We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely scottish hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A lovely scottish hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

A very pleasant and pictoresque hotel close to Oban town centre. The hotel has a wonderful view over the lake. The rooms are nicely decorated and the staff is helpful. The food is very good even though a bit slow for dinner. Breakfast was excellent. I would definitely stay here again. I would have preferred to have a duvet instead of blankets, however, the sotness of the cashmere made up for comfort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for writing. Your comments are helpful. We have considered using duvets but they can be bulky and do work with some of the bedspreads. We'll discuss it more.
Regards
Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    74
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
293
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I made a reservation since April 2013. I was staying at the hotel for 2 nights on July! I insisted I wanted 2 beds because I was travelling with my son. They even offered me an upgrade with a room having 2 twin beds and sea view. I could not believe it when I got there on July and the person in reception told me my room was given to somebody else (who has not yet arrived at the hotel) and they were offering me the largest room in the house with ONE bed. I told him I made the reservation months before and I did not want a larger room but one with 2 beds as my reservation stated. The only person in reception (though he was polite) did not have any idea of how to handle the situation. I said the room with 2 beds "was mine" since I booked it long before the persons it was given to and, besides, they were not even there and it might be that at the end they did not show up. The hotel had made a mistake giving them "my" room so they should offer them (if they appear) the largest room in the house and give me "my room". He was very nervous and every time he gave me an explanation he said something absurd. He called someone several times (I believe the manager) who told him not to give me the room and offer me, instead, a bottle of wine. I told him I could not drink wine and that a bottle was not solving the problem at all. He said he was going to make a booking in other hotel in the area with a room with 2 beds. I asked what would happen if the price in the other hotel was different. I could not believe when he said that if the price was higher they were going to pay the difference but in the case the price was lower I was not going to receive the difference back. I was so upset that I only wanted to leave this hotel and not stay here. He called several hotels. None had rooms with 2 beds. I gave him the name of a hotel that I remember looking in the internet and he said that if that hotel had a room , he knew the price was going to be higher, but that in this case they were not paying the difference!!! I could not believe that he was telling me just the opposite of what I was told 10 minutes before!!!! He told me the manager was coming to the hotel to speak to me. I told him I did not want to speak to him unless he was giving me the room with 2 beds, and he said that it was imposible to do that, so I told him I did not want to listen the same incongruencies all over again. After more than 1 hour dealing with this pathetic situation I said I was going to stay in the room they had since I knew I was not going to find any other options (it was late in the afternoon and it was high season). We unpacked and were leaving the hotel to visit Oban when the manager showed up and very rude and impolite started to tell me the same thing again. I told him I was not listening to all that nonsense twice and he made a disgusting gesture with his face and went into the hotel. When we returned that evening to the hotel, the person in reception approached my son, not me, and told him that as the other guests had not shown up we could have the room with 2 beds. We changed all our things and the next day we took an excursion the whole day. When we came back I found in the room a bottle of wine (eventhough I had told them several times I can not drink wine) and an apology letter from the manager. BUT AGAIN I could not believe the contents of the letter: he acknowledged the fact that he made a mistake with the reservation when he gave the room to someone else after I had it reserved but that he wanted to offer me the room when we were going out (which is not true!!!!!) and since I did not want to listen to him he was unable to do so. We all make mistakes and deserve a second chance if we admit the mistake and apologize for it. But this manager not only makes lots of mistakes BUT does not tell the truth, does not respect reservations, does not train the staff on how to handle these situations (he is the first needing the training himself) and does not understand that he should had given me the room I booked because it was the right thing to do, and not because very late that evening the other guests cancelled their reservations. Their worst mistake was the unethical manner in which they handled their errors.


makes lots ofl mistakes BUT

Room Tip: The room was rather small but the bathroom was tiny, tiny (very uncomfortable) and had a very stron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lucazino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
We cannot apologize enough for your bad experience at the Manor House. Clearly we were wrong in not giving you the room change we had confirmed in your email but had not adjusted in our booking system and thus assigned to someone else. We understand how this would spoil your entire stay. Your holiday time is invaluable. A mistake like this is unacceptable and we wish we could correct it. – Margaret and Les Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterlee, Co. Durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Wow... loved everything about this hotel , it's in a perfect location just a short stroll away to the ferry and shops ... room was small but cosy and comfortable we had a ground floor room (one) with a sea view.... all staff were friendly, polite and very welcoming...
The food in the restaurant was 100% first class !!!!!
A charming and delightful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Great! Thank you for taking the time to write. We hope you join us again
Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just back from a week long trip around the north and north west of Scotland and spent 3 nights in Oban at the Manor House.
Excellent location, views, staff and dining, including breakfast.
Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel-Olga-Madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
We are glad you enjoyed Scotland and the Manor house. Hope you can come again. Thanks for taking the time to write.
Regards Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at the Manor House Hotel early July for one night B&B as we were catching the ferry to Mull the following day. The room was very nice and had a lovely sea view. The staff were extremely friendly and very welcoming. It was only a short walk into the town and an even shorter walk/drive to the Ferry terminal which was perfect for us. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write. We hope you can join us again.
Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Manor House is in a great location for walking into the town or to the ferry and has lovely views. There is on-site parking. The staff is very friendly and efficient. The room was comfortable with a decent bathroom which included a face cloth (unusual in UK hotels). The breakfasts there were the best we had in Scotland, and we liked the one dinner we had there, as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corrfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you can come again.
Regards
Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night but wished we had longer. Lovely room and amazing views from the bar, staff were very friendly and knew what they were doing .. the food was very good and although a small menu it was well cooked and seasonal. Well Done ! We will return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E84KER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your comment. We hope to see you again.
Regards
Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: Gallanach Road, Oban PA34 4LS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House was built in 1780 as the Duke of Argyll's Oban estate. Great consideration has been given to preserve the elegance, charm and atmosphere of its past. There are eleven tastefully decorated bedrooms each with en-suite bathroom. Informal lunches are served in the Bar and lovely Drawing Room which, like the beautifully restored Dining Room, have magnificent views over Oban Bay, the adjacent islands,the mountains of Morvern and Isle of Mull. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing