We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely start to our holiday”
Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely start to our holiday”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I stopped in Oban before getting the ferry over to Mull. We decided to try the Manor House. We didn't stop for the evening meal as we wanted to explore the town,but the menu looked extremely good. We have a small dog which they had no issues with and made our stay more enjoyable.
The room was superb as was the whole experience at the Manor House. Very attentive staff that gave a good impression, nothing too much trouble.
A beautiful well appointed room with robes and quality soaps at your disposal.
After a very comfortable night the breakfast needed to be good. So it was and offered at a high standard. Not the cheapest accommodation but it was my birthday.The views from the Hotel of the harbour are just stunning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for writing. We hope you will come again.
Regards Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    80
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
35
315
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Was a bit worried that we might get a small room having read other reviews but ours was fine and very well decorated with a large comfortable bed and quality furnishings. Very clean newly fitted shower room. Friendly, helpful staff. Had a great meal in the restaurant which was first rate then relaxed in one of the lounges.
This was the best hotel we stayed in in Scotland and would not hesitate to return. One of the best small hotels we've stayed in recently.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jellyfishslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were lucky enough to "escape" without our children and enjoy a 2 night break at the Manor House last week to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary.

Prior to our stay, when people asked how we were celebrating our anniversary, I told them we were "just going to a wee hotel in Oban".....I now feel I didn't do the place justice! Our stay at the Manor House certainly exceeded our expectations. This place is not cheap, but I can honestly say that in terms of service, it rivalled our stays at Gleneagles, Cameron House and the likes. It also surpassed our dining experiences at several of Scotland's Michelin starred establishments.

Our stay was perfect from start to finish. I feel I must give special mention to the gentleman who welcomed us on our arrival at the hotel and served our pre-dinner drinks and also our coffee and petit fours after our meal that evening. He was so professional, yet warm and friendly....we knew immediately we had picked a very special place to spend our anniversary. Indeed every member of staff we encountered during our stay provided an exceptionally high level of service and unlike so many hotels, the service was very personal (we were never once asked for our room number), but not invasive in any way.

The hotel is easy to find (we received directions on our confirmation email) and boasts a fantastic setting on the hill giving lovely views over the bay. We were delighted that although we were not able to enjoy a sea view, the room we were allocated (Room 9) was more than adequate, spotlessly clean and equipped to a high standard.

Despite the huge number of eateries in Oban, we had opted to stay on a DB&B basis and were so glad we did! The menus on both nights were amazing and we both had great difficulty choosing just one dish each from every course as it all sounded so good! Throughout both meals and when the food arrived, we were not disappointed....everything was expertly served, beautifully presented and most importantly absolutely delicious! Breakfast too was excellent with a good choice of cooked items, fresh fruit, pastries and cereals.

All in all we had a fantastic few days....helped by some lovely weather which allowed us to explore Oban and the surrounding area without the need for waterproofs and wellies! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Manor House and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie_D1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Congratulations on your 20th anniversary. So happy to happy to hear you had a lovely time. Thank you for writing and we hope to see you again! Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had three nights in a superior double room overlooking the front of the hotel. The sea view rooms were fully booked, but I believe were more expensive. Enormous very comfortable kingsize bed with lots of pillows and good quality linen, spacious storage and traditional style furniture. The bathroom was large with a freestanding claw foot bath with central tap, shower enclosure and good quality toiletries and towels. There were complimentary good quality biscuits and a few sweeties replaced daily. Free wifi in room.

There was a very comfortable and large sitting room with fireplace and newspapers and magazine, but due to the good weather and our itinerary we did not use it, there was also a smaller sitting room where we saw other guests planning their trips, looking at maps etc. The bar was a smallish room overlooking the garden and harbour beyond and you could (we did) take drinks outside onto the stone terrace above the garden and watch the sunset.

The average age of the other guests (we are in our 40s) was much older, and they seemed to want to dine around 7pm. We didn't dine at the restaurant, it looked a bit heavy and fine dining for our tastes but was no doubt very good quality. We ate at the variety of seafood restaurants which are excellent and had a great atmosphere by the harbour, 10-15 minutes walk away.

The breakfasts were excellent and hearty, we had kippers one day, pancakes another day and full Scottish. We both left our black pudding on the latter occasion and we coudl hear the kitchen staff remarking upon this after our plates had been cleared. Cereal and fruit were available. The juices were advertised as freshly squeezed - the orange juice certainly was not (which for £250 per night per room you might expect it could be...) although we didn't mention this. If it was squeezed it was not fresh. After a taste on two occasions I opted for the apple juice. The breakfasts were otherwise of very good quality. We were usually the last people in the dining room, coming down around 9.30am (we were on holiday after all). The other guests were a mixture of English/Scottish and American.

The property was a former summer residence of the Duke of Argyll (I believe), and was certainly very substantial, traditional and very well furnished in a traditional style (the dining room has a green tartan style carpet and a range being the old kitchen, and farrow and ball style colours abound throughout). Overall very tasteful in a traditional way as suited the setting.

The views over the harbour and the calmac ferries heading off to the islands were a real plus, as was the comfortable quiet spacious room and the easy walk into town. Downsides were the slightly staid atmosphere both in the bar and the dining room, and the price which was very much on the high side even for the UK.

Room Tip: Superior garden view room at the front very good. Didn't get to see the sea view which would hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venetianvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your detailed comments. I'm sorry you did not join us for dinner and hope you can come again. Regards Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Would like to thank all the staff at the Manor House Hotel Oban for a wonderful stay. The food was very very good the staff could not do enough for us, the room was very good, so good we booked to go back again, can't wait

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi David Thank you for your note. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here recently for just the one night while touring round Scotland with the wife and my dog. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food in the restaurant was amazing!! It felt more like home than a hotel. I will definitely be coming back and also be recommending to all my friends and family.

Lee (Aberdeen)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leecass83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay Lee. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A first class visit from start to finish. Alan, the Assistant Manager was welcoming , courteous, helpful and a delight to deal with. Fine suggestions and hints for our brief time in Oban . Excellent restaurant recommendation by Alan - The Seafood Temple (. A+ ). The room with a sea view #5 , excellent, breakfast excellent - the entire stay was a delight. We would return.

Room Tip: The choice of sea view worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 773Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for writing. I'm sorry you did not get a chance to try our dining room. Shaun does a great job with seafood along with other local specialties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,748 reviews
4.8 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: Gallanach Road, Oban PA34 4LS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House was built in 1780 as the Duke of Argyll's Oban estate. Great consideration has been given to preserve the elegance, charm and atmosphere of its past. There are eleven tastefully decorated bedrooms each with en-suite bathroom. Informal lunches are served in the Bar and lovely Drawing Room which, like the beautifully restored Dining Room, have magnificent views over Oban Bay, the adjacent islands,the mountains of Morvern and Isle of Mull. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing