We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
GreenLeadersGold level
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I found this hotel on Kayak and booked it via the hotel's website. This hotel is in a great location, right on Argyll Square in downtown Oban. Everything one could like to do is within easy walking distance. Oban Distillery, numerous pubs and eateries, the ferry terminal, local shops. The hotel room was spacious enough, with a great four-poster bed. Wifi was included, in case anyone needs to access the internet. The included breakfast was buffet style, with plenty of options. I had the traditional Scottish breakfast. There is also a pub and restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel, right off the reception area. There is off-street parking in a designated hotel parking lot. Unfortunately, I spent only one night at this hotel. Looking back now, I wish I could have had a whole extra day there, and in Oban.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MajDevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    290
    240
    133
    91
See reviews for
147
417
100
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed here for one night on business. My room was on the third floor and unfortunately the lift wasn't working but I was phoned and warned of this in advance. The small but comfortable room was perfectly adequate for my purposes. The breakfast was excellent and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Amazing value for the price!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quaereverum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Lovely traditional hotel and not expensive . Very central for access to Ferry Terminal. Staff were pleasant and courteous and there was plenty to choose from the breakfast menu. We stayed in a triple room which was lovely but felt that the bathroom could do with a bit of an upgrade .
Nice experience though .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Located 100 yds from Train Station & very convienient for shops etc. Staff extremely friendly & helpful. Rooms clean met our needs. Evening meal good value & very enjoyable as was breakfast. Would certainly recommend to friends & stay again.

Room Tip: Fitness centre & swimming pool not applicable but unable to deselect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Arriving by train on a dark wet night I was glad the hotel was only two minutes walk from the railway station and ferry. Welcomed by friendly staff and given a clean,warm and comfortable room. The buffet breakfast was enjoyable and served in a spacious dining room with views of the square. Brighter lighting in the bedroom would make working and reading easier. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RochdaleSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, OR
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here in late September. After a long drive that had us arriving late we stopped at the Royal to regain our bearings. The hotel had a single room for the equivalent of about $225 per night. That was too high by double. The staff were very nice and helpful and property is well located in the center of town. However the hotel is old and TIRED. Under no circumstances would I stay there for more than 75£.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wingo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

Isle of Coll, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have stayed fairly frequently at The Royal and have to say without exception it has always been a good experience. The rooms are all furnished to a good standard and the food is superb. The staff are always friendly and efficient. The location is perfect in central Oban with easy access to the ferry, There is also a car park which is very handy !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel is located in the heart of Oban town on the western coast of Scotland. Enjoy the very best of Scottish hospitality at this 3-star hotel that first opened its doors in 1895. Rooms at this hotel feature television, tea/coffee makers, large windows and high ceilings, private bathrooms, complimentary toiletries, hairdryers, and climate control. The traditional decor is complemented by the tartan furnishings. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. Porter, luggage storage and tours/ticket assistance services are provided and there is a very small car park to the rear of the hotel. The hotel’s 170-seater restaurant serves a great selection of Scottish cuisine that you can savour for breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner. Relax in the bar and/or lounge over drinks and Scottish malts in the company of friends beside the open fire. Close to Royal Hotel are a handful of attractions including the iconic McCaig’s Tower, Oban Distillery, Glencruitten Golf Course, the House at Dunollie, and the Glorious Gardens of Argyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing