We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, an excellent hotel”
Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff, wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overall, an excellent hotel”
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Unfortunately, we were only staying one night but arrived to find that we had been upgraded to a lovely room overlooking the beautiful bay. The room was a very good size and very comfortable with lots of nice little touches which one doesn't normally expect or get.
The food and the service were superb but just one tiny little criticism - one would like to take at least a couple of hours to enjoy the fantastic 5 course meal, rather than being rushed and finding oneself in the middle of the 4th course after only one hour. We were led to believe that this was down to the chef who, undoubtedly is very talented and cooks great food. But whoever is responsible should understand that several excellent courses need to be savoured and given the appropriate amount of time. However, this is a very minor point about a very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bundles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    80
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
35
315
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Rooms were very good and the staff friendly. Waitresses at meals best ever & wouild happily transplant them to every hotel i'm ever going to stay in.
As per one or two previous reviewers- absolutely fantastic but there are no compromises- there's no choice of prices, it's the whole 6 courses or nothing- looking at £36/head - can pick & choose a few of the courses but not going to get any change out of £30 even for 3 courses so if you're not particularly hungry i'd give it a miss but try to eat there at least once as everything is top quality.
Wi-Fi network particularly good & easy.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MACreadie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I agree with the positive reviews, and we enjoyed our stay. It is a ten minute walk from the centre, but then you do get a nice garden with the sea at the bottom. Rooms quite small. Food very good, but think twice about going for the dinner-inclusive option, at least if you are there for more than one night. 5 sizeable courses every night (even the sorbet managed to be filling) got oppressive, and we would have enjoyed our stay more if we had been able to have two or three courses without feeling we were wasting money.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camdenuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2009
Actually, each of the courses are offered on an a la carte basis should you prefer fewer courses. A sample of our menu and the pricing is on our web page. The resident price for the 5 course dinner is £32. I am sorry if this was not drawn to your attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Stayed for two nights. Beautiful setting, with views over Oban.

Comfortable, spotless room with good toiletries.

Dinner was delicious, with generous portions. The fillet steak was cooked perfectly.
My gluten free diet was not a problem. What would have been the finishing touch would have been some gluten free toast in the morning but we can't have everything.

Staff were the friendliest I have come across in a long time - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vashti123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Out agent suggested a different Hotel, but after researching myself we asked the agent - Scotsell Holidayts to book us into the Manor House-
Great small Hotel, excellent restaurant, good welcome, clean, comfortable, even a heliport landing pad ! Pity we only booked one night before going to Barra.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bassbottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

A lovely little hotel - very comfortable, excellent service, wonderful food. No complaints whatsoever and will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We have stayed here on three occasions so far this year and have thoroughly enjoyed every one! This hotel and its Staff know exactly how to please guests and every whim is catered for. Fabulous rooms, decadent toiletries, marvellous food, exquisite views, efficient, yet warm and friendly Staff...what more could we ask for?
We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowFirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,746 reviews
4.8 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: Gallanach Road, Oban PA34 4LS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House was built in 1780 as the Duke of Argyll's Oban estate. Great consideration has been given to preserve the elegance, charm and atmosphere of its past. There are eleven tastefully decorated bedrooms each with en-suite bathroom. Informal lunches are served in the Bar and lovely Drawing Room which, like the beautifully restored Dining Room, have magnificent views over Oban Bay, the adjacent islands,the mountains of Morvern and Isle of Mull. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing