We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Great Western Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nites.Very disappointed with everything from the start.We were charged ten pounds parking put in a room in the basement with an electric wallheater mo shower in bathroom you had to use plastic jug of you needed your hair washed think I wad a kid last time I did that.Most disappointed in food also,not enough.Doubt if I would return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beez60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Dear beez60,

It is always disapointing to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We have been charging for car parking for nearly a year now and only appologise if this was not communicated to you prior to arrival. As with many hotels, not all our rooms have showers. We always try our best to allocate rooms with showers when requested. If you found that the meal sizes were not adequate for you, we would of rectified this if requested. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on here.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2013

Quite the most appalling place a lovely town like Oban could accomodate.
Like the review from Leicester very recently, my review is simple. Rubbish in every department!
The manager is incredibly rude and uncaring. He needs re-training asap.
The rooms are pokey and dirty.
The building is tatty.
The food is cheap and nasty.
Friendly staff? Well maybe, but nothing special, i have seen much better this year already and it's only February.
Just DO NOT BOTHER.
We saw elderly coach holiday people treated like dirt and sadly many just went away upset as they felt intimidated. But we are not easily put off and the management know exactly what we thought of the place.
I have reported it to the authorities for health and safety issues also, as it is so dirty and tatty and the lift is so old and cranky.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Liveonelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Just returned from a 3 night weekend break on bed+ breakfast basis.Booked through "late rooms "I think it is great value for money, we only paid £87 for 2 people and the room was lovely, spacious,warm and cleaned daily to a very good standard.The breakfasts were excellent and served timeously without any need to rush off as soon as finished.Entertainment good on 2 out of 3 nights but lager a wee bit overpriced at £3.40 a pint,better value at pubs either side of hotel,"MARKY DAN'S"£2.75+"COASTERS"£3.10. We will definately return,probably in warmer times,to this well run and friendly hotel,where ALL staff deserve a big pat on the back for their genuine,friendly welcome.GTC

Room Tip: room 115 is lovely but i would not pay extra for " a sea view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Dear gtc2010,

Well, what else can I say other than thank you for your excellent review of our hotel. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will most certainly pass on your kind comments to the hotel staff and give them a 'pat on the back'. We look forward to seeing you again, but when you return please make sure you bring that 'warmer weather' with you!! Thank again

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

average holidays with shearings. room was ok apart from alarm clock not working which was not really a problem as i had my moblie phone with me. room clean. meals were of average standing.the thing i like about this hotel the entainment was in another romm away from the bar.4 free drinks every day so i had 4 pints of carling every night.a bargain with coach travel from my home town for 4 nights at £149

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Dear forestwood,

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the drinks vouchers and that you appreated the great value for money they represent! Although I am sorry to hear that you felt your holiday experience with us was just average. Recently we have changed many things with the aim to exceed guests expectations and have a great holiday holiday with us. We hope that you return to us again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Hotel in beautiful position overlooking the bay. It is in need of a refurbishment as the rooms were a little shabby. The meals were very nice especially the Saturday night Gala Dinner. Sunday night entertainment was good. Staff very helpful. Weather typical for time of year snow which delayed our arrival heavy rain on return journey but good value for the price. Have stayed here on a previous occasion (and most Shearings hotels over the last 12 years ) Would stay here again. Believe a refurbishment is imminent so it would be interesting to see the result.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are available for a small supplement. Living next to the sea at home it didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Dear Kenhat,

It is great to see that you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the team, who always appreciate kind comments as it reflects their hard work. You are correct that refurbishment is imminent, and should be starting very soon. Our designers are currently finalising plans and the sneek preview I have seen should certainly impress you when you visit us again. Until then, I thank you for taking your time to post your kind review on here.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

great weekend had by all rooms very nice food very nice lovely place all staff nice bar man steven was great will be going back defo thanks to national holidays dont under stand y people have wrote bad reviews you get what you pay for loved every minute of it views of the lock are lush
gala dinner was very nice loads to do in the town just 5mins walk

Room Tip: room 14 nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steven r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Dear steven r,

Its great to see that you enjoyed your weekend with us. I will pass on your comments to Stephen. Thank you for taking your time to respond and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

we have just returned from a short break only one free trip and one night of free drinks 4 but the food was boiled to death when we arrived 7pm we had a quick wash and down for the evening meal we wanted the beef stew sorry none left we had pork wanted apple pie for pudding sorry all gone the room was freezing but they did give us a 2nd heater the next morning after breakfast the only lift broke down we were on the 3rd floor with very bad lungs nightmare fixed about 2 in the afternoon all the main shops in oban were shut on sunday so cant buy anything or go anywhere longest day ever set off monday 7.15 back to leeds for 4.30 the hotel is on the sea front but thats its only saving grace

Room Tip: the local ferry goes to mull its £7.50 return but dont get off just go for the run over and back as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeannie4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Dean Jeannie4me,

Thank you for your post. Whats included in our breaks are clearly advertised, and the majority of our guests do comment on how much 'value for money' our breaks are. I do acknowledge your comments regarding your arrival meal, and have passed these over to the kitchen team. I am pleased that you managed to enjoy the wonderful sea views we get, we really are lucky to have such a great location. Once again thank you for posting your comments on here.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,840 reviews
0.3 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,092 reviews
4.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Great Western Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £58 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a prime location, right in the centre of the curving esplanade, just a pleasant walk from the shops and harbour, stands Oban's Great Western; a hotel proud of offering space and comfort, as well as magnificent views of the bay (remember to look out for those memorable sunsets!). Ideal for a relaxing holiday, the activity on the bay can simply be watched from the welcoming lounge and cocktail bar, while it's also an ideal touring centre. With Glencoe, serene lochs and the Western Isles on the doorstep, there's a myriad of sightseeing opportunities. And with coast and country walks, angling, sailing, diving, bird-watching and a whole host of other leisure pursuits at hand, you should never be at a loss for something to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Oban
Great Western Hotel Oban
Hotel Great Western
Bay Great Western Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing