We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic the best all round Jan 2014.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Great Western Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Good food great location and fantastic entertainment staff well trained and organised excellent value,other hotel managers ln the UK should come here and learn this is the standards they should be aimlng for and there where 2 coaches jn the hotel plus others.Well done.

Room Tip: Gret service fantastic location good food fantastic entertainment,good value and well managed.Well d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mistyClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear mistyClyde,

WOW! Thank you very much for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your break with us and loved your comments in your review. Everything done here is very much a team effort and I will certainly ensure everyone get to see your review.
We very much hope to see you return again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Shearings five day break taken here to break up the winter blues.
We asked for a shower and a high floor room when we booked and after a long drive we arrived at the hotel to be given the keys to
the top third floor room complete with shower,and wow was it warm
just what you want on a winter break and so clean it looked as though it had not long been decorated,Well Pleased.
The evening meals and breakfasts
were a credit to the catering/kitchen staff not one complaint here,Well Pleased.
The lounge had a beautiful view of the bay with plenty of comfortable seats as did the entertainment lounge.
The staff were very friendly and cheerful a credit(again)to the manager.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone,Well Pleased .

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulantmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Paula,

Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your kind review. I will pass on your comments to the staff as they do like to hear they are doing a great job. We hope to see you again soon in the future.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Have just returned on Friday 24th Feb 14 from Oban with Shearings.I was fortunate to catch the tour coach, then direct to the hotel, which meant an early arrival at the Great Western Hotel.the coach driver Dennis was brilliant.i cannot say that of the weather,however that didn't matter as the hotel was warm, the staff very friendly,food great not to forget the nightly entertainment.The scenery was out of this world. On the whole an enjoyable break.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Gordon,

I am so pleased you had an enjoyable break with us. It is always pleasing to read such great comments, thank you very much. I will pass on kind comments to Dennis, who I know loves to receive them! Hope to see you again at the hotel at some point.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Book this hotel with National Holidays our first coach break. Well we had a great time staff very friendly . food was good with a good choice of dishes at dinner. Only gripe the dinning room was very cold. Our room was clean but a bit dated . But that is the only minor niggles Hotel is a great base for checking out the area , We spent a day on Mull a must to visit. Entertainment on the night time was good , but i must mention our Thursday night entertainment , a comic/ singer
what can i say we have not laughed this much for a along time top Guy top Act and we were not alone in saying this he was the talk of breakfast the next morning Well done to the people who booked this guy.

Room Tip: Sea View is tops
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear William,

Thank you very much and I am so pleased that your first coach holiday went so well! I will tell Des just how much you enjoyed his show, and pass on your other compliments to the staff. I am sorry of you found the dinning room cold, I will certainly look into this. I hope you now have plans to take another ‘coach’ holiday, and plan to revisit us at some time.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

went away for 4days with national holidays,what a lovely hotel all the staff were very friendly and very helpfull,our room was 303 very clean and big, had great views of the harbour could not fault the entertainment either on thursday night there was a singer/comedian called des barton he's not to be missed very good,food in hotel very good,only fault with the hotel beer/lager expensive and not very good there is a put on corner lot cheaper,apart from that had a brill time weather good for a change,we went on the 27th jan,

Room Tip: room 303 very clean and big on third floor had a shower over bath can not fault this room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Sally,

Thank you very much for such a great review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with. I am not surprised you enjoyed Des so much, he is a great entertainer and usually gets ‘top’ marks for this show. I am also pleased you enjoyed your stay in room 303. As one of our New ‘Standard Plus’ rooms, room 303 is a lovely room and does have a fantastic view. We hope to see you again sometime.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Food was great hotel could do with a face lift but no complaints great short break staff were helpful had a couple of nights on the town and had a great time shame a wether spoon pub is opened this May effect a lot of business in the local pubs

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wollywonker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear wollywonker,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Hotel Staff could not be more helpful, the rooms are clean if a little run down. The food was very good with a wide choice, especially for the price. We booked especially for Burns Night as a 50th birthday celebration but were sadly disappointed by the entertainer who didn't even dress for the occasion nor pipe the haggis in, either live or recorded. His script was not in order, he had dirty jeans on and made excuses for arriving late. The food was good which was all that can be said about the night. (The Tartan pub around the corner apparently did Robbie proud on the Sunday with a live piper)

I would defiantly go back to this hotel and to beautiful Oban but we celebrate Robbie Burns better at home!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,088 reviews
4.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Great Western Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £67 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a prime location, right in the centre of the curving esplanade, just a pleasant walk from the shops and harbour, stands Oban's Great Western; a hotel proud of offering space and comfort, as well as magnificent views of the bay (remember to look out for those memorable sunsets!). Ideal for a relaxing holiday, the activity on the bay can simply be watched from the welcoming lounge and cocktail bar, while it's also an ideal touring centre. With Glencoe, serene lochs and the Western Isles on the doorstep, there's a myriad of sightseeing opportunities. And with coast and country walks, angling, sailing, diving, bird-watching and a whole host of other leisure pursuits at hand, you should never be at a loss for something to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Oban
Great Western Hotel Oban
Hotel Great Western
Bay Great Western Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing