We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, right on the esplanade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Great Western Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in March with Shearings Coach holidays, we had a small attic room with ensuite facilities. Food was very good, nightly entertainment, excursions out, very warm in the lounges of an evening, hotel is a bit dated and floorboards very creaky, waitresses and waiters from Russia. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: pay extra for a superior room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

Booked a Sheerings self drive for four nights in a superior sea view room - very reasonably priced and not a lot wrong with it for the money. The room was spacious with a superb view over the harbour and warm - when the electric heater had had time to thaw it out. The bathroom had been refurbished and was modern and functional. Dinner on the first night was not good - (breaded fish - mostly coating) and one pork snichel (mostly coating). After that the food was fine - not massive portions and the vegetables lacked imagination but both breakfast and dinner were each fine thereafter. The reception, dining room and bedroom staff were faultless and a joy to be served by. The dining room, reception and foyer were very tired and in need of modernisation. Overall a lovely holiday but after my second Bay holiday will I being going on a third ????

Room Tip: Pay the extra for superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BARGEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

we would not go anywhere else in Oban but the Great Western. A friendly welcome from staff who remember you from the last visit. Good food served by friendly and efficient staff. Rooms cleaned daily and clean towels if needed. AND it will be even better next time as I hear some rooms and the dining room are getting a face lift. Saturday nights entertainment was excellent just a pity more people didnt take advantage of it. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view, the views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Travelled Citylink/Western Motors very comfortable! Had a seaview room which had plenty of storage and comfortable bed.It was clean with very good room maid (Luba). Food was good/ok and service very friendly and efficient. Entertainment was good especially Sat with James Knight - it was bad manners for some guests to walk out within 20 seconds of him starting! Bar service was again efficient and friendly. The hotel is in a great location very near town centr and ferry terminal. There is agreat wee pub just behind the hotel which has live music every Sunday afternoon - well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Sea view worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnigeeGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Just returned from a five day break with Shearings and I can honestly say that I have never been to
such a terrible hotel. The fabric of the building was extremely tatty (curtains shredded and wallpaper
peeling from the walls).The food was mostly inedible (breakfast was fair), but evening meals were
disgusting. We had a competition with the table next to us to try and guess what the vegetables were.
One elderly lady had the soup for starter one night and ended up sitting on the lavatory all night, she
told us it tasted like slime. We spoke to a lady we took to be the manageress on the first night and
asked her if this was to be the standard of food we could expect for the rest of our holiday and
she gave the impression that she could'nt care less. We never saw her again.
The driver/courier was very unapproachable and most unhelpful.There were a lot of elderly people
on our trip and he could'nt even be bothered to help them down the steps, or lift wheelchairs into
the luggage hold. Every other driver we have had has been around the hotel and you could go to them
if there was any problems, this one was never there. He dropped us off after our day trips and we
never saw him again. Also he never stopped once for us to take photographs of the beautiful scenery.
My husband helped the elderly off the bus while he just walked away. We have had many happy
holidays with Shearings in the past and can honestly say we were disgusted with the way this company
is now being run.
Hotel staff Waitress (Betty) was excellent and was embarrassed to bring us such awful food.
Barman (Dont know his name). We have never met such a misery, did not speak just plonked the
drink down on the bar.
Reception staff on the whole not too bad.
Chef's Should be ashamed to call themselves such..
We have made our feelings known to Shearings head office, and are very dissatisfied with the reply.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank roy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We booked a twin room for a cheap two night break on a bed and breakfast basis and as we had stayed there a few years before, we knew what to expect and nothing had changed since our last visit! The hotel is badly in need of a major overhaul from top to bottom. Worn out carpets, squeaking floors, chipped paintwork, dingy rooms, torn curtains, the list goes on. Having said that, if you can live with all it's faults for a few nights, it's not too bad. In it's favour, it enjoys a great location on the esplanade and the mainly Eastern European staff are very friendly and efficient. Our room was huge and had a superb outlook over Oban Bay. The bathroom was fresh and clean, bath and overbath shower, spotless towels and the beds were surprisingly comfy.Tea and coffee making facilities are included but don't plan on watching too much TV. The one in our room was a tiny old fashioned 14 inch portable with 6 channels and very dodgy reception.
The bar area has comfy seating and the large bay windows offer excellent views over the bay and harbour. Nice to sit there with a drink in the evening, watching the boats come and go.
The breakfasts were excellent as was the service. A good range of cereals, juices, porridge etc and the cooked breakfast was delicious. There is even a cooked veggie breakfast available!
We chose to eat out in the evening so I can't comment on the quality of the food but the menu on display in reception looked pretty decent and other guests we spoke to seemed pleased with it.
All in all, it's an old run down, well used coaching hotel which is always busy with incoming parties but if you want somewhere cheap to lay your head down for a couple of nights, with a good breakfast in the morning...try it! One other good point in it's favour is parking...£ 5 per day, in their private car park and thats good value as trying to find a space in Oban is nightmare!
There is live entertainment on most evenings for the coach partes so try and avoid booking a room directly over the lounge or you won't sleep till it's finished around 11pm!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lensman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Having read the many negative and some positive reviews regarding this Hotel I decided to remain 'open minded' as regards my expectations. It's the age old story 'you gets what you pay for'. The hotel was clean, warm and the staff were efficient and friendly. (Please bear in mind the staff are on minimum wage and work very hard for their pay).

Our room was fine, at the end of the day it's there to be slept in, not lived it. Yes the bathroom was dated and cold, but it did its job.

The food was as I expected, basic and nothing special. I suspect all the food is brought in prepared and simply warmed up in the restaurant, it was palatable, served quickly and efficiently. The breakfast was fine, although having sampled the porridge (when in Scotland and all that) it was not to my taste!

Most of the serving staff were of Eastern European nationality, and were eager to help/please. I agree with an earlier review and would have preferred not to have had to have shared a table with strangers but understand the limited space within the dining area and their need to have to do this

My advise to would be travellers is dont expect too much, accept what is offered, and enjoy beautiful Scotland, after all that is why you are there... If you are expecting luxury accommodation and food then be prepared to pay for it somewhere else!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, which is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DeniseT107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Great Western Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £77 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a prime location, right in the centre of the curving esplanade, just a pleasant walk from the shops and harbour, stands Oban's Great Western; a hotel proud of offering space and comfort, as well as magnificent views of the bay (remember to look out for those memorable sunsets!). Ideal for a relaxing holiday, the activity on the bay can simply be watched from the welcoming lounge and cocktail bar, while it's also an ideal touring centre. With Glencoe, serene lochs and the Western Isles on the doorstep, there's a myriad of sightseeing opportunities. And with coast and country walks, angling, sailing, diving, bird-watching and a whole host of other leisure pursuits at hand, you should never be at a loss for something to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Oban
Great Western Hotel Oban
Hotel Great Western
Bay Great Western Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing