with Shearings.
On arrival we was greeted by linda the receptionist and check in was very straight forward, organised and efficient. we arrived a little late for our evening meal the staff stayed on to accomodate us for our party which was very nice of them.The menu always had a great choice from 4 meals including a vegetarian option the farmhouse cheese tartlets were wonderfully flavoured.Breakfast was also good with choices and we always asked for extra toast and the staff were always happy to oblige never miserable and always helpful.
We choose not to upgrade to a sea view room instead opted for a standard room, we stayed in room 228 which was allocated on the second floor at the of the side of the hotel, the room was lovely and bright and airy on an evening we had lovely views of a distant sunset.
The room was lovely and warm and comfortable we had twin beds and a shower over the bath and masses of pipping hot water,which was a god send when we returned from a busy day with lots of walking to relax in a nice hot bubble bath, feels so good on those aching joints.
Our room was serviced every day and we where provided with tea and coffee every day.
There is a lift in the hotel a little small 4 people at a time although there are steps up into the hotel or about 4 or 5 steps down into the basement which is served by the lift.
The staff in this hotel are the best we have ever had the priviledge to have meet on a uk holiday they are first class and nothing it to much trouble for them the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome every member of staff from housekeeping to front desk work hard and give first class customer service with the personal touch as every guest is important to them they are a great team of people.
I had an accident on our last day and on returning to the hotel developed problems the receptionist linda took us up to the hospital in her personal car for which we were very greatful as I was unwell.
The trips from shearings were all very good.
Just a little tip if you go to mull and ionia trip take a flask as drinks can be a little on the pricey side, and the little Spar shop on ionia do a wonderful home made apple pie the best we have ever tasted and is full of apples we brought one to have a bit with our flask.
Try the open top bus tour exellent value ask at reception at the hotel have £1 off vouchers so concessions with £1 off are £5 each other £7 each with £1 off very good value for money 21/2 hour tour with stop
We are going to be going back to this hotel for sure for the wonderful welcome and hopitalitythis hotel is certainly the best.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pitmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanHughes, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Thank you, we will always try our best to accomodate our guests and it's good to hear that you enjoyed the food. If you ever get to see the sunset across the bay it is an amazing view as you mentioned. The staff like the comments you made and yes they will do there upmost for everyone. It's nice that you enjoyed the trips as I do many times as they never become tiring. We look forward to seeing you again and I just might go and get one of them apple pies.
Regards, Sean Hughes, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

just returned from a weeks coach holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay , okay the hotel is a little frayed around the edges so what , the staff in the dining room could not have done more for you - absolutely brilliant bar staff superb and linda on reception what more can i say ! food is plain but well presented and plentiful no complaints. we were in room 306 brilliant views . we would certainly stay here again. the wee thai waiter om is superb .

Room Tip: get a sea view room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanHughes, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

The staff have seen your review and they are over the moon with your comments. Thank you very much for giving them a special mention.
Regards, Sean Hughes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

It is true that this hotel needs refurbishing regarding the exterior and lounge and dining room.However, there are some real positives for the hotel where we stayed this week for 7 nights. The staff were extremely helpful and positive in every way.The breakfasts and packed lunches were great and evening meals could be variable depending on what you chose.Salads were always good.Entertainments were enjoyable as singers and the Scottish piper were amusing and aimed to give people a good time.The hotel has a superb position overlooking the harbour and is ideal for strolling along the promenade and for shopping in Oban itself and for catching the ferries to the islands which is a must.I did not hear many complaints from the coachloads of travellers other than the dated decor and one or two meals. We would visit again as the staff were so helpful even to the point of bringing us a salad and cheese and biscuits when we returned from Staffa too late for the evening meal.If you can get a seaview room so much the better as our rear facing room was rather dark.Plenty of hot water though for a full bath after along day out in the open.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms make the most of the superb position on the harbour.Enjoy the entertainments in the eveing from 8.30 p.m. ish.Have a packed lunch.They are good value and excellent
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanHughes, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

It's great that you had a good time at the hotel and a special thank you for mentioning how helpful the staff are as all they want to do is please. I'm glad that you were looked after when you returned late. We would love to have a little money spent on our public areas as this would be more comfortable for the guest who did not want to venture out. Yes, you are right about the superb position overlooking the harbour and the Entertainment team appreciate your kind comments.
Regards, Sean Hughes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

First impression of the hotel was not good as the front door was needing a coat of paint but it got worse, unrepaired water damage on walls and ceilings throughout the hotel. We had arrived at lunchtime and were told that the room would not be ready until 3 pm – fair enough. We went for lunch and came back about 2 pm and enquired if the room was ready yet and told no, wait in the lounge until 3pm. At 3pm the lounge was filled with people waiting on their rooms and suddenly all the rooms were available. Most hotels give out rooms early if they are ready.
The room had squeaky floorboards and ancient 1950s furniture and no main light in the room. On the 2nd day of our 3 night stay our room had still not been cleaned by 3pm and when the maid did come she said ' Do you want you room cleaned'. There were no table covers on the dining room tables and the food was in keeping with the rest of the hotel – terrible.
We have been to most of the Shearings Self Drive hotels in Scotland and are usually quite happy with them but this one is the worst one we have been to.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Marco288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews