We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our favourite place”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Oban
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 April 2014

althou' is a 4 th floor walk up or a slow elevator , it's perfect . Our favourite and the staff are so nice , so please tip . Food was excellent , service fantastic & the nicest people . Excellent location as well . Cathy & I would like to ask Steven Reffin to thank everyone for us . Thank you and HIGHLY RECOMMEND !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iangetoverhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Royal Hotel is a lovely hotel in a great position with a great relaxed atmosphere. It could maybe do with wifi in the rooms, but at least it's available in the bar where there is ample space and comfortable seats with great food if you desire. The single room I had was small. But I only needed to sleep in it and it was comfortable, so that was fine. The bathroom was small too and being one of the 'larger framed' people referred to in a previous review, it was no problem at all. The staff are friendly and helpful and not intrusive in any way, which is not always the case in other towns! Overall a friendly comfortable stay. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you like your space, upgrade to a twin room. But the rooms are comfy anyway. No wifi in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiree_Tyrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Our party of five (four adults and a 10 year old) ate here two nights in a row. The food was great and not expensive. There was plent of choice on the menu. The surroundings were lovely and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We did look at other places to eat in Oban but decided to eat here a second time as it was so good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Needs a touch-up but generally a nice enough place, and certainly not the worst place in Oban. Friendly and helpful staff. Good selection for Breakfast. Small rooms, awkward shaped, small bathroom space (larger framed people would struggle to sit on the loo) walls quite thin and can hear people and corridor, doors closing etc.

Not sure I would wish to spend more than one night, but it was a roof and a bed at £34pn, so who cares.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fleeet_fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, room was clean and comfortable, location was excellent, staff were friendly and all in all for the price I can't complain....and I don't understand the previous negative comments, what are people expecting ?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimWeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My wife and I have been visiting the Royal Hotel in Oban for the past few years now. The staff are warm, friendly and extremely helpful. We have just come back from the weekend there and have already booked for the Easter holidays.
Despite the fact that there was a big Wedding on in the Hotel on Saturday when we arrived, we were still looked after to the normal high standard.
The food was as always fantastic, although my wife thinks that there is too much choice at Breakfast for my waistline. The only negative that we had was our experience of the older lady in the Dinning Room with glasses who had a distinct smell of alcohol on her breath when serving and was very abrupt.
All in all we had an enjoyable stay and we are looking forward to Easter time and hopefully better weather

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Nice Staff, clean room and good breakfast. General maintenance could be improved (slats from vertical blinds missing and curtain not properly attached, couple of other minor things that are easily fixed). Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veetay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,077 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £58 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel is located in the heart of Oban town on the western coast of Scotland. Enjoy the very best of Scottish hospitality at this 3-star hotel that first opened its doors in 1895. Rooms at this hotel feature television, tea/coffee makers, large windows and high ceilings, private bathrooms, complimentary toiletries, hairdryers, and climate control. The traditional decor is complemented by the tartan furnishings. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. Porter, luggage storage and tours/ticket assistance services are provided and there is a very small car park to the rear of the hotel. The hotel’s 170-seater restaurant serves a great selection of Scottish cuisine that you can savour for breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner. Relax in the bar and/or lounge over drinks and Scottish malts in the company of friends beside the open fire. Close to Royal Hotel are a handful of attractions including the iconic McCaig’s Tower, Oban Distillery, Glencruitten Golf Course, the House at Dunollie, and the Glorious Gardens of Argyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing