We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, professional staff...good location...good food.”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Friendly, professional staff...good location...good food.”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Part of a 'Strathmore Travel' coach party using the hotel over four nights. The hotel is really geared up for large parties and there was a lot of coming and going of both British and foreign coach parties during our short stay. The hotel organised all of this with military precision and although they must have been run off their feet, the staff were always courteous, efficient and pleasant. Impressed by the co-operation between the coach and hotel staff in the handling of luggage, which was taken to our room on arrival, collected and loaded on the bus at departure. The food was excellent. The menu was varied. All meat was of a high quality. All the vegetables were fresh. Everything was cooked to perfection and was served with great efficiency. The entertainment in the hotel was enjoyable.
Housekeeping was of a high standard. The linen was spotless and the bathroom was cleaned from top to bottom without fail.
It is a large Victorian hotel which could never be "perfect" although because of the height of ceiling and sturdy construction the soundproofing between rooms was good. Only one window in our room could be opened and I found the shower difficult to regulate. I am sure there must be a rolling programme in place to address these irritations.
The strength of this hotel is the quality of the staff at all levels.

Room Tip: As a family of four, we enjoyed a connecting door between rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 320Mary341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    286
    237
    128
    87
See reviews for
143
406
99
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the Royal Hotel Oban for a one night stay with our family after a hot and hectic day on Mull and wanted to spend the following day in Oban before travelling back south. As we were arriving on the evening ferry, it was great just to have a very short walk to the hotel. The reception area was fairly busy and we had to wait. After checking in we went to use the lift for 5 adults and luggage to go to the third floor.....it was very small and didnt actually work very smoothly. The family decided to climb the stairs, but I needed to wait for it as I had a bad knee, and as it shunted between floors I got quite frustrated.

The hotel staff were very friendly and polite and after a very comfy sleep we had a really delicious self serve breakfast. There was a sense that they did want you to leave the hotel fairly sharpish even though they say it is 11am checkout, but apart from small niggles like this, I felt the hotel was comfortable and clean although room sizes are compact. Its a good place for a couple of days visit to the town, but I couldn't see myself staying here for a full week.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hma1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillingham kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

room was dusty
window filthy
ceiling has 3 cracks in it above the bed and hanging wallpaper off the ceiling
pelmet hanging off the rail
1 light bulb in the ceiling light where there should have been 2 so room was dark and dingy
handle missing off chest of drawers
outside window sill rotten with no paint in evidence
view consisted of disgusting rubbish recycling area which the bar staff used between the time of 11/11/30 to recycle the bottles and woke me up

bathroom area above the toilet has mould growing on it
toilet seat was loose and unsafe
television was not reliable
at a cost of £185 for a 2 night stay 2 very unhappy old age pensioners left the royal hotel behind gladly

Room Tip: don't book into room 228
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 736allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
northwich
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I was working for a week at local hospital & was put up for 5 days at the Royal in a small twin room. No view of note but comfortable bed. Friendly and extremely rfficient staff. Breakfast excellent. Evening meals a bit pedestrian with main courses and deserts needing a bit more variance. Nevertheless ample for my needs. Would recommend for short stays eg before island trip as good value and central location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 594 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were travelling by ferry to the Outer Hebrides and almost at the last minute decided to stay overnight in Oban. The several hotels and B and B's that we contacted had no availability but the Royal Hotel did and, having read several unfavourable reviews on Trip Advisor, we somewhat reluctantly booked a room there.

This is no Savoy, but then they do not charge Savoy rates, and what we got for not a lot of money was perfectly acceptable. Our room on the fourth floor was clean, fairly spacious, had comfortable beds and appeared to have been refurbished fairly recently. It had no outlook whatsoever, but for a one night stay we did not need a room with a view. The bathroom, too, had fairly new fixtures and fittings and was spotlessly clean.

In the morning we enjoyed a hearty breakfast from a generous buffet, the price of which was included in our modest room rate, before checking out and recovering our car from the hotel's secure car park.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the greeting at check-in was especially warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small so ask for a large one when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

a trip with strathmore travel including bed breakfast and evening meal plus travel to and from home town plus two excursions during stay was very good value for money.we went to mull and iona by ferry one day and speam bridge ,fortwilliam and glenfinnan another day.there was entertainment in hotel two of the nights we were there and was very good with everyone joining in.a great choice of hot and cold food for breakfast and plenty of it which was all self service plus tea and coffee and toast brought to table.evening meal was three course with 4 choices per course and when i didnt like menu choice they soon rustled up something else for me with no complaints from staff. tea and coffee were served after main meal in a seperate room.all staff were in fact very nice and helpful whole of stay while waiting on tables and in bar and reception.carried drinks to tables without being asked for less able customers and catered for every need for hotel rooms giving extra milk for tea in room and extra toilet rolls and so on.i needed tv sorted as signals were of and staff were straight up to room and sorted it out no problem.a nice clean room with plenty storage and a good clean bathroom with bath and shower and plenty toiletries as well available.i would recomend this hotel to everyone and intend to return again sometime soon hopefully as enjoyed my stay so much

Room Tip: i had a room at back of hotel but everyone said all rooms were quiet.i asked for a room on ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We were glad of having booked to stay in Oban after having problems with our car. Upon arrival there was a queue of about 7 people at the desk and only one receptionist available. We waited a while to be seen to but staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and tidy if a little dated. Just a traditional hotel I guess. Breakfast had a good choice and some of the staff were friendly. Check out time was supposed to be 11am but domestic staff were knocking on all the rooms to see if they were able to get in to clean it. They did this twice on our room and once on my parents. This made us feel a little pressured to ' get out of the room'. I would suggest creating a system where domestic staff are given a list of rooms out of which people have checked out early so that they do not bother guests before check out time. On the whole an ok stay. Hot,, but this was no fault of the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel is located in the heart of Oban town on the western coast of Scotland. Enjoy the very best of Scottish hospitality at this 3-star hotel that first opened its doors in 1895. Rooms at this hotel feature television, tea/coffee makers, large windows and high ceilings, private bathrooms, complimentary toiletries, hairdryers, and climate control. The traditional decor is complemented by the tartan furnishings. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. Porter, luggage storage and tours/ticket assistance services are provided and there is a very small car park to the rear of the hotel. The hotel’s 170-seater restaurant serves a great selection of Scottish cuisine that you can savour for breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner. Relax in the bar and/or lounge over drinks and Scottish malts in the company of friends beside the open fire. Close to Royal Hotel are a handful of attractions including the iconic McCaig’s Tower, Oban Distillery, Glencruitten Golf Course, the House at Dunollie, and the Glorious Gardens of Argyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing