We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shearings Coach Trip - Burns Night Gala 24th-27th January 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Great Western Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shearings Coach Trip - Burns Night Gala 24th-27th January 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Hotel Staff could not be more helpful, the rooms are clean if a little run down. The food was very good with a wide choice, especially for the price. We booked especially for Burns Night as a 50th birthday celebration but were sadly disappointed by the entertainer who didn't even dress for the occasion nor pipe the haggis in, either live or recorded. His script was not in order, he had dirty jeans on and made excuses for arriving late. The food was good which was all that can be said about the night. (The Tartan pub around the corner apparently did Robbie proud on the Sunday with a live piper)

I would defiantly go back to this hotel and to beautiful Oban but we celebrate Robbie Burns better at home!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    298
    130
    44
    49
See reviews for
79
393
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Booked this hotel through a Shearings Coach Trip, our party of four adults had two who had special requirements, one recovering from a major op and the other having chemo. Darren, Melise and Linda were all wonderful with our requirements and when we arrived we were greeted like extended family. All the staff at the hotel are genuinely helpful and have cheery personalities, the staff in dining room and kitchen work very efficiently and mealtimes are pleasant with a great menu choice at breakfast and a lovely three course evening meal with a chef special of the day. The hotel is undergoing a phase of being updated, the dining room and some bedrooms already finished and look wonderful. Having four days in Oban we enjoyed being able to use the large bar room and entertainment lounge which has great views of the bay and the boats. All in all a very enjoyable and relaxed hotel, it is the staff that make it feel like home when you arrive, even Darren the manager works the reception and is more than happy to help in any way. I will definately book again and hopefully for a longer time. All staff from Steven the barman to the dining staff and the scottish chef deserve praise for making our stay so easy and relaxed.

Room Tip: sea view supreme rooms very very comfortable and quiet. The beds are like sleeping on a cloud that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Amanda,

Thank you for such a great review and the loverly things you have said about us. It was our pleasure to look after you all and really pleased you enjoyed yourselves. We look foward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We have just arrived home after staying on a Shearings break 20th -25th Jan,I would just like to say how pleasant and hardworking all the staff are,special mention to Linda on reception who went above and beyond her role during our stay after i had a miss-hap with my knee.She couldnt have been more helpful and caring and she is a credit to your team.I would also like to say how nice the food was and there was a great choice too.
We would definately recommend this hotel to people.

Room Tip: room 115 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StaffordshireJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Julie,

Thank you very much for your kind review, I will pass on your comments to Linda. Also I will pass on your remarks to the kitchen team also.

It’s always great when reviewers will recommend the hotel to other people.
We look forward to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great value and have no complaints whatsoever. Staff very efficient always were pleasant, even though at times the hotel seemed a bit short on staff. Their speed and good humour meant that nobody seemed to notice or mind. Sitting in the table next to us was an elderly couple who were very immobile and the staff really went out of their way to look after them. Food, room, general look of hotel all first class .she a rings driver martin was really good. Altogether excellent value for money. Would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Front room would be good also second floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Keith,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel. It is always pleasing to see you enjoyed your break with us so much.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Spent a weekend (Friday/ Monday) at this Hotel accompanied by 48 others from the Seniors group within the Town. Without exception everyone thoroughly enjoyed the stay. I never heard one complaint. The Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and the service given by the dining room waiters/waitresses was a revelation. The best I have ever experienced. The menu offered a good variety of food each day with sizeable helpings.
The only comment I would make is that I found the Lounge where the evening entertainment was held was a bit on the small side resulting in a cramped situation given the number of residents staying there at the same time. In saying that the entertainment was first class. It might be worthwhile for management to re locate the evening entertainment into the diningroom.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Wilson B,
Thank you for your kind comments. I certainly remember your group that weekend and it was a pleasure to accommodate you all here at the Bay Great Western. I do recall many conversations with members of your party, who all expressed to me how much they were enjoying themselves. This certainly gives everyone at the hotel a boost when we hear this. I do acknowledge your comments regarding the entertainment, and will closely monitor this going forward.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your group back to us sometime in the future.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Our party of five stayed at this hotel for four nights. We are all agreed that this is a great value hotel booked through Shearings .The staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient and the hotel boasts a magnificent location with beautiful views. We hope to return soon. Grandadmike.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandadmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Grandadmike,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your kind comments of our hotel.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

my wife and i went on a Caledonian bus tour to this hotel for a 4 night stay. The accommodation was fine,the public rooms were very nice, the staff were friendly and helpful, the menu was limited but there was always something to suit us and the meals were quite nice, but as we didn't pay a lot for the trip it was excellent value for the money. The only negative was the bar prices which were a bit steep particularily for a dash with your spirit which was 55 pence for coke or lemonade from the tap, and £1.10 for two dashes which equated to about 2 inches on a small glass, if you wanted the glass topped up to the top it meant £2.20 0n top of the £3,75 for the spirit measure this i thought was excessive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ardrossan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear ardrossan,

Thank you very much for posting your review and I am really pleased to see you found your break to be good value for money. I will certainly look into the issue that arose with regards to the way you was charged for your mixer at the bar. We do charge 55pence for a dash however this is capped after an amount, as I do agree that £2.20 extra is excessive and I apologise if you was charged this. As you enjoyed other aspects of your stay with us, I do hope I see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Great Western Hotel

Property: Bay Great Western Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a prime location, right in the centre of the curving esplanade, just a pleasant walk from the shops and harbour, stands Oban's Great Western; a hotel proud of offering space and comfort, as well as magnificent views of the bay (remember to look out for those memorable sunsets!). Ideal for a relaxing holiday, the activity on the bay can simply be watched from the welcoming lounge and cocktail bar, while it's also an ideal touring centre. With Glencoe, serene lochs and the Western Isles on the doorstep, there's a myriad of sightseeing opportunities. And with coast and country walks, angling, sailing, diving, bird-watching and a whole host of other leisure pursuits at hand, you should never be at a loss for something to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Bay Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Oban
Great Western Hotel Oban
Hotel Great Western
Bay Great Western Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing