We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Nights in June”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Oban
GreenLeadersGold level
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“3 Nights in June”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel whilst touring on motorcycles. The staff are very friendly and you feel it's because they want to and not have to be. The food was good and the good selection of drinks were good . The decore is a little tired but don't be put off.
Little local entertainment in the evenings . They even let us park our bikes under cover in a disused garage.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kennethbooth1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi There

Thank you for taking the time to contribute to our Trip Advisor page. I appreciate your comments regarding the Staff and the Food. Overall we receive mainly compliments regarding the staff and the food, I take pride in the effort made by the staff on a consistent basis.

In regards to decor, Strathmore Hotels are undertaking a massive role out program of investment in this area. This program although in its infancy, is shaping up well and our new rooms are looking fantastic. I trust that when you return the next time, you will see the improvement in this area.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards
Steven Reffin

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    282
    235
    128
    86
See reviews for
140
404
97
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I was on a bus day trip and the hotel was booked for snack for dinner and hight tea.
The friendliness of the staff was the first thing that was apparent.The soup etc was very good..
The high tea at night was excellent as well and no shortage of tea/coffee with the meal.
It was good value and a good day was had in Oban

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamH962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi There

Thank you for your kind words, I am glad that you enjoyed your quick visit to the Royal.

I hope that we will see you back the next time you are in Oban

Kind Regards

Steven Reffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The building is slightly on the tired side. The location is just off the sea front (literally 50 yards). The view from my window was an uninspiring 1980s block of flats. But the reason I was there was to rest. The bed was clean and comfortable, the bath was big enough and had plenty of hot water, the kettle and TV worked (although 2 teabags and 4 little pots of milk is not enough for me for one night) cooked breakfast was included - and the buffet was really good considering the price I paid (£40 advance booking nonrefundable). Staff were helpful and friendly too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euromnlostatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narooma, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We booked a classic double room for two nights so we could visit the islands. The room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the main square. Very small with nowhere for luggage. Very small en suite with shower in bath. Noisy town square, creaky floors & disturbed by voices in hall & other rooms. Hard bed & pillows. Having said that, it is in the centre of town & close to the ferry wharf. Some free parking behind the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

from the welcome from very friendly and helpful reception staff until the end of our stay my friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the royal...great value for money and excellent food in the restaurant...will b back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elzo111052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked the Royal Hotel as being handy for the harbour. We were arriving at about 2030 hours
after a day's cruising on the Paddle Steamer "Waverley" and we found that more than a few of our shipmates were headed the same way. Perhaps because of this, there were 2 receptionists on duty, and we were checked in and given our rooms in an efficient and friendly way. It had been a long day from an early start, so, knowing that last orders for dinner would be taken before our arrival, we ate on the boat and just headed for our room, which was clean and tidy; but some aspects of the decor are rather tired, with marks on the wallpaper. The bed was comfy though, and we had a peaceful night. Service of breakfast (0730-0930 weekday morning) was good, with friendly and helpful Staff; however, the supply of mushrooms had run out - alas! We would not be put off trying the Royal again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitcaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

great value for your money the self service breakfast is excellent the staff friendly the hotel is very biker friendly you can even have your motorcycle under cover what more could ask for bikers The hotel is a little dated but for the money you cant complain

Room Tip: rooms were on the small side but for the cost you could not complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
793 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel is located in the heart of Oban town on the western coast of Scotland. Enjoy the very best of Scottish hospitality at this 3-star hotel that first opened its doors in 1895. Rooms at this hotel feature television, tea/coffee makers, large windows and high ceilings, private bathrooms, complimentary toiletries, hairdryers, and climate control. The traditional decor is complemented by the tartan furnishings. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. Porter, luggage storage and tours/ticket assistance services are provided and there is a very small car park to the rear of the hotel. The hotel’s 170-seater restaurant serves a great selection of Scottish cuisine that you can savour for breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner. Relax in the bar and/or lounge over drinks and Scottish malts in the company of friends beside the open fire. Close to Royal Hotel are a handful of attractions including the iconic McCaig’s Tower, Oban Distillery, Glencruitten Golf Course, the House at Dunollie, and the Glorious Gardens of Argyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing