We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manor House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$1,464
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
352
84
15
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
84
15
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightcourse dinnerferry terminalsmall hoteldining roomlovely hotela sea view roomfresh fruitkippersoban baycomfortable bedssmall roomthree nightslovely roomfull scottisha wonderful staywarm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 456 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had just had one night at the manor house hotel and it's safe to say we would go back next time we are in the area staff and great all go that ex mile room was spotless as is the rest of the hotel and grounds view from the room we had was over looking the bay even on a dull day it would look great thanks team manor house .

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank johnwhite18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaHouse, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

thank you for taking a moment to write. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Les & Mags Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I will admit that the bright, warm sunshine, ideal evening sunset and the family touring holiday atmosphere all add to my impression, but it remains wholly positive. The Manor House is indeed a gem and I thank all previous reviewers (as well as the owners and staff of course!) for having said so and having maintained its immaculate standards.

No, it isn't cheap, but then it does what it does very well indeed. Think in terms of value for money and you'll be right on the button.

Dinner and breakfast were extremely spoiling and my two vegetarian travellers had no problem enjoying the fare too.

If the weather allows do explore the terraced garden in front of the hotel; an ideal spot for that pre or post-dinner glass of something or other.

The bedrooms are comfortable and also spoiling; very attractively decorated and wonderfully tranquil. That despite being a few hundred yards from the ferry terminal and only a ten minute walk from the main harbour, town frontage. Oban's a livelier place than some on the West coast and should definitely be on your West Coast itinerary (to say nothing of the joys of getting out to the fabulous Islands).

Book with confidence, enjoy with verve!

Room Tip: Room 11 (sea view) seemed to be the nicest or our 3, but it was a narrow call. Rooms 8 (rear view) and 1 (ground floor; sea view) also delightful. Room 1 the smallest of those we had.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. The staff work very hard ensuring everyone enjoys their stay and you comments make it all worthwhile. Regards Les & Mags Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is our first time at this hotel but not our fist time in Oban,the hotel is very nice especially the original Minton Tiled floor at the entrance which is the first thing you see when you walk in the door! Our room was clean and adequate and had a great view of the harbour with all the various shipping activity. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a harbour view because no two days are the same as there is always something happening!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleydougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaHouse, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Lesley We are happy you chose to stay with us. The Minton Tile is something we also adore. It is a bit fragile but evokes a style from another era. WE hope we will see you again. Les & Mags Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Chose this hotel as was looking for something a little bit different for a special birthday celebration. Booked the superior, sea view room and the view certainly didn't disappoint. In honesty, I wasn't sure whether the room, albeit pretty and very clean, warranted the fairly hefty 200 pound plus price tag per night for B&B?! Bathroom would benefit from addition of some heated towel rails to dry towels. Although hotel is situated out of Oban a bit, it is an easy and pleasant walk in. Hotel gardens were lovely for sitting and having a drink, especially in the lovely sunshine we were lucky enough to enjoy. Staff were pleasant and efficient. Plenty of parking. The continental breakfast option was limited..but to be honest, I'd defy anyone not to be temped by the lovely, freshly cooked breakfast. Overall a very nice stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FalkirkBairnsx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for writing. All the rooms have towel warmers but unfortunately your worked off the central heating and we were cursed by sunshine! I hope you can join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A wonderful, very well managed old Scottish Villa in perfect condition. The staff is helpful and friendly, the rooms are nice, very clean and equiped with modern bath environment. Quiet location with stunning view to the bay of Oban. Great breakfast! (we did not have dinner there).Manor House is in walking distance to the center 9of Oban. You can park your car and visit Oban without any hassel to search a parking place! My wife did not want to leave this place and stay forever ... :-). Manor House is worth every pound!

Room Tip: We had a nice room with sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ernst G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. Hopefully you can join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews