We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Break with National”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Great Western Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The hotel is well positioned and was very clean. The food was excellant with great choices for each evening meal. The room was very comfortable and warm. The staff are efficient and polite and my stay was very enjoyable. I look forward to visiting again. Our coach driver Lee was great. I don't know how National Holidays do it for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dobby33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Dobby33,

Its great to see that you enjoyed your break with us. I do agree that the hotel is positioned in such a great location being so close to the town centre. Also the views we get from the hotel are amazing. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just returned from a fiveday holiday with National.Everything was good.The Driver Marcus was excellant,very friendly and helpfull.The Hotel was also very good.The food and the service brilliant.I dont know what people find to grumble at especially for the price.

Room Tip: Pay the extra charge and get a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EnglandFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thank you EnglandFrances for taking the time to post your kind review on here. I am really pleased you enjoyed your break with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The hotel is in great position for the town which is lovely.
The hotel not so good ,it was clean and warm and plenty of hot water.
The food not good and usually cold and veg was not eatable ,we used to eat out at lunch time so we could just leave dinner and only pick at bits that were edible .
The staff were very good ,for the price we paid it was not bad value,but don't expect too much .!!!

Shearings staff were very good and can't fault them,in all a good 5day break and would do another
one .The vouchers they give for drinks are good value ,I would recommend Shearings to my friends just not 4 or 5 star.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucygemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Just returned from a 5 day break. I must say that after reading some of the reviews I was worried about going to this hotel, however I was pleasantly surprised.
Yes the hotel in places requires attention, however you get what you pay for, my room 224 was warm and comfy, all staff very friendly and helpful.
George our driver has a wealth of knowledge about the area.
All in all an enjoyable, relaxing break and yes I would return.

Room Tip: 224 was a nice room, however no sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

i recently stayed at the hotel on a 5days shearings break the hotel needs updating but overall comfortable clean and tidy. food was good choice too so would recommend this hotel .I had a sea view third floor with spectacular views over the bay overall enjoyable trip. one problem there were not enough seats to watch entertainment on an evening . Service was excellent very friendly staff overall.

Room Tip: choose a room with seaview if you have the chance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thank you Tracy B for your kind review. I am pleased you found your break to be great value, and that you found our hotel comfortable, clean and tidy. I have noted your comments regarding the seating in the lounge. We do have additional seats available and if needed we do add them into the lounge so as many people as possible can enjoy the entertainment. Its great to see that you found the service excellent and I will pass on your comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Excellent value for money holiday from Shearings. The hotel was clean and warm with plenty of good quality food. The staff were excellent, very polite and friendly.entertainment every night was very good,singer singer/comedian and scottish duo. The driver Goerge was excellent ,with his local knowledge he made the journey to Scotland and the trips very interesting.We were given room 28 overlooking the bay, a very clean modern room with flat screen tv .This was a superior room but we only paid the standard rate.The only down point was the squeeky floor boards, but the hotel is over 100 years old

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Kenneth F,

Thank you for your kind review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward you returning in the near future.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 5day break with shearings at this hotel, we usually travel with national holidays but thought we would give shearings a try, well we were picked up in leeds at 8-30 am after leaving our home at 7,then driven to normanton interchange to pick up our coach for the journey to oban, I was really shocked to see so many people all standing around waiting for transport it was a little bit like a cattle market ! The journey then was ok but took much longer than I thought after 3stops at services on the way we finally arrived at the hotel around 7pm checking in was straightforward we were given the room 132 it was clean and spacious a family room , although this hotel could do with some touching up and tlc it is clean, the meals were ok,,the service was good and the staff were helpful ,we had clean towels everyday and tea tray was filled up each day, entertainment was very good and the price included 4drinks vouchers each per night this was great it included named brands and spirit and mixer only counted as 1 voucher, we had a couple of trips included that we enjoyed but one can only shop for so long ! On our day of return we had to have our cases outside our room before 6am breakfast at 6-30 am and we left at 7-15 the journey again was long and as we were sat at back of bus we were very cold most of the way we did mention to driver and he put the heating on a bit higher but then turned it down because the front of the coach was to warm ! On the whole we enjoyed the break and would stay there again but it would be better if the hotel was given a bit of a face lift.

Room Tip: The view from room 132 is not very good it overlooked a car park in between the rooftops but the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busylizzy150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,840 reviews
0.3 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,092 reviews
4.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Great Western Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £58 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a prime location, right in the centre of the curving esplanade, just a pleasant walk from the shops and harbour, stands Oban's Great Western; a hotel proud of offering space and comfort, as well as magnificent views of the bay (remember to look out for those memorable sunsets!). Ideal for a relaxing holiday, the activity on the bay can simply be watched from the welcoming lounge and cocktail bar, while it's also an ideal touring centre. With Glencoe, serene lochs and the Western Isles on the doorstep, there's a myriad of sightseeing opportunities. And with coast and country walks, angling, sailing, diving, bird-watching and a whole host of other leisure pursuits at hand, you should never be at a loss for something to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Oban
Great Western Hotel Oban
Hotel Great Western
Bay Great Western Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing