We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Great Western Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Aboyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“July visit”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have stayed in many hotels, but this was unfortunately one of the worst hotels that we have stayed at. We weren't made aware of the fact we had to "reserve" a car park space, but this could only be done once we arrived -at £5 per day, what a rip off. Breakfast a joke, dozens of empty tables, yet we were "assigned" a table (for 4 pax), which was apparently "our" table for breakfast each morning then another couple we placed beside us. The breakfast bar was ill stocked and dirty. We had tea/coffee making stores in our room, yet no Cups to use, no hair dryer, no toiletries apart from minuscule soap. Someone is trying to do something to better the hotel but shoddy workmanship doesn't help and static staff. It is disappointing we had to pay £89 per night for this, we could have, and should have gone to a guest house.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Linda,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your say with us. All information regarding parking is printed on your confirmation, and it appears that you missed this prior to arriving. Due to the amount of guests we have staying with us we do have to organise our restaurant seating to ensure that all guests are accommodated for comfortably, however the team is usually very good to meet any requests when they are made. We do have a complimentary range of toiletries available from reception and hair dryers are found in the dressing table. It does seem that many of things you were not happy with could be put right if you had of spoken with my reception team.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    302
    131
    45
    49
See reviews for
81
402
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I, along with our friends, had a most enjoyable stay at The Great Western commencing 13th July for 5 nights. I must admit that the first night was not the best experience, as on arriving we discovered the toilet flush was broken in our room, and our friends discovered that they had been allocated a room without a shower. However, instead of moaning about our plight, we contacted reception, and they could not have been more helpful. After immediately repairing the toilet, they reallocated us and our friends to 2 new rooms. Although they were not immediately available, they asked us not to unpack completely that first night, but leave our unpacked suitcases in our rooms and they would be transferred to our new allocated rooms whilst we were out the following day. When we returned to the Hotel from our trip the next day, and picked up our new room keys, we were pleasantly surprised to find our suitcases already in the rooms. The Hotel manager Darren was apologetic and we appreciated his, and his staffs efforts.
If you are visiting this Hotel anytime in the future, and have cause for complaint, I recommend you do not shout and scream, or jump and down. Just politely contact the staff, and if our experience is anything to go by, they will put every effort in, to resolving it.

Room Tip: We had rooms 118 and 121 with very excellent views of Oban harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronaldreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Ronald,

Thank you for you kind review. I am really pleased that we managed to sort out the problems you and that you and your friends went on to have a great holiday with us.

Maybe we will see you again in the future

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The manager of the Great Western must have a wonderful talent for selecting his staff because he has got the best, every member very pleasant and helpful to the extent that they even come and speak when they meet you outside the hotel,it' two years since we last stayed and every bit as good as before, food , accommodation excellent, would not pick out any member of staff as this would be totally unfair on all the others who do a great job, one small complaint, draught beer selection could be a lot better, otherwise keep up the good work and see you soon

Room Tip: Getr a front room best view in Europe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Donald.

Thank you for such a great review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do agree that I am very lucky to have the great staff that I do here , and will forward you kind comments to the team.

Once again thank you and hope to see you again in the near future.
Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband & I had a super 2 day break here, we just loved it, the staff are all so freindly and helpfull esp Darren the Hotel Manager, the place is spotless and warm and the food is excellent. Hope to see you all again soon. Hazel & Harry

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HAZELGRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again and look forward to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

we recently travelled to Oban on a Shearings coach tour and had an eight day stay at the Great Western Hotel. After an initial problem with our bed, we were moved to another room which was very comfortable and had a great view of the bay. We even had our own seagull visiting us each morning on the windowsill. The move was organised efficiently and quickly. the hotel is in a great position and we enjoyed our evenings in the lounge which has great views of the bay. there was great entertainment during the week and the day trips were interesting and our driver, Jimmy, was full of local information that made them all the more enjoyable. The food at the hotel was good. There were multiple choices at all meals and the portions were sufficient for us. the waiters and waitresses were quietly efficient, polite and friendly. we had booked this trip as a mystery tour and were delighted with our trip to Oban. the trip was excellent value for money and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeraO539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Vera,
Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with. I will pass on your kind comments to Jimmy. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Having read previous comments on Trip Advisor about this hotel, we were somewhat apprehensive. However we need not have been - the bedrooms, although in need of a bit of tlc met our needs and were serviced well each day. The food was very acceptable and served by pleasant and efficient staff. The four evenings of entertainment were excellent - music to suit our trips age group. Our bus driver, Kevin, went out of his way to make our tours enjoyable and show us as much as time allowed. All in all, a most enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidm1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear David,
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments. I will pass them onto the team as they always enjoy reading them. Thank you again and hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A super location with views from the lounge across Oban bay to the Isle of Mull. The hotel has been recently renovated and the old lady is looking very well indeed.
Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff, particularly in the restaraunt were friendly, attentive and efficient. The meals were good, well cooked and with plenty of choice.
All-in-all, our 4 day break represented excellent value for money. We have visited several times before and will be going again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john_ashton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear John,
Thank you for your great comments. It was good to welcome you back to the hotel, and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again. We will see you next time!
Warm Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,728 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Great Western Hotel

Property: Bay Great Western Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a prime location, right in the centre of the curving esplanade, just a pleasant walk from the shops and harbour, stands Oban's Great Western; a hotel proud of offering space and comfort, as well as magnificent views of the bay (remember to look out for those memorable sunsets!). Ideal for a relaxing holiday, the activity on the bay can simply be watched from the welcoming lounge and cocktail bar, while it's also an ideal touring centre. With Glencoe, serene lochs and the Western Isles on the doorstep, there's a myriad of sightseeing opportunities. And with coast and country walks, angling, sailing, diving, bird-watching and a whole host of other leisure pursuits at hand, you should never be at a loss for something to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Oban
Great Western Hotel Oban
Hotel Great Western
Bay Great Western Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing