We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable stay!”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Service, food and location were excellent. Restaurant was worth visiting. Menu quite small (changed daily), but food was lovely and worth the price. Breakfast was great. Staff helpful and nice. Cleanliness of the room was held on a very high level. Only complaint was that the room was a wee bit too small for us and our baby, but we managed to fit, especially that we didnt spent to much time in this room during our stay. Also walls were to thin. It wasn't a problem for us, but would be for people slepping right beside our room, becouse our baby didnt feel to comfortable in the new place, so he was crying a lot before went to sleep. Car park also quite small, so maybe hard to get a space during busy periods. And also would be good, to have a chance to use wi-fi in the room. Overall we really enjoyed our stay. And I hope that people from rooms beside us enjoyed too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marika Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

701 - 707 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is possibly the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay at. It cost me £138 for a superior sea view single occupancy. The corners of the room were covered in cobwebs. There was mould on the bathroom ceiling and the curtains were forced behind a cup hook on the wall. If this is what tourists are experiencing in Scotland quite frankly I am embarrassed. The only good thing about this place was the receptionist who checked me in. In the morning I told the new receptionist how unhappy I was and asked that she get the manager to go and inspect the room I stayed in. I then asked if he would be kind enough to call me back and justify the price he charged for a room this room and I am still waiting for his call. The hotel even had the cheek to ask me to leave a review on trip advisor. Hence my rant!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Yet again I went to oban,myself this time ,good price on hotel Saturday night,bed b fast,£40 as this as I have said in centre of town great value ,,staff very pleasant as always,most helpful.with a smile on their faces, £2.90 for pint j,smith for an hotel brill.room was no 119. Small box type room bathroom ,toilet shower ,basin,this was fair size,you only look onto the other side of building,no view,this did not bother me as I am only there to sleep.got my car parked ok in hotel car park this holds about 12 cars I would say,I have a large jaguar ,so I was lucky..breakfast is buffet style and very good,can't complain on this ,apart for the usual in oban,not red hot,this just might be me but I eat my food scalding,so will not make an issue on this,,what more can I add,so friendly clean tidy,good service,and if you do need to park your car if car park full there are ,car parking near Kelvin hotel ,just a few minutes walk away,,the ferry ,and train,terminal and bus stance,only minutes from the royal,great location,,..for me local bars are near but my pint in the royal is a bit cheaper.never tried their evening meals yet but good menu,something for all.won't put prices down as these can change,,but let's say I would feel safe with the price and not worry about bank manager,,hope this helps..

Room Tip: No view in room 219
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montgomery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for one night on a reduced rate deal. The hotel is a bit 'tired' but the staff were pleasant and friendly. The room was fine, the beds comfortable enough (the pillows a bit thin and hard!) and the bathroom was clean and bright. We had a bar meal of steak and ale pie which was very good. Breakfast was shambolic to say the least! It is buffet style and, despite the room not being particularly full, the staff did not seem to be able to keep the hot food supply topped up or sufficient glasses and plates available. We asked for more toast and, whilst the waiter was very pleasant and told us he would get some.....we are still waiting for the toast. We will stay again if we have the reduced rate but would certainly not be happy to pay full price as all in all it rates just average,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed here at the end of September for 1 night,. Things got off to a bad start at check-in. Although I acknowledged I was early, I was informed with a little attitude that check-in time was 3:00 PM but I could leave my bag in the foyer and they would keep an eye of it. Later, in the room, there was a complimentary pack of shortbread that had been opened and one of the two fingers obviously already eaten, and someone had left a shaver in the bed-side draw. The room overall was quite dirty and behind the bed-rest was years worth of dust and debris. The windows also looked to be decades old and single glazed over looking a busy square. Breakfast looked far from inviting and I stuck to a couple of slices of toast as old dried food was easy to find on pates and cups.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

After staying in the hotel with a few friends for a night out I was really pleased with the location of the hotel and the friendly reception staff. The rooms were nice enough but quite dated, the shower was a nightmare as it was really only suitable for those under 5ft and I pretty much had to shower on my knees. The breakfast was fairly average but overall at the price we paid it was a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sazzyb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Went away from Monday to Friday on a coach trip, arrived in the Royal Hotel about 4.00pm, staff are very helpful and friendly we were told our room numbers while still on the bus, and told to leave cases in reception and they would be bought up to our room. Really disappointed in the room very basic noisy floor boards and bed. When going for a shower it kept moving all over the place and soaking the floor, which can be quite dangerous. Hot water all the time which is great and kept very clean.For the size of Hotel lift very small and only fit 4 people at a time. Very disappointed on the evening meal the first night not much choice and not very warm, cooked breakfast every morning had a lovely choice but it could have been alot warmer.Once again staff were very helpful, evening meals got better as the week went on and we were happy with the choice, breakfast could be imrpoved. Once again staff were great, we had entertainment for 2 nights and thats was good for both of the night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,860 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
1,060 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £64 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel is located in the heart of Oban town on the western coast of Scotland. Enjoy the very best of Scottish hospitality at this 3-star hotel that first opened its doors in 1895. Rooms at this hotel feature television, tea/coffee makers, large windows and high ceilings, private bathrooms, complimentary toiletries, hairdryers, and climate control. The traditional decor is complemented by the tartan furnishings. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. Porter, luggage storage and tours/ticket assistance services are provided and there is a very small car park to the rear of the hotel. The hotel’s 170-seater restaurant serves a great selection of Scottish cuisine that you can savour for breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner. Relax in the bar and/or lounge over drinks and Scottish malts in the company of friends beside the open fire. Close to Royal Hotel are a handful of attractions including the iconic McCaig’s Tower, Oban Distillery, Glencruitten Golf Course, the House at Dunollie, and the Glorious Gardens of Argyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing