We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Great Western Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$321
US$174
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$182
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$209
US$181
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muthu Alexandra Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$273
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
bedfinder
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
200
332
140
50
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
332
140
50
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational holidaysshearings holidaysea viewpremier roomself driveentertainment every nightthe dining room staffcoach triphalf boardgreat holidaybar pricesplenty of hot watereach eveningsea frontlong journeyan upgradebuffet breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned from an 8 day coach holiday to the Great Western Hotel Oban.The hotel is well located on the esplanade with great views over the bay.Our room was clean and well appointed with good facilities.The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.The food was good with enough choice to suit most people.I would recommend this hotel to reveryone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KidlingtonYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have stayed in many hotels, but this was unfortunately one of the worst hotels that we have stayed at. We weren't made aware of the fact we had to "reserve" a car park space, but this could only be done once we arrived -at £5 per day, what a rip off. Breakfast a joke, dozens of empty tables, yet we were "assigned" a table (for 4 pax), which was apparently "our" table for breakfast each morning then another couple we placed beside us. The breakfast bar was ill stocked and dirty. We had tea/coffee making stores in our room, yet no Cups to use, no hair dryer, no toiletries apart from minuscule soap. Someone is trying to do something to better the hotel but shoddy workmanship doesn't help and static staff. It is disappointing we had to pay £89 per night for this, we could have, and should have gone to a guest house.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Linda,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your say with us. All information regarding parking is printed on your confirmation, and it appears that you missed this prior to arriving. Due to the amount of guests we have staying with us we do have to organise our restaurant seating to ensure that all guests are accommodated for comfortably, however the team is usually very good to meet any requests when they are made. We do have a complimentary range of toiletries available from reception and hair dryers are found in the dressing table. It does seem that many of things you were not happy with could be put right if you had of spoken with my reception team.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I, along with our friends, had a most enjoyable stay at The Great Western commencing 13th July for 5 nights. I must admit that the first night was not the best experience, as on arriving we discovered the toilet flush was broken in our room, and our friends discovered that they had been allocated a room without a shower. However, instead of moaning about our plight, we contacted reception, and they could not have been more helpful. After immediately repairing the toilet, they reallocated us and our friends to 2 new rooms. Although they were not immediately available, they asked us not to unpack completely that first night, but leave our unpacked suitcases in our rooms and they would be transferred to our new allocated rooms whilst we were out the following day. When we returned to the Hotel from our trip the next day, and picked up our new room keys, we were pleasantly surprised to find our suitcases already in the rooms. The Hotel manager Darren was apologetic and we appreciated his, and his staffs efforts.
If you are visiting this Hotel anytime in the future, and have cause for complaint, I recommend you do not shout and scream, or jump and down. Just politely contact the staff, and if our experience is anything to go by, they will put every effort in, to resolving it.

Room Tip: We had rooms 118 and 121 with very excellent views of Oban harbour.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ronaldreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Ronald,

Thank you for you kind review. I am really pleased that we managed to sort out the problems you and that you and your friends went on to have a great holiday with us.

Maybe we will see you again in the future

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The manager of the Great Western must have a wonderful talent for selecting his staff because he has got the best, every member very pleasant and helpful to the extent that they even come and speak when they meet you outside the hotel,it' two years since we last stayed and every bit as good as before, food , accommodation excellent, would not pick out any member of staff as this would be totally unfair on all the others who do a great job, one small complaint, draught beer selection could be a lot better, otherwise keep up the good work and see you soon

Room Tip: Getr a front room best view in Europe
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Donald.

Thank you for such a great review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do agree that I am very lucky to have the great staff that I do here , and will forward you kind comments to the team.

Once again thank you and hope to see you again in the near future.
Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband & I had a super 2 day break here, we just loved it, the staff are all so freindly and helpfull esp Darren the Hotel Manager, the place is spotless and warm and the food is excellent. Hope to see you all again soon. Hazel & Harry

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Bay
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank HAZELGRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again and look forward to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews