We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manor House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$321
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$209
US$181
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ranald Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$203
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Muthu Alexandra Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$109
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
348
83
15
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
83
15
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightcourse dinnerferry terminalsmall hoteldining roomlovely hotela sea view roomfresh fruitkippersoban baycomfortable bedssmall roomthree nightslovely roomfull scottisha wonderful staywarm welcome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
406 - 411 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2007

A well-placed , beautifully decorated & well maintained property.
Staff were very friendly although some of the part-timers were a bit 'rough around the edges'.Bedroom was smallish & decor a bit fussy - however , the bed itself was exceptionally comfortable.
Public rooms were very welcoming indeed - other than the bar , which looks inviting in brochure & web-site but is in reality very austere & not a good place to spend time in. Food was excellent - & plenty of it ! Would stay here again- although quite expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travellerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

We stayed at the Manor House in order to catch the first ferry to Mull in the morning. We were very pleased with the location and the room was lovely, if a little on the small side. The bathroom was very small and a bit dated, but everything we needed was there and the view was stunning. The dinner was well cooked, but over fussy. The thing we found very odd for such a nice hotel was that the staff barely communicated with us at all except to ask for or impart information! There was absolutely no friendly small talk and it was difficult to engage them. We found this weird! The very worst thing about the Manor House, though is the piped music in the dining room. Dreadful, dreadful, dreadful. Unnecessary and unlovely. We asked for it to be turned down at breakfast, but it was still very invasive. We are looking for a regular stop in Oban as our daughter lives on Mull and, from Bristol, it is not always possible to get the last ferry. Sadly, the Manor House will not be it!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank JugglerBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2007

This establishment is certainly the jewel in Oban's crown. Located very centrally and only minutes to the town centre by foot, Manor House is perched in a small hill along side the harbour.

The house is inviting and the staff efficient and friendly.

The room is very generous, very well pointed with quality furnishings, a lovely large LCD TV with limited channels, a large shower/bath but the highlight is the bed.

It was large, and very very comfortable. The view looked onto the harbour and lovely grounds.

The breakfast was great and flexible with good Scottish choices and fresh options too.

We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigPete2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2007

Our second visit to this splendid hotel located in a superb location overlooking the sea, quiet but only a few minutes walk from the centre of Oban and the ferryport.

Stunning views from the seaview rooms and worth paying the extra.

Very good and professional service from all the staff including the manager.

Spotlessly clean bathroom with top notch toiletries and nice touches including fresh flowers, fruit & chocolates every day.

Fast free internet access in the lounge a great additional service.

Food again the high spot for both breakfast and evening meals, with best ingredients eg lobster, venison, served in a lovely restaurant with plenty of room between the tables.

The room especially the bathroom was very cramped, even in a seaview superior room and the decor and soft furnishings starting to look as if they need updating eg cheap plastic kettle in bathroom.

Despite this still a great little hotel & no doubt we will return again next year!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

We have just visited this hotel and can't rate it highly enough. Our room was very cosy with a lovely view across the bay and a very comfortable bed. The hotel decor is very tasteful with the use of strong colours in the dinning room and bar area which worked well with excellent lighting and attention to detail.

The food is excellent. A 5 course meal which left you savouring every mouthful and the best lobster dish that I have tasted in years! Breakfast was a treat with delicious kippers and the orange juice is most certainly freshly squeezed!!

We'll mostly certainly be staying here again - very soon I hope.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Celticlass11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews