We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure class”
Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had just had one night at the manor house hotel and it's safe to say we would go back next time we are in the area staff and great all go that ex mile room was spotless as is the rest of the hotel and grounds view from the room we had was over looking the bay even on a dull day it would look great thanks team manor house .

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank johnwhite18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaHouse, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

thank you for taking a moment to write. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Les & Mags Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

I will admit that the bright, warm sunshine, ideal evening sunset and the family touring holiday atmosphere all add to my impression, but it remains wholly positive. The Manor House is indeed a gem and I thank all previous reviewers (as well as the owners and staff of course!) for having said so and having maintained its immaculate standards.

No, it isn't cheap, but then it does what it does very well indeed. Think in terms of value for money and you'll be right on the button.

Dinner and breakfast were extremely spoiling and my two vegetarian travellers had no problem enjoying the fare too.

If the weather allows do explore the terraced garden in front of the hotel; an ideal spot for that pre or post-dinner glass of something or other.

The bedrooms are comfortable and also spoiling; very attractively decorated and wonderfully tranquil. That despite being a few hundred yards from the ferry terminal and only a ten minute walk from the main harbour, town frontage. Oban's a livelier place than some on the West coast and should definitely be on your West Coast itinerary (to say nothing of the joys of getting out to the fabulous Islands).

Book with confidence, enjoy with verve!

Room Tip: Room 11 (sea view) seemed to be the nicest or our 3, but it was a narrow call. Rooms 8 (rear view) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. The staff work very hard ensuring everyone enjoys their stay and you comments make it all worthwhile. Regards Les & Mags Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is our first time at this hotel but not our fist time in Oban,the hotel is very nice especially the original Minton Tiled floor at the entrance which is the first thing you see when you walk in the door! Our room was clean and adequate and had a great view of the harbour with all the various shipping activity. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a harbour view because no two days are the same as there is always something happening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleydougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaHouse, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Lesley We are happy you chose to stay with us. The Minton Tile is something we also adore. It is a bit fragile but evokes a style from another era. WE hope we will see you again. Les & Mags Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Chose this hotel as was looking for something a little bit different for a special birthday celebration. Booked the superior, sea view room and the view certainly didn't disappoint. In honesty, I wasn't sure whether the room, albeit pretty and very clean, warranted the fairly hefty 200 pound plus price tag per night for B&B?! Bathroom would benefit from addition of some heated towel rails to dry towels. Although hotel is situated out of Oban a bit, it is an easy and pleasant walk in. Hotel gardens were lovely for sitting and having a drink, especially in the lovely sunshine we were lucky enough to enjoy. Staff were pleasant and efficient. Plenty of parking. The continental breakfast option was limited..but to be honest, I'd defy anyone not to be temped by the lovely, freshly cooked breakfast. Overall a very nice stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FalkirkBairnsx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for writing. All the rooms have towel warmers but unfortunately your worked off the central heating and we were cursed by sunshine! I hope you can join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A wonderful, very well managed old Scottish Villa in perfect condition. The staff is helpful and friendly, the rooms are nice, very clean and equiped with modern bath environment. Quiet location with stunning view to the bay of Oban. Great breakfast! (we did not have dinner there).Manor House is in walking distance to the center 9of Oban. You can park your car and visit Oban without any hassel to search a parking place! My wife did not want to leave this place and stay forever ... :-). Manor House is worth every pound!

Room Tip: We had a nice room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ernst G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. Hopefully you can join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I cannot recommend this place enough. The location is stunning over looking Oban bay with great views of the sea and surrounding islands. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. They made such an effort to ensure a perfect day for our wedding day. The food was excellent, to a very high quality using local produce, which was full of flavour and excellently presented. The rooms were all very clean, spacious and comfortable. Our master bedroom even had a free-standing bath to relax in. Everything just made it a super special day and we will definitely be back to stay in the future.

A big thank you to the manager Gregor as he definitely pulled out all the stops and helped to organise our big day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view to get an amazing view - there are even binoculars in the rooms to ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homatashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Congratulations. I am glad everything went well. Thanks for choosing the Manor House for your special day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Manor House, along with our 2 dogs. I requested room 5, as other reviews had said it was the room with the best view, and I think they were right. We had a beautiful view, overlooking the bay. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable.
All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful, particularly when we needed advice on places to walk the dogs.
We had dinner at the hotel on the first two nights and were due to eat elsewhere on the third, but we enjoyed the food so much that we cancelled our other reservation and ate at the hotel on our last night as well. The menu changes daily and there are so many appetising dishes to choose from. While we had a drink in the bar we were served with canapés (the haggis bon bons were particularly good) and then shown through to the restaurant. We eat out a lot and the food here was certainly on par, if not better, than many of the places that we have visited. We would like to send our compliments to the Chef and his team for a wonderful menu and food that tasted every bit as good as it looked.
While the Manor House is not the cheapest of hotels you do get what you pay for and so we would have no hesitation in staying there again and also to recommend it to anyone who is thinking of visiting the area.

Room Tip: Room 5 has views right over the bay and across to the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We are glad the four of you enjoyed the Manor House. Please come again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
843 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Address: Gallanach Road, Oban PA34 4LS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £108 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House was built in 1780 as the Duke of Argyll's Oban estate. Great consideration has been given to preserve the elegance, charm and atmosphere of its past. There are eleven tastefully decorated bedrooms each with en-suite bathroom. Informal lunches are served in the Bar and lovely Drawing Room which, like the beautifully restored Dining Room, have magnificent views over Oban Bay, the adjacent islands,the mountains of Morvern and Isle of Mull. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing